We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portlaoise Heritage Hotel

4.0 of 5
Jessop Street, Portlaoise, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Portlaoise Heritage Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portlaoise
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
22kevin 22kevin
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    175
    122
    75
    54
See reviews for
133
224
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (655)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (210)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (139)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for two nights on a package - very dissappointined. First of this hotel is not a 4 star hotel..the furnishings are out dated and the staff do not seem to be happy..No sign of management presence..and the hotel must be badly stuck for bar tenders...food average.... Lets start with big bar tender behind bar ,Grey tight hair,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

I was very sorry to read your comments in relation to your recent stay here. I am disappointed to hear of this experience as it is not at all our service standard. If you would please contact me to discuss this further. Please email me at gjordan@theheritagehotel.com or phone at 0578678588. More 

22kevin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a short break at the Heritage. No complaints at all, food was good the leisure facilities are first class & spotlessly clean. Friendly & helpful staff right in the heart of portlaoise town so everything on your doorstep! -Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am truly glad you enjoyed your experience here. I am delighted to hear that you found the team welcoming and supportive and that you took the time to enjoy the facilities we have here. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the hotel easter weekend with my girlfriend. The staff were really helpful kind and friendly. The room,bar and restaurant was outstanding I can't thank u enough for the quality u provided while we were staying in the hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay here. The team work extremely hard to deliver high quality customer service and I am glad that you experienced this throughout your visit. I am thrilled you chose to stay with us over the Easter break and I hope to welcome you... More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited here recently for a friends wedding, as a part time wedding photographer I visit a few hotels to say the least, although as a guest at this one, i found the hotel to be just average. On arriving at the hotel, the parking was limited and the space available was at a cost, I am a firm believer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to your recent visit. Unfortunately the car park is not owed by the hotel but we do offer discounted rates for our guests which are clearly displayed in all area of the hotel. In regards to the unsuitable chair,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a weekend away with the Family. Was very disappointed with my booking. I have booked a large family room because I had two children - 1 teenager 14 yrs old and 11 yr girl. I was told it was one double and 2 single beds. When I reached the room I found it was a normal sized... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was deeply saddened to read your comments of your recent stay in the hotel. I apologise for the confusion in your booking and I can assure you that I will look into this matter further. In relation to the staff issue I am sorry you felt like you did not receive good customer service on this occasion.... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there a couple of nights ago. The hotel is lovely and the facilities are at a good quality. We were delighted with the service provided! The staff were Lovely and especially Emer in the kids club, she was so approachable and seemed to be so good with the kids! She was able to answer all our questions and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to read you review of the hotel. I will gladly pass on your lovely comments to Emer and the team here. The kids club is very popular during the Easter break and also during the summer holidays here in the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months. Thank you for... More 

ratoath
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a good stay over easter, while other hotels were overpriced at this time we got a good deal to include dinner, food lovely and colleen our waitress so nice. We had a lovely spacious room and staff very friendly, barman gave me plenty of ice. Our parking was included, which is not always the case (can be an expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the hotel. I was thrilled to read your comments in relation to your recent stay. We have a few different packages in place to cater for families during the school holidays which I am glad you chose here with us. I will be delighted to pass on... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good friendly staff and good pool. We really enjoyed our 3 day trip. They had nice colouring competition for the kids... Emo Court is a good day trip... 15mins away. Hotel is recommended. Enjoy your trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for you lovely review. I am delighted to read about your recent stay in the hotel. I have an amazing team here who all work extremely hard and I am glad that you found them all to be welcoming. Over the Easter break we ran a kids club and also a coloring competition to... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in for one night only, and am glad we only stayed one night. Firstly they have no car park ( there's a few parking spots out the front only). Because I was on a deal and not getting breakfast meant hotel would not validate my parking ticket for a discount. Room was alright. About 5-10 minute walk into portlaoise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was surprise to read your review of the hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here. In relation to the car parking facilities, we do offer a discounted rate to our guest but unfortunately the car park is not owned by the hotel and we have signage all around the hotel in inform guests... More 

Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here recently for a meeting.I have to say from the outside the hotel doesn't look appealing but once inside it was lovely. Our meeting was in a good sized room. One thing i'd say is that there wasn't a sign or anything to direct us to the room, we had to ask at reception. Before our meeting we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PortlaoiseHeritage, General Manager at Portlaoise Heritage Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, you comments are very helpful to help us improve our standards. I am delighted that you found the team accommodating and that you enjoyed your time here. We have a great conference centre in the hotel with over 12 meeting rooms to cater for a wide variety of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question