We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    83
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
90
55
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (228)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Springville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I have never had a bad experience. The staff and hotel is excellent. The rooms are very clean the lobby was also clean and neat. The Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and ready. I would recommend this hotel to any one who needs a good quite comfortable stay if they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hickory, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the Best Western Thunderbird Motel went out of their way to accommodate us. The motel was clean, and NO BED BUGS. The area is beautiful. There is a Mexican restaurant right next door, and the food is great.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us. Despite some claims to the contrary, we have never had bed bugs thankfully. We sure do our best to make sure the rooms are clean and pest free. We look... More 

United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we were in town for family visit during thanksgiving weekend , parking wasnt the best as they share a space with a very popular restaurant , the am breakfast was very basic and internet was intermittent as well , on the bright side good value , very clean accommodations and overall for the money a good stay , we may... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. We have upgraded our wireless system so we have much better signal strength for all of our tablet and phone users. I do understand some people would like us to have some more hot options on our breakfast but unfortunately we just don't have... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is dated but clean and beds are awesome. Excellent restaurants are nearby. This is our third stay here and we have not been disappointed. Could not get the magnetic key to work but staff let us in and were very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Douglass, Thank you for leaving us a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad you have had some great stays with us. Brand new carpet is on the way and new mirrors are planned, so hopefully we will look a little less dated. We are also planning on getting new door locks since we do know our older ones... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was an older one but was very clean, up to date furnishings and the staff was great. The bed was comfortable as were the pillows. Hotel is close to numerous restaurants and the Interstate. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dale, Thank you so much for leaving us a great review here on TripAdvisor. I am happy that you had a great stay with us. Next time you stop by make sure to try some of our great local restaurants. More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travel through Cookeville from my sister's home in Clemmons, NC to Memphis. We always stay at this hotel because it has large rooms, is priced well, and convenient to our favorite restaurant, Mauricios and Ralphs Donuts. A good stop over trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoy stopping in Cookeville and staying with us. Maricio's and Ralph's Donuts are definitely a staple here and there are plenty of other great local restaurants to try out. We look forward to your next stay! More 

Springfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a motel on I-40 away from Nashville.. We stayed at this Best Western, going eastbound... Liked it so much, booked it for our westbound trip a week later...Room was clean, had micro wave, refrigerator, and television.. wireless internet worked well, also... On the trip eastbound, the television did not work as well as we would have liked, but... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie, Thank you for leaving us a review here on TripAdivsor. I am happy to hear you had two nice stays with us. I don't know what issues you had with the TV, but a few months ago Charter (and Comcast) made everyone use a small cable box. These boxes are causing everyone no end of problems. We also... More 

akron, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overnight stay while traveling. Place was clean and in good shape. The staff was helpful and very friendly and there were no issues with my reservation and they placed me in a room with the specific location I asked for because of physical limitations.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay with us. We hope you come back and visit us again in the future. More 

Indianapolis< IN
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My room was clean and comfortable as was the bed. Front desk staff was excellent, very attentive. Both check-in and check-out. The furnishing were good. I had an issue with the TV but didn't call the desk, went to bed instead. Told them when I checked out and they told me that I should have called them, they would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had a good meal at El Tapatio. We have many guests who end up coming back just because they like that restaurant so much. In regards to the TV issue, we do not like the new cable boxes Charter had us install in our rooms. We... More 

ardmore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Everything was good except group of guests were too loud until 2:30 am, did not call desk to report. Beds were comfortable, just noisy guests. Breakfast was good variety of fruits and other selections..

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. Please let us or any hotel know when there is a problem so we can help resolve it. Some guests just don't understand what it is to be considerate to others or don't even realize how loud they are being. Sometimes a quick phone call can get them to keep... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cookeville
#3 Family Hotel in Cookeville
#6 Business Hotel in Cookeville

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay