We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Chattanooga hotels

Chattanooga Choo Choo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Hotel amenities
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chattanooga Choo Choo to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 98 Hotels in Chattanooga
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Cheri_RamadaPF
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    446
    322
    271
    208
See reviews for
651
498
66
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1878)
  • Mar-May only
    (435)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (724)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (459)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (260)
All months
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really wanted to like this property. There were a few positives but many negatives. Negatives- Rooms. We stayed in Building One. When we booked the trip we specifically asked to stay in one of the newer buildings but alas we were placed here. After a long trip, we didn't notice that we were in the old building until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Building 1 has not been updated since the 70's when it was built. Wallpaper in hallways was peeling off the walls, carpet was moist and seemed quishy, and the beds were double size (not queen). The location was not ideal. But the service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. We are going to renovate this building this Winter. This will be the second time this building has been renovated in the last 10 years. I will reach out to you via tripadvisor. Please call or email me. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

do not stay in this hotel unless you want to take bed bugs home with you. we moved to another hotel with 8 other couples from our tour group, all had dirty rooms and bed bugs. I would rate this hotel zero.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

May have building work going on but I think they should have started with the rooms, so dirty glad we only stayed one night, shame as the hotel has history, sorry but I could not recommend any one staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Barton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

i was in a group that booked for the last night of a tour. We were all looking forward to what we thought would be an unforgettable experience. It was for the wrong reason. Our room was filthy, had torn carpets, razors on the bathroom floor, it looked like only one of the beds had clean bedding and smelt disgusting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

I am sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. There were 46 other rooms with this UK tour group that stayed with us. I regret you were not one of the many happy guests that were here. This same room was rented 13 times this month prior to this arrival. The tour guide even said that these folks were very... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellant stay and excellant staff. The location was easy to get to and easy to hit downtown Chattanooga. They do have a free shuttle that will take you downtown, which is very nice. Love Chattanooga, can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 5 star review! I am pleased that you had an excellent stay. Chattanooga is a great city. Thanks for wanting to return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a train car at the Chattanooga Choo Choo during the peak of Fall colors. Our little boy loved staying on the train car and we loved the Fall colors. We walked across the street to the Hot Chocolatier and had dinner at the Terminal. Both are excellent! Chattanooga is really special in the Fall!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

“Train car fun” is what we like to hear. Thanks for your great comments about the Chattanooga. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us in one of our signature train car rooms. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Choo Choo for a weekend. The trip was a spontaneous one and we had a choice of hotels - but staying at the Choo Choo was like a trip down memory lane. The Victorian gardens are beautiful and the on site restaurant was very nice. There was some renovation in the lobby but it wasn't too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for your 4 star review! I am pleased that you had a lovely experience. Thanks for wanting to return. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Powell, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay, it was clean. At least. Otherwise, for a hotel billed as one of America's "historic hotels," it was a disappointment. Sure, the train station is historic, but even walking into that I got a feeling that upkeep is not high on the priority list of the management. My colleague and I were sent to Hotel #2, which involved a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, Front Office Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Thanks for emailing me back via TA. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with our hotel, but glad to hear it was clean. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action. We take your comments very seriously and it is our opportunity to improve our product and service. All... More

Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel is an awesome experience. The old Depot is picturesque and retains the old architecture and flavor. The train hotel rooms are comfortable and try to retain the Victorian flavor. The restaurants are good with reasonable prices. The gardens are pretty. I had a package with admission to area attractions and I recommend you do that also. The Train... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review

Awesome is what we like to hear. Thanks for your great comments about the Choo Choo. We appreciate you choosing to stay in our signature Train Car room. We hope that you will visit us again. All the Best, Jim Bambrey GM More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Train car(69)
  • Station house(30)
  • Indoor pool(23)
  • Breakfast buffet(23)
  • Very nice(16)
  • Electric shuttle(6)
  • Great Place(6)
  • Hotel room(6)
  • Hot tub(6)
  • Gardens restaurant(5)

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

616 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (605)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (176)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (248)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay