We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Killeshin Hotel

Hotel website
Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Killeshin Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

468 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Killeshin Hotel on a DealRush deal last weekend. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and we enjoyed a lovely and reasonably priced meal in the restaurant. The room was quite nice and the gym/swimming pool was a nice bonus. The breakfast was good and the staff were very attentive. We will certainly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank RayDu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Killeshin hotel for a family occasion. We were a family of 5 and had a large family room. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening where the service was excellent and the food was superb, well presented and very good value for money. The children had a swim in the pool and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank linlon
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both my husband and I had a fantastic time from start to finish. The reception staff were very helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. We had a meal in the cedar room restaurant and it was very nice and good portion size. The staff were polite and nice Breakfast was excellent and there was plenty choices, Our stay was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mac1234186621
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held my Mum's 90th Birthday Party in the Killeshin Hotel on the second weekend in January 2016. The staff were so helpful and friendly, from Pauline Barry, the Events Manager, the reception staff , the function staff to the restaurant staff. They all went the extra mile to make sure the party went to plan, even staff not directly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review , we are so pleased that your special event went well. We were aware it was such a special occasion so we wanted all involved to feel appreciated and looked after, we are pleased this came across in our efforts. Thank you so much for your business and we hope you... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here with 7 friends for one night to celebrate a Birthday. Couldn't fault the hotel. We had 4 twin rooms and all beside each other which was handy. We had booked B&B and hadn't booked an evening meal. We had lunch in the bar which had a good range of food available on the bar menu. We enjoyed lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank 186605Anne
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is fantastic to get feedback on the customer service provided by our team. We look forward to your next stay. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

ratoath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay, only complaint was problem with heat as it must have been switched over from Xmas but manager Robbie stuck with it till it was sorted. Family room was spacious, staff very friendly. Breakfast was set out very well. No big long table to queue at, so you could serve yourself quickly at round table, a big plus. Pub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ltarpey
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is excellent that you have felt so confident in our services that you have referred others to us also. Thank you once again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Haven't stayed here as it's near home but have had food here a few times. It's generally very good bar food. Burgers, currys, fish and the likes and the chips are good (important with bar food!). Quite reasonably priced too. Good pint of Guinness also always helps!

Helpful?
Thank PadraigOC
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your review, we are delighted you have enjoyed the food here at the Killeshin and indeed the Guinness. We hope you will continue to visit our Cedar Bar. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great value at this hotel. Food was great. Only thing that disappointed was the lack of supervision in the pool. Kids in the jacuzzi and parents recording kids in the pool. No where really in the evening to have a drink with kids. Hotel bar doesn't really facilitate. Security is questionable with a lift straight from public carpark to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doyle123
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A warm welcome was received from the receptionists as we entered the hotel, we immediately felt at home. The bedroom was large with a very comfortable bed. A very tasty breakfast was included. With plenty of free parking I can recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas H
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your very nice review, the team are always delighted to receive such feedback. We hope you will be back again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had our Social Club Annual Dinner Dance on the 11th December 15 which sat 160 people comfortably.The hotel gave us a private bar upstairs called the 'Cedar Bar' before our meal which was decorated beautifully to a Christmas theme plus a sparkling wine reception. Onto the meal and the food was excellent as were the staff who served it,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shane M
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review of your dinner dance, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We hope you group will be back again in the future. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portlaoise
1.3 mi away
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
3.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 stars 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
O'Loughlins Hotel
O'Loughlins Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
10.2 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay