We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Chattanooga hotels

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Ranked #46 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Bill N Decatur, Alabama
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    466
    347
    283
    212
See reviews for
662
526
68
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1942)
  • Mar-May only
    (436)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (724)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (464)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (318)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars NEW

Stayed here for con nooga. It was very efficient for what we needed. They are in the middle of doing renovations so if you are looking for a newly remodeled place, this is not the place for you at this time. The choo choo does have a nice atmosphere to it. The staff is friendly. The rooms are cozy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Choo Choo last weekend. We always stay in one of the corner rooms in building 3, which is a very large suite for not much more than a regular room. The room was ready on time, and was perfectly clean. The garden tub provided a wonderful place to relax and unwind for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We recently used Priceline to find a place to stay in Chattanooga. The Chattanooga Choo Choo was advertised to be comparable to hotels we have stayed in before in Chattanooga and loved. However, the Choo Choo was very disappointing and very overpriced. The room was dingy and outdated, and the carpet was old and dirty.The bathtub leaked constantly. You could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. I will email you via TA. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here with a group from Titan so the hotel was not our choice,why Titan chose it we will never know!On arrival the sliding door was open,there were cobwebs on the wall,no bulbs in the table lamp,hole in the wall behind the bed,hole in bathroom door which was covered in paint splashes,bed cover not ironed,pillows poor quality,dirty door knobs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations, sounds like a similar review yesterday. I regret you were not one of the many happy guests during your stay. . We do cook in our new banquet kitchen every day. Again, we do over 87 buses from the UK each year and have for years. We have done business with... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in a regular king sized room and the bathroom shower/tub. We called to see if we could upgrade to a coach train instead because there were only about 3 couples staying in this large 5 level hotel building. They told us they'd shut off the water pipes in all the trains because of pipe problems. They upgraded us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry about the situation that occurred during your stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. Your comments have been addressed with that department. We know we have potential, that’s why we are reinvesting $8,000,000 into the property this year. I will be more than happy to speak about your visit. The guest service representative should have found a Manager on... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed, for two nights, at the Chattanooga Choo Choo as part of a southern sights tour (in our opinion this was two nights too many!) Obviously the idea of accommodation in this historic building is a wonderful idea and could be a truly magnificent experience, however, there is no way that this business should be in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I regret you did not see some of the improvements we are making. We do cook in our new banquet kitchen every day. We do over 87 buses from the UK each year and have for years. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is huge. It's a long trek from the lobby to your room. Everything is very old except the room furniture and television. It took a few minutes to get hot water in the shower. However, the bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Those are the 2 most important things to me for a hotel room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 star review! I am pleased that you had a clean comfortable room. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Lexington, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Choo Choo about 20 years ago. Stayed there last week for a night while in town on business. The hotel was clean, affordable, and comfortable. Once the renovations are completed, I plan to bring my wife back and stay in one of the train cars. My only complaint was the hallway noise. The location is right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 star review! I am pleased that you had a clean, comfortable and affordable room. Thanks for wanting to return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Chicago, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has alot of potential. Beautiful lobby area and gardens. The rooms are a nice size, but outdated. The rooms were also not very clean, both the bath tub and the sink were missing the drains and there was hair clogged in both. The dirt was very visible. I am hoping the management finds good help when the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for calling me back to discuss your stay. I am pleased that you will return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean, and the shower had hot water BUT. The room was outdated but I was on business and did not care but my wife would have. They are renovating so much of the attractions are closed. The bar did serve drinks but although located next tot he main restaurant it did not serve food. If you stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your clean room. We are making many changes and I hope you return in the future. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Train car(60)
  • Station house(26)
  • Indoor pool(20)
  • Breakfast buffet(16)
  • Very nice(16)
  • Electric shuttle(6)
  • Great Place(6)
  • Hotel room(6)
  • Hot tub(6)
  • Gardens restaurant(5)

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

640 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (628)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (242)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay