We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Chattanooga hotels

Sheraton Read House Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Read House Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Read House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #28 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
jimary81 Grayson, Georgia
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    241
    116
    70
    48
See reviews for
186
209
21
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

There was a very strong chemical smell when we arrived. That progressively got worse. Finally, at midnight I had to switch rooms.. I have a son with asthma who was coughing!! I can not believe what happened.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your comments regarding your stay. I would like to pursue the problem and discuss it with you. Please call me at (423) 313-3873 or by email at jen.prpich@sheratonreadhouse.com. I apologize for the problems you encountered and I would like to address the problems. Thank you, Jen Prpich, General Manager More

Grayson, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A historic hotel with comfortable clean rooms. However, it was unnerving to be one of a few families in the indoor pool area when there seemed to be a homeless person just sitting a table watching us. When my wife told the front desk there appeared to be a person who wasn't a guest of the hotel, she was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with TripAdvisor. We strive to exceed expectations and it sounds like we did not in your family's case by the response of one of our Front Desk team. We do pride ourselves on the extensive training we give our Front Desk agents and be assured... More

Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I reserved a Junior suite for my friend's bachelorette party last weekend. We got two queen sized beds, with a sitting room and two flat screen TVs. The beds were extremely fluffy and comfortable, comparable to a resort in Hawaii I stayed in a few years ago. The beds were set away from the door so we didn't hear much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your honesty is extremely appreciated! We are so glad that our champion valet team were able to make your stay enjoyable. We are even more overjoyed that you took the time to let us know how we didn't meet your needs. We have the process of a... More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

What a disappointment considering it's a sheraton. We booked thru priceline and this hotel was classified as 3.5 star. It was a steal, but I definitely would have paid extra money for a cleaner hotel. Wall paints are peeling. Rooms are moldy and dusty. Kept sneezing. Carpet was filthy Side of our bed mattress had huge stain One of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we failed to make your stay with us enjoyable. We are in the process of addressing the issues that you mentioned in your review, particularly regarding the cleanliness of your room. Because even though we are an old hotel, we are striving to make it a wonderful old hotel.... More

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We like Bed and Breakfast accommodations and boutique hotels with personality. The staff was friendly, our room as expected, and the common rooms and reception areas beautiful. The ambiance of this older historic hotel added to our experience. We loved the old phone booths in the lobby, and the beautiful woodwork! My husband thought he heard rattling pipes, but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our Chattanooga treasure, the Sheraton Read House. The little touches of this hotel do certainly make the difference! And, unfortunately, that Tax Man is everywhere! Gets us coming and going! Come see us again soon! More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a disappointment. The exterior and the lobby are historic and beautiful giving you the expectation that the rest of property would be as well. However the hallways are dirty, the pool area had molding falling off the wall leaving gaping holes. The bathroom, counter and wallpaper were filthy. Little things like missing laundry bag were overlooked by staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience here at the Sheraton Read House. I apologize for the many inconveniences and the lack of service that you experienced during your stay. We are truly a great old hotel and strive to please every one of our guests! In your case, we did not. Please contact me... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the sharation read house is nice but it is not worth the cost i have stayed at better 300.00 for weekend is a little much . the rooms are ok but nothing great . the beds are nice and soft rooms are big but that is about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We make every effort to accommodate every guest beyond their expectations and we obviously did not in your case. We will be undergoing renovations in the future and hope that you will consider staying with us again. More

Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were breaking up a long trip from Florida northward and decided to stay overnight in Chattanooga. The Sheraton there is on the historical registry and is a much older hotel than we are used to! We found it charming! Our 8th floor room was a suite that was a little dark for my taste but well furnished. Our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and your feedback on your experience at the Sheraton Read House. We are taking your comments regarding the appetizers in the club lounge to heart and are looking at what we can do to improve the lounge overall. Again, thank you again and we hope to see you again soon! More

Atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really 2.5 stars. We're Starwood regulars who were excited to visit Chattanooga. GREAT location. Historic hotel with large junior suite. We could live with it needing some updates. But the lack of basics (sheets!) and service was unacceptable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

First, thank you for your review. When we do not meet our guests' high expectations of our hotel, we seek out ways to correct the situation. In your particular case, I would like to discuss the problems you had with your stay. Please call me at (423) 313-3873 or email me at jen.prpich@sheratonreadhouse.com so that we can discuss. Thank you,... More

Canton, Georgia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Normally while in Chattanooga, we stay at another local chain hotel on their rewards program. This time, even though the chain had available rooms, those rooms were not available under the rewards program. Because of this, I got a chip on my shoulder and decided that if I was going to spend real money, I’d try a different hotel; and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jenea P, General Manager at Sheraton Read House Hotel, responded to this review

I must say that yours is one of the nicest reviews I have ever read about our Hotel. I thank you for taking the time to be so thorough and to point out the reception and feedback you got from our staff. And that Cody! What a great guy! We are lucky to have him! It is comments like yours... More

Been to Sheraton Read House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Read House Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton
Address: 827 Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#18 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Read House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Sheraton Read House Hotel Chattanooga is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Read House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Read House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.