We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Portlaoise hotels

Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Portlaoise Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
64%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Portlaoise
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
kiddley
  • Overview
  • Reviews (559)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (66)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    149
    107
    60
    43
See reviews for
110
201
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have stayed previously and had no complaints but this time had some issues no choice of food only Italian or steak rooms need update couldn't connect to WiFi my 32 yr old daughter told she couldn't have pancakes for breakfast they were just for kids left letter and comment card at reception at check out but have not heard from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Outdated decor. Poor leisure and spa standards. Massive need of a refurb. Room keys repeatedly did not work. Staff seemed unfriendly and made to feel with any request that you were annoyance, as opposed to a welcomed guest. Slow to serve food at the bar. Would not expect any if this at a 4 star hotel. Would not recommend a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly I'd like to start with the booking process back in March. My booking was dealt with by Sinead Doherty and from from start to finish she accommodated my every wish! This weekend was a birthday celebration and it was a group of ladies where the ages ranged from 30 right up to 80! The building is very impressive from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise on a 1 nights B&B with meal Package with my Fiancé during August. Having stayed in the nearby Killeshin Hotel and found that hotel quite good we decided to chance a different hotel to see what it was like. Having seen images of the hotel it looked quite impressive and we made the booking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

HI, Thank you for your very comprehensive feedback on the hotel after your stay. It was good to hear that overall you found the hotel satisfactory and we will take on board your comments where improvements can be made. I was sorry to hear your dissatisfaction with the parking arrangements. Rather than going into detail here I would be delighted... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found the staff friendly and extremely helpful. Aidan was the man who seemed to be able to do everything and could help with anything!! Meal in bar was good. Only one girl on duty in dining room for breakfast. It was very busy and I think she could have done with some help!

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found everything satisfactory. Hopefully we will see you back at the Portlaoise HeritageHotel in the near future. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind Regards Joe O'Brien General Manager More

Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here just for one night and was very surprised at how fabulous it was. at just €95.00 b7b for a family room we thought it was excellent value. The swimming pool is exceptional, really excellent for the kids, as it has a very safe kiddies pool. The breakfast the next day was very good & well laid out. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your kind comments in your review of our hotel after your stay. I was delighted to hear that you found everything satisfactory and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. In the meantime thank you again for your feedback. Kind Regards Joe O'Brien General Manager More

Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival at the hotel the lobby is lovely check in easy staff very pleasant the room we got was a dive cigarette burns in curtains drill holes in the wall what looked like coffee stains on the lamp shade shower was filthy however we had a meal in the Italian in the hotel service and food was monumental overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

HI, It was good of you to take the time to give us your feedback on your visit to us. I was glad to hear that your restaurant experience was good but obviously I was disappointed with the issues that you mentioned in relation to the accommodation. I would welcome the opportunity to deal with you directly on this and... More

ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends & I booked a family room, to sleep 3 adults on the hotel website. The room contained one double & one single bed. We were told at reception they would send up a cot to the room, but it never arrived. The website was a bit misleading because in the photos it showed a family room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for giving us your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was naturally concerned to hear of the aspects of your stay which you found disappointing. My apologies for that. I would very much welcome the opportunity to talk to you directly about the issues you mentioned and to this end I would be delighted if... More

Cavan, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Portlaoise Heritage hotel.Great location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was lovely! The swimming pool was great (but very cold) The children had a great time! I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, I was delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay. Thank you very much for your kind comment which I will of course share with our staff. It was good to hear that you found the food, service and staff satisfactory. We did have a minor issue with the pool temperature at the time of your stay... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the hotel on numerous occasions as part of a group of 40 and have never had any hassle untill our last trip. We have spent alot of money travelling and stayin in the hotel and on our last trip staff in the hotel distroyed our weekend and have completely turned us off going back. A member of staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. As you know, prior to posting your review, we had been in contact directly by email on the issue you raised. I do not feel that at this stage it would be appropriate to go into the detail of the issue here. Nevertheless... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Portlaoise Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

Address: Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Portlaoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Portlaoise Heritage Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Portlaoise Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel Portlaoise

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Portlaoise with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Designed to reflect style, planned with meticulous care to deliver service excellence, The Portlaoise Heritage Hotel has earned itself the reputation of being the most sought after hotel in Ireland. Nestled in the heart of Portlaoise Town, this sophisticated urban setting is perfect for business or pleasure. Its striking entrance creates an impressive sense of space and classic modern elegance. Our 110 deluxe bedrooms, incorporating executive rooms & suites offer splendour of classic design with modern elegance and includes the latest in wireless internet technology complimentary. You will be spoiled for choice with our unique choice of Restaurants and Bars. Our White Flag Award Winning Health & Leisure Club also features Ealu Spa Therapy. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Portlaoise Heritage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer