We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 95 Chattanooga hotels

The Chattanoogan

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Breakfast Starting at $1
The Chattanoogan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Chattanoogan to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #11 of 95 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Rusty S Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    167
    75
    34
    27
See reviews for
150
195
19
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (618)
  • Mar-May only
    (172)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (201)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (128)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel has great hospitality and customer service. It has a very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. It also has a great buffet breakfast and lunch menu. Hotel is easily accessible from all parts of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

I appreciate the kind words about our hotel! I know you have many options, and I am glad you chose us. Thank you, for sharing your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. It is great to read that you got to enjoy each of our on-site dining options. There is a lot to like about our... More

Murfreesboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel and conference areas. Rooms are well decorated and spacious. The cold water in the bathroom sink is lukewarm at best. I personally think the bed is uncomfortable. All areas and room are very clean. I could hear the person in the next room turning their light switch on and off. All the personnel I came in contact with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent business stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed the conference areas and your guest accommodations, we regret that your stay was not perfect in every way. Please accept our sincerest apologies. We have shared your review with our entire team. It is our hope to have... More

Gardendale, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While staying at the Chattanoogan I miss placed my cell phone on Saturday night .Thinking it was in my car I waited till Sunday morning to look .while looking for phone a man staying at the hotel came up and said he found my phone next to my car and turned it in at the front desk. they have that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

We at The Chattanoogan are extremely sorry that your cellphone was misplaced when you were staying with us on Saturday night and that it has not been located since one of our employees took it to the security office. We have reviewed our security cameras and can find no evidence of the phone being stolen. We are working with the... More

Athens, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I recently stayed here as part of a wedding party. I was traveling with my husband and two daughters, 8 and 2. We reserved a mountain suite and although the room was clean and fairly well appointed it lacked a certain polish to make it feel indulgent. The feel of the room was more utilitarian and might... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your detailed review. Your thoughtful review and recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel means a great deal to us -- thank you for sharing your feedback! We are truly pleased your family enjoyed everything about your recent visit, from the spacious room and helpful staff to breakfast at The Broad Street Grille and our other amenities. We’re so... More

Nashville, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love to stay at the Chattanoogan when I work in Chattanooga. It is conveniently located near a variety of fun activities for all ages. Chattanooga has become quite a foodie town, and there are great restaurants within walking distance. The free shuttle on the corner can take you downtown for family fun in just a few minutes. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

We love that you described The Chattanoogan hotel as a "gem." It is a real treat to learn how much you enjoyed the accommodations and location while staying at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent business stay. We look forward to your next visit. More

Atlanta, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I previously wrote a negative review about the customer service at the Chattanoogan. We stayed for our anniversary and there was a fire that occurred and really caused a lot of chaos. The hotel did not handle our situation appropriately, which upset me. Since my last review, the Chattanoogan reached out to me and offered my husband and I an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we do apologize for your experience. We truly hope one day you will stay with us again so that we can offer you "The Chattanoogan Experience." More

Nashville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean & impressive. We have a toddler so we used the pool in the evenings and watched the sunset and a view of The mountain. Great beds. Great value... Great location. Great stay. Not one complaint.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your review. We’re so glad you had a pleasant stay filled with friendly service at The Chattanoogan hotel. It is great that you enjoyed our location in Chattanooga as well as our pool. Thank you for sharing thoughts; we will be sure to pass along your review to the other departments. Please come back again soon. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at The Chattanoogan. It is perfectly located in the city with a short walk or ride on the free electric shuttle to most attractions. The staff was extremely helpful from the housekeeping staff to the staff at the Broad Street Grill. The food was top end with all fresh ingredients. Our room was very clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your detailed review. I appreciate the kind words about our hotel! I know you have many options, and I am glad you chose us. We are proud to have been able to help you enjoy our area. Providing superb service is our goal every day every guest. I am glad you noticed the perks of our location.... More

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was nice and clean but it lacked a fridge and microwave . The bed was great but the pillows were hard. Very nice pool but the steps to get out were way too high making it difficult for this old woman to get out. Was not informed about a breakfast buffet, only learned of of it reading reviews.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

Thank you, for your candid review. We hope you’ll accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. It is clear we missed a key opportunity to deliver the outstanding guest experience we want for our guests. Receiving feedback from our guests, positive or otherwise, gives us the ability to constantly improve upon the experience we provide and for that we... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Chattanoogan is in the center of downtown Chattanooga, connected to the Broadstreet Grill. My husband and I stayed 1 night while passing through the city since neither of us had stayed there before. The first thing I noticed was the hotel was difficult to find because it does not look like a hotel on the outside. I is plainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review

We are deeply disappointed to read that your recent stay did not impress you in every way, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your visit. We will share your comments with our entire team to make certain we continue to provide top-notch service and well-appointed accommodations to our valued customers. Thank you for... More

Do you own or manage The Chattanoogan?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(10)
  • Parking garage(4)
  • Breakfast buffet(4)

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Chattanoogan

Enlarge Map