We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Portlaoise hotels

The Killeshin Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Killeshin Hotel to your Saves list
The Killeshin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
77%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Shalouey
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    91
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
74
94
6
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There were 4 of us in the Kileshin Restaurant for a meal on saturday night. Lovely surroundings and everybody looked to be enjoying themselves. The menu was 3 course for €32 which included a striploin steak. I had a lovely goats cheese brushetta and there was also caesar salad and brocolli soup ordered at the table. The caesar salads looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we don't always here about the good things! We are delighted you all enjoyed your meal and we look forward to having you back again soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Mayo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was there for a meeting , approx 70 people , there was not room in the bar for lunch at lunch time , even though they knew the room was booked for a meeting drive nor had they any other facility available to get a lunch , dissapointing , left there hungry having been there all day & had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, unfortunately we are only in a position to make arrangements when they are booked with us. The organisers of the conference were asked to make lunch arrangements for this group in order to avoid this type of occurrence. It is impossible for us to guess how many of the conference attendees would stay... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a regular Sunday lunch customer I would just like to say how disappointed I was to see that the windows in the bar have been frosted. My children love to sit at one of the tables in the window every Sunday but there's no point now. Seems like a very strange thing to do, surely passers by would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is disappointing that our upgrade of the bar has upset your children. We frosted the lower windows in the bar to give more privacy for the diners and patrons of the bar. Feedback highlighted the openness was putting patrons off. We will be softening the frosting through stencilling work which may make the area more appealing to... More

Cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have only one complaint about this hotel, but it is one that will ensure that I never stay here again. For a 4-star hotel, I was shocked and disappointed to find that not only was there no wifi in my room, but the cable internet (cable in this day and age is not even acceptable really - I travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It was unfortunate that there was no Wi-Fi in your room during your stay, this is in the process of being remedied with the roll out of WIFI to all rooms. All the public areas and over 40% of the rooms have been upgraded to-date. Once again thank you for taking the time... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 4th time in 12 months I have visited the Killeshin Hotel and the 4th time I am obligated to go to the bar, ask for a menu, and go over to the bar again and order my food or drink. This is despite the availability of two (sometimes 3) bar staff who any time I am there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your extremely constructive critique of the hotel. Myself and the Food & Beverage Manager have instigated a training and ongoing review of the bar service, I would be delighted if you returned to the hotel again. Yours Sincerely John Flannery General Manager More

Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night whilst attending a nearby event. Staff on arrival were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was decent size, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good and included a hot and cold buffet with plenty of fresh fruit. Reason for 3, we had no view, wifi in some rooms but not ours, minimal TV channel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments relating to the WIFI and we are in the process of rolling out WIFI throughout all hotel bedrooms, currently there is FREE broadband in all bedrooms and FREE WIFI in all public areas. FREE WIFI to follow shortly in all... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in by lovely lady very friendly, hotel room was really spacious and modern and spotless clean, bar food was lovely but the menu quite limited as in you can't get a club sandwich until after 4pm which is strange. Leisure centre was also spotless clean. The only downside was the breakfast served buffet style was cold not just cool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time for writing your review of the hotel and we are delighted with your positive comments about the hotel. I have highlighted your observations about the breakfast and the unacceptable noise in the corridors in the morning to both the Food & Beverage and Housekeeping Managers. Once again thank you for... More

N.Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for three days and found it to be an excellent base to explore the area. Breakfast was great and we had a lovely dinner in the bar/grill one night. We'll worth a visit or stay if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your pleasant review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our centrally based location. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had been to Kerry and on our way home stopped off at the Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise. We were checked in very efficiently and courteously by the receptionist and found our room to be extremely comfortable with lovely cosy bath robes. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant that evening and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Killeshin. We pride ourselves on giving the road weary traveller a warm welcome. We look forward to having you back again with us soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Spent two nights here for a wedding great hotel we didn't need to go anywhere else for food it was a very nice stay,staff accommodating and breakfast v nice,would recommend this hotel for all group types,v child friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our property, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Killeshin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portlaoise with
any amenities