We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Druid Inn

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Ruthin Road, Llanferres CH7 5SN, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Druid Inn
Professional photos View all
The Druid Inn
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed at the Druid for one night while on a wildlife photography trip. They were friendly, interested in us and hugely accommodating to our slightly odd requests ("We'll be getting up at 3.15 am, but we might be a bit late in getting back for breakfast - is that OK?"). Two evening meals with drinks, three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have family in north Wales, and this is our favourite place to stay whilst visiting them. The ambiance is great, as is the food and the location. The village nestles at the foot of the Clwyd mountain, Moel Famau in particular. It is surrounded by tiny lanes, old limestone quarries and lead mines, steeped in history. The limestone pavements... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We received a very warm welcome. The food was delicious and well presented. Clean and comfortable accommodation in a beautiful setting. My wife and I (and dog) will be looking forward to an opportunity to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Irby Wirral
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

You will always be sure of a friendly welcome, fantastic food ( especially home made gorgeous soup and sandwich ) and great service. Well recommended after brisk walk in Loggerheads or Moel Fammau. We are regular visitors and always satisfied customers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I was trying to be discreet about 2 of our meals being cold which really wasn't a great problem it was the extremely rude and abrupt response of the land lady. The meal wasn't replaced but obviously re-heated in the microwave and the new portion of chips promised never showed up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, Owner at The Druid Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal at The Druid last Saturday, the very busy evening following The Wales Rally, particularly since neither of you mentioned any further concerns when I checked your table after you had received your meals. Your comments are somewhat surprising since one of your party took great trouble to come to find... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

If only the Druid was closer to home we would go there at least once a week. We spend Spring and Autumn breaks at a hotel in North Wales and although the Druid is out of our way there we always make a detour to have our lunch there. It is a very popular place-always welcoming and food to die... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colwyn Bay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I have stayed at The Druid Inn many times, with friends. We usually start a walk from The Druid, which is ideally placed for the Clwydian Range of hills. I would highly recommend the inn, the hospitality is great and the food is just as good. The rooms may be on the small side, but tasteful renovation has been completed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, Owner at The Druid Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, The Druid is situated in a fabulous area for all outdoor pursuits and as such benefits from an interesting,ever changing group of people staying and using the pub who along with the local regular customers make this a great place to visit. We hope that you continue to enjoy visiting us... More 

Liverpool, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We have passed the Druids Inn countless times on the way to visiting friends, and have often said we should call in for food. Well our latest holiday adventure was borrowing an old VW camper van and touring around beautiful Wales. On the way home last day, we knew we would be passing and as it was lunch time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie D, Owner at The Druid Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, we hope that you got home safely and without further incident! We look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area. More 

Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really nice pub with a restaurant part. Good food, welcoming hosts and staff and an overall pleasant stay, though the rooms are a bit dull. Grey everywhere, small bathroom with showercabin that has seen better days. Possibility to use bathroom with bathtub in the hallway. Roomstandard ok, with everything you need, but the pub itself is why you enjoy yourself.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie D, Owner at The Druid Inn, responded to this review

Thankyou for your recent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us after a long day walking on the Offas Dyke Path. As you will be aware the Inn is approx 250 years old and we have had to compromise somewhat in order to make our rooms ensuite, it's a shame that you felt the rooms... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed at the Druid Inn in May 2014 whilst walking Offa's Dyke Path. My room named Dwyfi was nothing short of a box room. At £55 it was a total rip off. The senior staff one welcoming the other disinterested and cynical made my stay a bit of a trial especially as my background is In the hospitality business.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question