We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Chattanooga hotels

Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
74%
Ranked #21 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
PlateauPrincess Deer Lodge, Tennessee
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    162
    75
    39
    21
See reviews for
140
105
18
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (512)
  • Mar-May only
    (121)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (164)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (162)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Deer Lodge, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow! I am super impressed with the hotel. It was beautiful, incredibly clean, and had a fast check-in/out. The staff was pleasant and so accommodating. We, of course, forgot something-our toothpaste. We asked if they had supplies for quests and two toothbrushes and paste were immediately delivered to our room. Then in 15 or 20 minutes, someone called to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Ruby Falls. The staff was great and the rooms were very clean. We had a room next to the elevator which was a little noisy if you're a light sleeper. They do charge $10.00 per day for parking in the garage and $14.00 per day to valet park in the garage. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is nice, but there are not many amenities. I specifically asked for a king bed and the front desk clerk said that it was a king. When I got to my room, it was two doubles. I didn't complain because honestly I was very tired. I just wanted to relax. Don't expect anything for breakfast unless you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

HI GburgfoodieQ Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit. I apologize for the mix-up at check-in with regard to your king bed request. With regard to breakfast, we offer a full-service restaurant, an on-site Starbucks, and for our Marriott Rewards Platinum and Gold elite members, we offer a concierge lounge, Monday-Friday mornings.... More

Bangor, Maine, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was not a bad stay at all but this Marriott is in need of an update. If I had stayed in it 10 years ago, I would have thought it was phenomenal but I realize that hotels have really upped their game in recent years! I have come to expect at least a refrigerator and maybe a couch or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Lisa N Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you found the hotel to be clean, quiet, and that you enjoyed the location. I'll also follow up on your specific constructive comments as well, and we appreciate you providing those, so we can improve. Thanks again for your business and for providing feedback regarding your stay. Tom Underwood... More

Lara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This average hotel looks fine in the web site and delivers with the standard of the rooms, although noisy as I could hear conversations in the rooms next to me and the early morning housekeepers chatting in the corridors. The location however is less than desirable as it is opposite a large run down Housing Project Park 500ft away. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Roger W I am very sorry for your experience in Chattanooga while you were staying with us last week. This is a very unusual occurrence in our neighborhood and I am sorry that it occurred. Based on your previous feedback, we have shared your experience with the city and our Convention and Visitors Bureau earlier this week, so that... More

Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night for business. The rooms are ok, our bathroom was shaped weird and extremely small, but workable. The beds and linens were great and this is what makes the hotel good. Our room was located next to the elevators and we was able to hear people talking in the am. If you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi diastolic Thank you for your review and your recent visit. I'll follow up on your feedback, but glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us and we'll hopefully see you again soon. Tom Underwood General Manager More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in Downtown. Not hugely busy part of town (yet - but it will be soon, this city is positively HUMMING!!) but great for business. Free city shuttle takes from the Dow to the aquarium, the riverfront, etc. Rooms are spacious, nice outlook. Coffee maker in room. No snacks. Plenty of TV. Not cheap and wifi is extra.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi BiddyNZ Thank you for your recent stay and for your review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location, as well as the shuttle and staff service. I'll share your comments regarding the food quality with our Food and Beverage Management, so they can review and follow up. Thanks again for your business and for... More

Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location, clean, comfortable rooms, and helpful staff. Other than the three false fire alarms, the stay was nice. I researched and concluded they had no control over the fire alarm issue. The no-cost city trolley service stops right outside which is convenient. Charging $6.95 daily for internet is absurd. All things considered, while I have no real issues with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi LAYoung Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your visit. I am very sorry for the fire alarms that occurred during your visit, but appreciate your understanding of why they occurred. I understand your concern also with regard to the internet cost. We do have packages available that include internet, and it's... More

St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a quick weekend getaway with my daughter and granddaughters. Location worked well and price was good because no conventions were booked for the holiday weekend. A short ride to Rock City or the waterfront. Girls enjoyed the indoor pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Ellen C Thank you for staying with us during your quick getaway weekend. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and accomodations, as well as the indoor pool. Thanks again for your business and for your review. Tom Underwood General Manager Chattanooga Marriott Downtown More

Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Writing this review only 4 hours into our 2 day stay. I'm a Marriott guy and usually enjoy my stays but so far I'm dissapointed. Valet and self parking are overpriced for location and City. Superman at the front counter seemed high on life - if you catch my drift. Not full service marriott like it claims to be. Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review

Hi HockeyDad2323 Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that we fell short in meeting/exceeding your expectations. I will review your bedding/pillow comments with our housekeeping management so that those issues can be addressed. Our parking costs are comparable to other downtown hotels, and we offer a covered/secured garage. I understand your... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plaza, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay