We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Chattanooga hotels

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #35 of 95 hotels in Chattanooga
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
cindy p Jonesboro, Georgia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,702)
  • Photos (539)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (455)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    403
    277
    240
    182
See reviews for
606
437
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me my Daughter and Grandson stayed in the railcar and were blown away. The hotel is an amazing place to stay with all the history. My grandson was so excited with everything there. The employees were so friendly and helpful that we felt special. We are looking forward to going back. Its a beautiful place that all should experience. Location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very neat building and gardens. Beds were very uncomfortable and rooms are old. Atmosphere is fun but could not stay more than one night. Stayed in building one on first floor, parking was not great. Candy shop had a nice selection of sweets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Really wanted to say here but to be honest wish we had done further research and stayed somewhere else as we were somewhat disappointed. When we arrived we were not able to check in due to the hotel previous guests being allowed to have a late checkout at 1pm (the hotel had been full due to some convention). There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dalton, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family of four stayed at the Choo Choo last weekend. It was FANTASTIC! From making our reservations (highly recommend the Children's Fantasy package with all the attractions) to dinner at the Gardens restaurant on our last night our stay was perfect! Though there was a line when we checked in, it went quickly. Our room was in Hotel 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am pleased that you had a great experience. Thanks for the great comments about the staff. Your 5 star review means a lot to us. In the trailing 18 months, our in house email review system has 4,322 reviews and our CSI is 82.5% All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We traveled here for the BPA World Series, booked months ago and were promised all the boys and families would be together in building 3 only to find out that was a lie and were then told we would be in bldg 2 and then when we checked in were told oh but your family will be in bldg 1???... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I spoke to the woman who wrote this review, as previously mentioned in a similar review. I called her and she was at an amusement park that day and she told me that the sales person quoted a certain building ,which is not the case. We don’t promise buildings, what we promise is a room type. The comment about the... More

Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just finished the second night of my five night stay here and I am ready to switch hotels. The beds are the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. There is a small water leak in the bathroom ceiling, and although the leak isn't bothersome, there is evidence that it has been there a while. No telling what kind... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry about the situation that occurred. Why would you not call management if you have an issue? Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it. We rotate mattresses on a regular basis; also, they are replaced when necessary.... More

CArtersville, Georgia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Decided to visit the Choo Choo this past weekend! Spent Saturday night there, Shile making my reservations, i spoke with Vickie a the Choo Choo, she was very nice, she took her time explaining the types of rooms etc., they a very nice gentleman names Blake checked us in, helping to make sure that we got what we wanted. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Wonderful is great to hear. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff in your 5 STAR reviews. Thanks for not letting a few bad reviews keep you from visiting. We hear many similar comments from other guests. We look forward to your return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Gainesville, Missouri
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the choo choo on July 12th,2014. The hotel was very run down & dirty. Both elevators were broken in our building & we had to go to the other side of the building to use the other one. When it went up it felt like it was going to break down. The rooms seemed fine until my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. . I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. We are replacing elevators; however, there is another elevator near the center of the building. Many... More

Smyrna
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I called months ahead of time and reserved a block of room for our team in a particular building. I was very clear with Tonya [--] about the rooms we wanted and she promised that is what we would get. Well we didn't get what we asked for. They also didn't know about the free parking or continental breakfast we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I personally talked to you after you called me. The employee mentioned is a 17 year veteran Sales Manager with us. To discredit her like this is wrong. She did not promise the guest a certain building. We never promise buildings, what we promise is a room type. We had about 88 rooms of youth baseball this past week and... More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room is dank, has ever present smell of moisture, carpets are stained and bathroom floor and tile are scary. The elevators are broken down and require you to use the service elevator. You could stay at the lowest rate hotel, spend only 30.00 night and have the same conditions. Definitely deceptive advertising.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. There is no excuse that your room was not prepared properly. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it. We are replacing elevators; however, there is another elevator near the center... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chattanooga Choo Choo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Train car(88)
  • Station house(34)
  • Breakfast buffet(27)
  • Indoor pool(24)
  • Very nice(16)
  • Electric shuttle(6)
  • Great Place(6)
  • Hotel room(6)
  • Hot tub(6)
  • Gardens restaurant(5)

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

539 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (528)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (82)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (176)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
363

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer