We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Killeshin Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Killeshin Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Killeshin Hotel
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    111
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
89
127
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for a one night stay on a Saturday night. We were lucky enough to be upgraded and the room was fantastic with a four poster bed, such a lovely surprise. Found all of the staff from reception to restaurant & bar staff to be extremely friendly and attentive. We had dinner in the hotel and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a brilliant time when we stayed at the Killeshin. The hotel was very busy as there were a large number of friends and family attending a birthday party. I thought the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was always served hot with a good choice on the menu. I thought the breakfast was very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check-in stuff was friendly Big parking for free The room is big and clean and ok Bathroom: Cracked washbasin, shower had should be updated Breakfast stuff very friendly Very good breakfast Gym for free but is worn out and dirty, equipment not serviced!!!!!! Water cooler is disgusting Very noisy Hotel!! !!!! I asked the hotel manager if he can guaranty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

14 Team Mates along with their families stayed here over the weekend April 11/12th. The whole experience was great. The friendly staff, fabulous food - with a great variety for both adults & kids for evening meal & breakfast. The pool facilities were super suited all ages. We couldn't fault this hotel it was just perfect. Thanks for making our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had an enjoyable weekend and even better that you won your matches. Success all round. You and the team are welcome back to us any time. You must be very proud of such a well behaved group of... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I just spent a very enjoyable weekend at this hotel. The room was fabulous, the food was out of this world (special mention has to go to the sticky toffee pudding) and the staff were the most helpful people I have ever come across - they all went out of their way to really make our stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed yourselves and found the staff to be helpful. We look forward to your return in the near future. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Cork
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very tasty brunch here during a brief stop off in Portlaoise. Good variety and trendy menu. Only downside on this visit was that it was a bit too noisy. But hey, that happens sometimes. This is an excellent place for meeting people or as a stop-off from the M7/M8.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope you will stop off here again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

really great hotel big bedroom , very good pool and gym , As much breakfast as you could eat , Smoked Salmon eggs anyway you like or a Full Irish if you could fit it in ! We had a very Happy Three night stay .sue and Nick from the Isle of Man

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night over the weekend after receiving a deal on living social. We arrived in the late afternoon and check in was very quick. The girl at reception was very helpful and explained pretty much everything about our stay. We made use of the leisure centre which was nice. The reception area has lovely decor. We ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to read your positive comments about the reception and decor of the hotel. Additionally your general good comments about the staff is much appreciated. May I apologise for the rude attitude of the waitress who served your room service breakfast. I have discussed... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good stay till the last nite. We have a flight to catch and are right overa party that after asking the reception staff will b going on till 01:30 hours. The reception staff were kind of the attitude of well u will have to lump it. If we had bn informed that the hotel was going to have children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. My sincere apologises for the disturbance for the last night of your stay. I have noticed that you have contacted the hotel directly and I will contact you directly. Yours Sincerely John Flannery General Manager More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we turned up late as we were let down by the heratige hotel , we were met by Yvonne, lovely woman sorted our room and a cocktail , lovely big room so clean , we then headed to the bar and great bar man looke after us so well, we were given a late check out so enjoy a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your enjoyable with us at the Killeshin. We are delighted all went well for you when you arrived later than you had hoped. We look forward to your return. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question