We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
970 South Jefferson Avenue, Cookeville, TN 38501 (Formerly Garden Hotel)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    42
    14
    28
    44
See reviews for
63
26
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (174)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay at Clarion Inn. Ms. Cynthia Yoko and Shown Lee were very sweet and helpful. Especially Ms. Lee. Very lively woman and excellent employee. The Clarion Inn is very lucky to have both women working for them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had black mold in bathroom, no fixtures on plugins, had microwave but had to unplug tv or refrigerator to use it, pool was freezing cold, hot tub was dirty. Bar next door was decent just not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Bob- We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Clarion Inn in Cookeville. I am sorry we did not meet you expectations. Maintenace has taken care of the issues you mentioned in your room. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Cookeville. More 

Travelers are raving about these Cookeville hotels

Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can tell this property has not been updated in 20+ years. We stayed in the "Executive Wing" on our room was sub par, just like a regular Super 8 room. It was clean but the bed and pillows were not comfortable. Towels were thin, and with no working air vent in the bathroom it caused mold on the ceilings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

AllStarMP- Your constructive feed back in regards to your most recent stay is most useful to us. We use comments like yours to continuously improve our hotel. More 

Elk Grove, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Clarion Inn in Cookeville Tn was probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Our room had a water pipe sticking partial out of the wall and painted the same color as the wall. You could trip over it if you did not know it was there. One morning we woke up and there was a cockroach on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

William J- Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your most recent stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your valuable feed back with our housekeeping, maintenance and front desk teams. I hope the next time you are in the area you will allow us the opportunity to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room looked nice when I entered but it had a weird smell carpet and look like it was vacuumed the sheet on the bed he fitted sheet was just turned inside out you can see the seams where the sheet is inside out the bathroom seems to have some black spots which I'm assuming it's a little bit of mold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Joseph H- Thank you for your feedback that you posted on July 30th, 2015. I would like to apologize for the smell you encountered when you entered the room as well as the other issues with housekeeping. Our Executive Housekeeper has shared your comments with her team and has taken the appropriate actions. We hope to see you again the... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic service and hospitality at dinner and especially at breakfast with Cynthia Cook. What an awesome staff member.... reached beyond the necessary requirements in meeting guest service standards.... All staff members extremely nice and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Natasha- Your kind words about your stay and more importantly our team member Ms. Cynthia were amazing. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your positive comments about your recent stay. Have a Great Summer! More 

Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We reserved two rooms, one with a pull out coach as we were traveling with 4 adults and 2 small children. When we arrived in our rooms we had a king bed in each and no pull out coach which left us with bedding for 4 people only. When we contacted the front office we were told that is all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

Kirk- We did not live up your expectations during your recent stay. Thank you for your detailed comments. I have reviewed them and actions have been taken to correct the issues. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and the next time you are in Cookeville you are allow us the chance to show you our true hospitality. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

One of the absolute WORST experiences I've ever had. The Cookeville, Tennessee Clarion Hotel had some of the most rude and disrespectful employees I've ever run into. In particular, Brittany, the "on-site" manager, was absolutely non-professional, and seemed to be a little overwhelmed. I'm not sure she could handle a business of this size. Her demeanor was totally un-acceptable, actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experience with our front desk team member. I would like to assure you, this has been addressed and I know you will notice a positive change the next time you are in Cookeville. Thank you for taking a moment to complete a review about our hotel. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the pool so my daughter could swim during the winter. However, I could not sleep here. It appeared that the attached sports bar provides them with most of their guests. The room was filthy. The pool area was neat with the waterslide, but the room was horrible. I am picky about cleanliness, but this was way beyond... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review

TiseandTay- From your stay back in December many positive changes have been made to hotel and the sports bar. I am so glad your family enjoyed the indoor pool and slide. I hope you will have the chance to stay with us again this coming winter. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cookeville hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Thunderbird Motel
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cookeville
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cookeville - Tennessee Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Cookeville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cookeville
Hampton Inn Cookeville
#1 of 17 in Cookeville
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cookeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay