We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Ashbourne hotels

Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Pillo Hotel Ashbourne to your Saves list
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
77%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ashbourne
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
ronnocobri Cork, Ireland
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    220
    74
    33
    30
See reviews for
217
174
10
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with family 3 kids and the room was perfect. Fourth floor nice and spacey clean and modern well impressed would recommend to stay here as we couldn't fault it.. A welcome atmosphere here too views from room could of been more appealing alright

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Ronnocobri, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially please to learn that you could not fault the hotel and that you would highly recommend us to others. Thank you once again for the feedback, I... More

Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Firstly I would like to say that the hotel room couldn't be faulted however the breakfast was a totally different story. The bread served for toasting was blue moulded, there was a hair on my bacon and the plate was dirty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Annaharley_10, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially please to hear that you could not find fault with your bedroom however I was disappointed to learn of your experience at breakfast. Apologies, I assure you... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When my niece planned her wedding date we were delighted so I booked 2 rooms at the package rate last year knowing our son Derek was travelling from new Zealand,however on arrival at the pillo reception I was informed that my sons room was costing a lot more than the package rate the receptionest was a very nice young lady... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear michael2e, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor. Having read through your review, I am most disappointed that the issues experienced at check in seemed to have left a sour taste in relation to your guest experience at the Pillo Hotel. At this point I am unable to explain what... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checked into this hotel at about 2:00am recently afer being at a Wedding in Ballymacgarvey Village. The host was extremely pleasant and cheerful for that hour of the morning which was quite nice and welcoming. We booked a Triple Room, two double beds for three people €120 incl breakfast. The room was exceptionally clean and inviting. The bathroom was clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Em_piredublin, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially please to hear how warmly you were met by the Night staff and that you found your room extremely spacious & comfortable. Apologies for the issue with... More

Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pillo hotel Ashbourne is excellent. Went for the weekend as a family. Family rooms are very spacious with every extra you would ever need, fridge safe hair drier tea making facilities iron and ironing board etc. beds are very comfortable which came as a pleasant surprise and the room temperature was great as most hotel rooms are very warm and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Mackin45, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to receive such positive feedback on your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel & Spa. I was especially pleased to learn that you will be back. Thank you once again, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.... More

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

nice clean hotel.. pool nice ..but very busy at times ... bedroom nice size ..clean & plenty of towels ... Breakfast was busy but everything was topped up quickly ... but a bit bland....nice and close to tayto park ..a great family choice .. but service in the bar left a lot to be desired!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Eileen S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I was pleased to see that you rate the hotel highly and that you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your feedback in relation to the service in the bar however and I will be sure to pass this on to the Bar Manager. Thank... More

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Pillo hotel on the 20/8.We are a family of 5 & we stayed 3 nights as part of a family package,this was brilliant value for money.The rooms are perfect & kids were in the pool everyday!However do not have the dinner buffet,we thought we would treat ourselves on our first night & have the buffet.It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear . Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Obviously I was extremely disappointed to learn about your experience in our restaurant, I was actually quite surprised as we have received a lot of very positive feedback in relation to... More

Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to the hotel for a little break before the kids go back to school, hotel was recommended by a friend. There was a play room and activities in the evening. Great for the kids. Our ten year old really enjoyed his stay, room service etc. Lovely breakfast and choice of either buffet or restaurant menu in the evening.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Pamela C . Thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us. I was especially pleased that your children enjoyed the kids on site entertainment. Thank you once again, I do hope to see you back at The Pillo Hotel... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with the whole family -12 of us in total. The hotel itself is fantastic, bright clean airy rooms, however we were NOT impressed with the food. Ordered dinner that evening and it was terrible to say the least...not one of us could say it was good. My father got the beef sandwich with chips and side salad, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear Melanie D, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Pillo Hotel & Spa Ashbourne. Having read through your review I must say I am most dissappointed that you had a poor experience in our Red Bar. I have noted your comments with regard to the quality of the food. I... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dont come to this hotel. I booked a gig that was on for my girlfriends birthday along with a night in the hotel. A few days before the gig was on i decided to call up and pay for the tickets, and was told the gig had been cancelled. I hadnt been informed and could have shown up on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darrell P, General Manager at Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, responded to this review

Dear JayW, Thank you for your review. You booked our hotel on an Advance Purchase rate which clearly states that this particular rate is a room only rate and that in return for receiving a discount this is non refundable, and that no cancellations or modifications are allowed nor is the booking transferable. However as you fail to state in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Pillo Hotel Ashbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Pillo Hotel Ashbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillo Hotel Ashbourne

Address: The Rath, Ashbourne, Ireland (Formerly Ashbourne Marriott Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Ashbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillo Hotel Ashbourne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Pillo Hotel Ashbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ashbourne
Ashbourne Marriott

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ashbourne with
any amenities