We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Portlaoise hotels

The Killeshin Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Killeshin Hotel to your Saves list
The Killeshin Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
78%
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Portlaoise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
JonnyandJules
  • Overview
  • Reviews (260)
  • Photos (50)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    90
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
73
93
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night whilst attending a nearby event. Staff on arrival were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was decent size, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good and included a hot and cold buffet with plenty of fresh fruit. Reason for 3, we had no view, wifi in some rooms but not ours, minimal TV channel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Checked in by lovely lady very friendly, hotel room was really spacious and modern and spotless clean, bar food was lovely but the menu quite limited as in you can't get a club sandwich until after 4pm which is strange. Leisure centre was also spotless clean. The only downside was the breakfast served buffet style was cold not just cool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had been to Kerry and on our way home stopped off at the Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise. We were checked in very efficiently and courteously by the receptionist and found our room to be extremely comfortable with lovely cosy bath robes. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant that evening and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at the Killeshin. We pride ourselves on giving the road weary traveller a warm welcome. We look forward to having you back again with us soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent two nights here for a wedding great hotel we didn't need to go anywhere else for food it was a very nice stay,staff accommodating and breakfast v nice,would recommend this hotel for all group types,v child friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our property, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back with us again soon. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights for my friends wedding! Everything was fabulous. wedding reception food was lovely. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The only criticism was no plugs beside the beds and the bath towels were very small, minor detail but pretty standard everywhere these days! I would definitely stay again if I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, the team are always delighted to know their efforts are appreciated. We have a huge focus on customer service and endevour to deliver the highest possible service. I have relayed your comments regarding towels and sockets to the housekeeping department. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in August. On arrival the staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming. Room was lovely, spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was very clean and tidy. We used the leisure facilities and no complaints, everything was very good. We had breakfast both mornings and food was very tasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you had a pleasant stay. I have noted your comments regarding the bar staff and will take appropriate action. Thank you again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

ENNIS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly on a positive note this hotel does look modern / slick and reception looks class however the food lets it down Having stopped off at this hotel for a quick bite to eat I was disappointed at the quality of the food . We arrived as a large function was being seated and the bar was in a mess...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your very positive review of the hotel. Your comments about the bar service and limited menu have been discussed in detail at today’s weekly management meeting and I can only apologise for the lack of suitable dishes for your dietary requirements. I have instructed bar staff to offer all guests the opportunity if... More

Portarlington, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently my Husband and I renewed our wedding vows and had an Hawaiian style party at the Killeshin Hotel in Portlaoise. My family from the Uk stayed as we did at the hotel. The staff treated us with such kindness and respect. The food is amazing. I have no problem recommending this hotel the standard of the rooms are first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to you staying with us again. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

bar food well it was cold and reheated chips, bar was not busy at all ( 2 other people) and four members of staff were just standing around talking and we were waiting to be served finally we had to wave over to them,they were not very impressed when we said it to them, the pool changing rooms are filthy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was very disappointed to read your critique of the food and bar service, I have highlighted this with the Food & Beverage Manager who is doing a full review of the service level. I note your comments about the gym area and I... More

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to use this hotel due to a mechanical breakdown on the way to Cork, had no problem getting a room at such a late hour. Staff very helpful and room service was a lifesaver! Clean rooms comfortable bed and a good nights sleep before a very good breakfast was all I needed . had never occurred to use a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnFlannery, General Manager at The Killeshin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had such a positive experience when you checked in with our night staff earlier in the Summer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you back again in the future. Yours sincerely, John Flannery General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Killeshin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Killeshin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killeshin Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Portlaoise, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Killeshin Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Killeshin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeshin Hotel Portlaoise

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portlaoise with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Star Killeshin Hotel recently won 'Best Hotel Bar' in the region in conjunction with the Leinster Express. We have 87 well appointed bedrooms with a crisp contemporary decor. Superb bar food is served daily from 12.30pm in our Cedar Bar and breakfast is served daily in the Cedar Bistro. Offering full leisure facilities, complimentary secure covered car parking and wifi. The Killeshin Hotel - Where award winning service matters ... more   less 
Number of rooms
87

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Killeshin Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Killeshin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer