We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Hotel website
Hotel deals
827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    312
    160
    96
    61
See reviews for
244
276
27
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (953)
  • Mar-May only
    (238)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (293)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (228)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (194)
All months
Merritt Island, Fl
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here as part of a wedding group. It was convenient to the church and reception. Since it was the weekend, there was free parking on the street after 4:30pm on Friday. Parking at the hotel costs. There is a free bus to the waterfront, but it isn't a bad walk either. For being a historic hotel the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We’re very grateful that you took the time to provide us with this detailed feedback about your recent stay. Thank you for caring enough to help us, with the provided feedback, to improve our processes so that we can continue our daily quest to provide the best possible service to our guests. We fell short in some areas during your... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Spent 4 enjoyable nights at the Sheraton Read House. The staff both at the front desk and valet parking were friendly and efficient - all going an extra step to help. Housekeeping did a great job - very clean. My room was comfortable, sheets were soft, mattress and pillows slept well and great large screen tv. It is an older... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We’re delighted to hear of your comfort and care during your recent stay. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your experience with us and we want to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. We know that you have many hotel choices when you travel; we thank you... More 

Beacon, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful stay in a large corner room. Comfy bed. Even though this is an older, historic hotel, it was very well kept with plenty of amenities. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about local attractions and restaurants. Great history and ghost stories about hotel made it a fun place to say.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you found our staff to provide exceptional service during your recent stay. We’re happy that you found our central location convenient as well for your planned activities. We hope you will return and provide us with another opportunity to be of service! Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to Chattanooga.... More 

Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First off I must say valet staff was Excellent they were very helpful and always had a great attitude! When I walked in to the hotel I must say that it was very nice...Check in was smooth, but the person at the front desk who checked me in wasn't very helpful and didnt seem like she really wanted to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We’re very grateful that you took the time to provide us with this detailed feedback about your recent stay. Thank you for caring enough to help us, with the provided feedback, to improve our processes so that we can continue our daily quest to provide the best possible service to our guests. We are really sorry for the challenges you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel and had such a great experience! The team was so wonderful and took great care of my family. I worked with Phoenix and she was so incredibly sweet and had the most warm and happy personality. Excellent leader for the hotel! We also loved the valet team! They greeted us each time with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We’re delighted to hear of your comfort and care during your recent stay. It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your experience with us and we want to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. We know that you have many hotel choices when you travel; we thank you... More 

Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were doing business in Tennessee and we booked this hotel on a budget website (definitely couldn't afford full price). The amazing staff actually upgraded us to a Jacuzzi suite in the newer section of the hotel. We hardly left the room! While the view was of a parking garage, the large room and exploration we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your business and for your recommendation! It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your experience with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. We hope you will choose us again when you return to Chattanooga. Warm regards, More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Am presently staying at the Read House. The hotel quality is not the best but certainly acceptable given its age and the price. Biggest shock is the hit-or-miss treatment by staff. Some staff are excellent. Others are incredibly unhelpful and downright rude. Asked front desk for dinner recommendation and you would have thought I demanded the formula for cold fusion.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

Although we cannot speak to the disconnects you experienced here with our staff at this time, rest assured that we will conduct due diligence in finding out the details, so that we can use your experience during your recent stay to re-educate and re-train our team members. There is absolutely no excuse for rudeness to a valued guest. We genuinely... More 

Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here while on a business trip. Check in was smooth, as was check out. There were 4 people in our room, one king bed and a sofa sleeper. The king bed was very comfortable!!! Our room was suite-like and spacious. The decor was elegant, with a desk, TV armoire, coffee table, two comfy chairs and sofa sleeper. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, which we will use as a training tool for our staff. What a great gift you have given us, and we plan to use it well. We were happy to know that you found the hotel’s environment to be relaxing. We apologized for the challenges in the bathroom. Wi-Fi at the Read House is free... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything from the formerly lovely rust colored Tabriz carpeting in the hallway to the 50 shades of brown In our room made for an austere weekend. Shabby and dingy are the most charitable descriptors I can honestly use. The bath did not allow entry without contorting oneself into a corkscrew. And the bed was lumpy. The silver lining was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not find our hotel more aesthetically pleasing; we do adhere to the brand standards in our guestroom. In any case, it was nice to know that you experienced good service from the staff while here and you enjoyed the food at the Wedding and our great location in downtown Chattanooga. Thank you for writing.... More 

Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wanted to take the time to say thank you to everyone at your hotel. Everyone from check in to check out was excellent. Our room was clean, great view, beds comfortable and very welcoming. What more can you ask for the price and location. I will be sure to be back and tell my friends about this hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thierry g, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review

We’re glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing and mentioning our great staff. Thank you for sharing your memorable moments with us and thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your experience with us. Warm regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

314 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (279)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question