We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Shanagarry B&Bs / inns

Ballymaloe House

Shanagarry, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ballymaloe House to your Saves list
Ballymaloe House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
Ranked #2 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dreyfus01 Valley Forge
  • Overview
  • Reviews (224)
  • Photos (42)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    40
    24
    11
    11
See reviews for
45
119
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Allen family for generations has been at the center of the revival and updating of Irish cooking using farm grown produce, traditional and modified recipes for baked good and preparation of local fish and meats. The farm is lovely, the service is familiar Irish friendliness. A great experience on all levels with comfortable rooms and gardens of produce and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Last March, we tested the cooking skills of Ballymaloe, by hosting a wedding for 250 guests in the Grainstore. We were not disappointed, the food was amazing, perfectly cooked by head chef, Gillian. We met Gillian a few weeks before the wedding and she advised us on the menu and what would be the most suitable food to serve to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilmessan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

booked a weekend away in Ballycotton and was delighted to find out that Ballymaloe House and Cookery School were nearby, we have been fans of Darina Allen since her TV cooking programme in the 1980s and now a big fan of Rachel Allen. we went to the Cookery School first to tour the gardens, we were delighted to bump into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you , we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed our simply cooked home grown potatoes and the fresh fish we are lucky to get daily from our local fishermen not to mention our lovely local staff without whom we could never manage. Hazel More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll start as many reviewers have by saying I was looking forward to this booking being the highlight of my trip to Ireland. First the quirky or things that could use improvement. We too had a room that was a bit musty, and frankly a bit disappointing. The site was not full and we were staying for one night, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back , I am sorry I have not been able to work out which room you stayed in or found the reason for your room being musty - in general our downstairs room are favourites. There may be some confusion over restaurant , we never serve amuse bouche and have not served rabbit this year... More

Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The hotel is a little bit hard to find if you're driving yourself there. The house is beautiful on the outside with the lovely ivy covered walls. The rooms are large and we had the Pink room and the Lily of the Valley, both of which face the lovely gardens. The beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments - we will pay more attention to our sports equipment , Rory usually has some bicycles available for guests on request , hopefully our front of staff explained this to you. Please ask for Rory next time , he will be glad to help Hazel More

Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've wanted to stay here for some time and were very excited by the prospect. And whilst this institution really is very good it isn't without the odd fault, so I'll get those out of the way first. Whilst its relaxed charm and shabby chic makes you instantly feel at home, it is perhaps time for a bit of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back I will have a look at the plants on conservatory to-day - they require lots of attention during this hot summer . We are delighted you enjoyed the food Hazel More

Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent three nights here with family. The food was delicious and fresh, the service was overall very good, and the rooms were clean. Internet was very limited but you're supposed to be on vacation anyway. There is plenty to do within a short drive from here. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments , we look forward to seeing you again and hopefully our problems with internet will be resolved Hazel More

london
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We'd been hoping to go to Ballymaloe since reading about Myrtle Allen. It took us so long to get there that the cooking has skipped via the daughters-in-law, Davina to Rachel. Could this long wait live up to our hopes? At first I thought not. I had expected the Irish equivalent of Gidleigh Park with its perfect gloss but this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you ,as I am sure our noticed we have just republished and updated Myrtles Cookbook to celebrate our 50th Year and Mytles 90th - her book is still the used every day in our kitchen, we refer to it as "The Bible" Hazel More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Recently my friend and I travelled to Ballymaloe for an overnight stay. Even though was just overnight, it was superby relaxing and in such a charming setting. The food for dinner was amazing and the breakfast was so good that I had to retire to the bedroom and open a zip on trousers that was seriously under pressure after all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments - so glad you liked our homemade soap - Robyn would be glad to send you a gift pack just let us have your postal address. Hazel More

Northville, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We loved our stay at Ballymaloe and wish we had booked more than one night. We didn't realize how much there was to do on the property and in the surrounding area. Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The food - as one would expect - was fastastic. Dinner is a bit expensive but worth the price. Just make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments , sorry you found our advise on things to do confusing ,but hopefully there will be another time & you will find your way around more easily Hazel More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ballymaloe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ballymaloe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House

Address: Shanagarry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballymaloe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer