We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Chattanooga hotels

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Ranked #45 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Coastalmammal94
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    460
    341
    279
    211
See reviews for
662
516
68
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1923)
  • Mar-May only
    (435)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (724)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (464)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (300)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed two days got the room threw Priceline express deal and was terrified of what I may walk in to based on several bad reviews that I read I hope to put someone else's mind at ease by saying they the room was large clean the bed was firm big comfortable to me the only complaint was that I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 Star review and kind comments. I am so glad you were pleased with the Choo Choo. Thank you for not letting a couple of bad reviews steer you away. Over the past 4 years we have averaged 80% annually with the Customer Satisfaction Index. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Price is good and rooms are clean however beware of the noise coming from elevators if booked nearby. Always ok to see the room first before accepting it. In addition hotel has convenient places for entertainment and to eat nearby. Overall not bad for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 star review! I am pleased that you had a good experience. We are convenient to many eateries and shops... All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Choo Choo in a traincar room before Christmas. This was a wonderful family night and holiday experience. However, I cannot imagine visiting the hotel for any other reason. My 4.5 year old son thought that sleeping in a train car was the most magical part of the night, and their elf tuck-in experience was darling! If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great comment about the magical Christmas. It always is a hit at the hotel, especially the elf tuck in. . I am glad your son enjoyed the signature train car. Sorry about the information mix up. As for the rest of the complex, I can tell you that over the past 4 months our transient traffic has... More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a historical place and it's a real shame to be going down hill like this. Someone please step up and stop this madness. I would hope that it would be cleaner and friendlier but no. The only drawing point is the history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations. I regret you did not see all the improvements we are making. I will mail you via TripAdvisor. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here 01/16/15 through 01/18/15 for our daughters cheerleading competition. While checking in at the main lobby, we were all amazed at how beautiful it was. We were assigned room 4006 in building 3. When we walked in the first thing I saw was a roach on the bathroom floor! Second I noticed pubic hair in the bathtub! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for taking my call. I am pleased I had the opportunity to speak with you about your visit. Your room was inspected by the Rooms Director and Maintenance Director. We hope that you will give us another try. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were nice and big but felt dingy! Went to coke machines in all buildings NONE of them worked!! I have stayed in a lot better places for a quite a bit less!! We always book with Hotwire! GREAT restaurant next door!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us. Sorry about the vending situation. An outside vendor handles our vending machines and they normally check them 2 times a week. We always try to be the best hospitality value in the city. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the pleasure of staying at the Choo Choo hotel in Chattanooga on the way back home from a FL vacation a few weeks ago. Due to terrible traffic around Atlanta, we arrived much later than originally intended. It was close to 10PM when we arrived. Upon check-in we were greeted by a very friendly young woman at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Your Trip Advisor title is what we love to hear. Thanks for your great comments about your entire stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Thanks for your desire to return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I checked yesterday to see if this hotel had been demolished, I was hoping it was, but no it is still standing, it has to be the worst, dirtiest hotel that I have ever had the unfortunate encounter with I was part of a tour group that stayed here last September and I don't think that any of that group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry to see your comments on Tripadvisor. When your tour group was here September, we had 42 other rooms in house of our Tour and Travel market segment. We did not receive any other similar comments. Our Customer Satisfaction Index with Tripadvisor year to date is 79.8% All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is sad that a historic railroad station turned hotel has not been able to survive as it should have, possibly due to the economic conditions of the surrounding area. This is a large but lightly staffed hotel which under better conditions could be a fantastic place to stay. My wife and I opted to upgrade our reservation to one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations. As I have mentioned before, the Southside of downtown (our area) has undergone a revitalization with restaurants (5), retail and housing ($300,000+ condo’s next door) in the last couple of years. There are 2 buildings across the street that have been purchased and will be developed in the future. There have been... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel for my mums 50th Birthday. It was disgusting. I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I am not picky or stuck up but this hotel was in a league of its own. I know it is historic but that does not mean it can get away with being so bad. Area outside was very beat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. Thanks for emailing me back via TA . I researched your folio and see that you stayed in 2 rooms for 3 nights. I wish you had contacted us while you were here. We do a lot of business from the UK. A quote from a recent TA review: “It was... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Train car(61)
  • Station house(27)
  • Indoor pool(21)
  • Breakfast buffet(19)
  • Very nice(16)
  • Electric shuttle(6)
  • Great Place(6)
  • Hotel room(6)
  • Hot tub(6)
  • Gardens restaurant(5)

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Groupon, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

640 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (628)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (242)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (185)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay