We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Cookeville hotels

BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
84%
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Cookeville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Scott F Kansas City MO, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (193)
  • Photos (23)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    66
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
73
46
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It's been quite awhile since I could get away due to personal issues, so it was a great dissapointment to find this place not up to par. The young lady at the desk was on the phone & did not acknowledge us at all until she was through. Then she changed which room we were supposed to get. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City MO, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In a city known as a "1 night stand" for travelers with many motels and hotels, the Best Western Thunderbird is a place that needs to be known and considered. An obvious older property, it has none the less been kept in pristine condition and is absolutely immaculate with its perfect and accessible location. The rooms are gigantic, as are... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
canton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family always stays here while going through the World's Longest Yard Sale. This was our last night of the trip, and by far the comfiest bed we slept on the entire trip. Even my 3 year old slept so soundly she didn't budge the whole night! Quiet hotel, and has a great mexican restaurant on site that made dinner... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trail Creek, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would stay there again. It was a pet friendly motel and the rooms were very clean. There were many people with pets staying there and you really didn't hear a lot of barking or noise at all. It was in a area with plenty of restaurants to choose from and easy access to interstate highway.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
cape girardeau,Mo., United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at the Best Western Thunderbird in Cookeville, Tn. about every 2 months on our trips between Missouri and South Carolina. It is a good value and the rooms are always clean. The price includes breakfast and there is coffee and tea available in the lobby if wanted. Almost every stay we are greeted by Angie at the front... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thanks so much for leaving us a review here on TripAdvisor! I am sure Angie will be happy to hear that she is able to make your stay even more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip! More

pearcy, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When my husband and I travel we take our two small dogs with us. It is difficult to find accommodations that will accept pets and most that do, charge a large nonrefundable pet fee. I appreciate the fact that Best Western provides pet friendly rooms and require a minimal fee. Thank you for helping our "family travel" be less stressful!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor. We enjoy being pet friendly and try to make you and your pets stay as enjoyable as it can be. We hope you and your family visit us again soon! More

Providence, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For just a few dollars more than the absolute lowest rates around, you get a tremendous number of amenities and a huge overall upgrade. Everything done professionally and with the guest's convenience in mind. Expeditted, efficient service. Everyitbng clean in the room, and everything worked perfectly (in room morning coffee maker, fridge, TV, alarm clock). The free breakfast on the... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Morris, Thank you for writing us a review here on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again! More

Destin, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All in all, this was a nice place to stop. The staff was friendly and responsive. Rooms were clean. However, the pillows did suck; they were a strange collection of cotton balls stuffed into a cloth. Can't really complain too much though for the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Joe, Thank you for leaving a review here on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had a good stay with us. Sorry to hear you did not like the pillows. Some people love them, others not so much. We hope you do stop and stay with us again! More

Southaven, MS, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a nice place to rest on a two day trip. The hair dryer was missed on the remodeling though and breakfast was very thin. Good rates for a clean quiet place for the family to crash. Restaurant on site looked pretty popular but we were too tired to try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am glad you were able to have a nice rest with us on your stay. El Tapatio is very popular here in town and just about everyone loves their food, prices and service. Hopefully you get to stay with us again and try it out. More

Vienna, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Thunderbird is an older facility with quality amenities. Two sinks in the bathroom is nice, the shower is good, the toilet seat is quality, and lighting throughout is really good. The restaurant on property is convenient. We had a very nice stay.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunderbird01, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you had a great experience with us! We look forward to you stopping by and seeing us again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel

Address: 900 South Jefferson Ave., Cookeville, TN 38501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Cookeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunderbird Hotel Cookeville
Best Western Cookeville
Cookeville Best Western

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cookeville with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Family Hotel in Cookeville #3 Business Hotel in Cookeville
Number of rooms
76

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer