We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenview Hotel

4.0 of 5 Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Hotel website
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glenview Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Glenview Hotel
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    164
    77
    31
    21
See reviews for
198
207
6
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (569)
  • Mar-May only
    (133)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (206)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (149)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
There are newer reviews for Glenview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
tipperary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

the first thing to impress was the gardens and the scenery as my wife is big into this. the outside of the hotel looked great also. Our on-suite room was perfect and clean,complments to cleaning staff. dining room meal was absolutely beautiful and staff lovely.We also dined in the bar where we enjoyed lovely food. The breakfast what can we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for a fantastic review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your visit including the accommodation, food, the gardens and the friendly efficient staff. You said your only complaint was that your visit wasn’t long enough – maybe we could help with that - if you send us your email... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have to say the staff was excellent and food was delicious,perfect for few days away to relax, the spa is one of my highlights, the girls are excellent and so welcoming,it has great offers and prices, The only flaw I would have about The Glenview, is the rooms they are old and shabby,such a pity considering everything else is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for writing a fabulous review. We are so pleased to hear you had a “perfect few days away to relax”. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our team, such positive affirmation provides great encouragement. With regard to your comment about your room – we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms. Please bear with us we... More 

Fishguard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We went to a wedding at the Glenview and stayed for two nights before, we were treated very well and the food was excellent, there were some lovely walks in the gardens as well as a woodland walk which is currently undergoing so improvements so very stout shoes or boots are required. The buffet breakfast was good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for the review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience in the Glenview Hotel. We were delighted to read you enjoyed many aspects of your stay including the food and our wonderful woodland walk. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Brian... More 

Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

this hotel is excellent the rooms are clean and comfortable. The views and the countryside were breathtaking and plenty of local attractions to visit.The restuarant and leisure were also at a very high standard and the staff highly efficient. but top of the rank was the excellent kids club which my two children enjoyed immensely.thanks again to the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review about your recent stay with us here at the Glenview hotel We are indeed blessed with the location of the hotel and the team that take such an interest in it and it’s guests experience. Lesley who organises the Kids Club is especially grateful for your praise... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were surprised to see how run down the place was from the reviews.On entering the room we first saw a 2 large stains on the ceiling,in the bathroom the sink was cracked,the grout around the sink/bath and taps was that dirty it was gone black,the windows frames were dirty there was a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. We were very upset to read of your disappointment with your accommodation. We are currently rolling out a plan to upgrade the facilities in our bedrooms. Your feedback is extremely valuable with this process. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. On a positive... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ve spent a weekend in this lovely hotel, the only dissapointment we had was that each room is connected with another room with a door, which is, of course, locked, but u could hear every move and every sound from the room neighbour, of course, through the door. the night manager knocked at the door because we were talking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Glenview Hotel. I am sorry you were disturbed by the noise from the room next to you. If we had known you were unhappy with your accommodation we would have organised to move you to another room. All our bedrooms do not... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is lovely rooms well decorated and clean, view breathtaking, breakfast delicious.We opted to eat in the restuarant the first night did not disappoint staff were very polite and attentive food lovely highly recommended.Leisure centre top quality especially enjoyed out door hot top the reason which drew us to the hotel.Overall very enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a fantastic review. I was delighted to read that you had a very enjoyable stay and I will definitely pass on your lovely compliments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Best Regards, Brian McNamara General Manager More 

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Right in the hyeart of rural Wicklow yet 20 minutes from Dun Laoghaire. Lovely, tranquil setting. Great service and food. Busy at weekend with weddings. Superb food and a good Sunday carvery. Great golf courses nearby to suit all pockets and fantastic walks from fairly gentle to really testing. A good base for exploring Counties Wicklow and Dublin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for a great review. We are indeed blessed with our location and various amenities. Thank you also for your lovely compliments regaring the food and service. We pride ourselves on our good customer service. We hope to welcome you back to the Glenview Hotel very soon. Best Regards, Brian McNamara General Manager More 

Donegal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in the Glenview hotel and found some aspects of our stay disappointing while others were satisfactory. We opted to have bar food on the evening that we arrived and found it to be a dreadful experience. Even though it was near to 9pm the bar food menu was available until 9.30 pm. Our food arrived within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It was disappointing to read of the shortcomings you encountered during your recent stay with us. Please be assured this not our usual standard. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent standard of service and I would like to apologise that this was not your experience on this visit. I would also like... More 

Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel twice, November 2005 (on our honeymoon) and September 2010. We loved this hotel. Its in a beautiful setting. Staff are lovely. Food was first class. Room was beautiful. Leisure facilities and gym were good. Lots to do nearby. Would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianMcNamara, General Manager at Glenview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for a wonderful review. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. I have passed your compliments to the team and they are all thrilled. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Glenview Hotel very soon. Kind Regards, Brian McNamara General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Hotel

Address: Delgany, Glen Of The Downs, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Glen Of The Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Glenview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Hotel Glen Of The Downs, County Wicklow, Ireland

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (41)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay