We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel deals
Hotel website
400 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Announcement
Choose Your Room!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga \/ Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Michigan
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for our first night on our way to Florida. We stayed on Hilton Honors points and when we got to the hotel David welcomed us, thanked us for staying and being HH members, and upgraded us to a beautiful 4th floor corner suite (#411) with lovely balcony. I must say, we stayed a total... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chattyaholic
Knoxville, Tn., United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel. Great breakfast and super nice attendants. Parking was our only problem plus finding the check-in area was difficult. Convenient to a lot of nice areas in downtown Chattanooga. Would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay despite some check in confusion. Please, contact me with what specific difficulties you had with parking. We have two designated areas to park during registration with signs directing Guests. Once you have checked in, your keys will allow you unlimited access to the parking deck. I hope... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on January 17, 2016, with my two minor daughters. The place was pleasant and clean with a really nifty indoor/outdoor pool and great free breakfast. The location was excellent, and it was fun walking around downtown. We will be staying here again soon!

Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Carrie D, Thank you for your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and plan to return. I hope to meet you on your next visit. I am typically visible throughout breakfast each day. Thank you for your business! More 

Chattanooga, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was spacious. Few minor problems with safe and phone. We were there for one night so didn't impact us much. conveniently located to downtown. Breakfast was good. Gym is nice. Having designated hotel parking is a nice perk.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Leslie M, Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay despite a few minor problems. I hope that you informed the staff so that we could rectify your phone and safe issues. We never want to be just pretty good. Anytime humans are involved, there are going to be some mistakes occasionally. We would... More 

Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I travel almost weekly and gave up on Hamptons a long time ago for Garden Inns and the like. Our client put us in this hotel although I wasn't really looking forward to it. From the moment I walked in the door I was very pleasantly surprised! The hotel is about 5 years old but actually seems newer. With a... More 

Helpful?
Thank bclarke292
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear bclarke292, Thank you for your review. I am glad that we could change your mind about Hamptons! Thank you for mentioning the staff. I am lucky to work with such a great time. Please, reach out to me on how we can get that 5th star from you. I hope you choose to stay with us again. Thank you... More 

Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I don't typically stay at Hamptons and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It is fairly new with a very contemporary decor. It was freezing cold so we didn't go into their courtyard but they have an outdoor fireplace, fountain, seating and an indoor/outdoor pool. We will be traveling through Chattanooga in April and plan to stay there again. it... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kathy A, Thank you for the amazing review! I am happy that you will be returning, and hope that I meet you. Hopefully, it won't be freezing, and you will be able to enjoy the fire pits and pool.Thank you for your business! More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We like to stay here because it is a very nice hotel. I was quite disappointed this time because of the cigarette smoking going on in the hotel it seems that a few people think they need to smoke in the rooms and have the window open to blow the smoke out. We. Know how hard it is to control... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank terry w
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear terry w, Thank you for your review. I apologize that other Guests tainted your stay with us, and it wasn't resolved to your satisfaction. We take great strides to eliminate smoking. In addition to charging the Guest $250, we take the room offline, and treat it from top to bottom. We do not return it to operational until there... More 

Cookeville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff of the hotel were extremely helpful in meeting our needs. I came in for business meetings but brought my family with us. They help me get into a suit at an affordable rate and allowed for a 2pm check out so my kids could wait in room until my lunch meeting was over.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy M
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Timothy M, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you and your family choose to stay with us again. Thank you for your business! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place was perfect! I brought some friends to Chattanooga to visit downtown and the aquarium, and the hotel staff was very helpful getting us acquainted with the area and getting us aquarium tickets. The lobby is awesome..lot's of TV's if you want to watch sport, plenty of seating, and free cookies and fruit. Our room was stylish and tidy,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Scott S, Thank you for your review. I am very happy that you and yor friends had such a great time! I look forward to meeting you on your next visit, and I am honored that we are your go to hotel in Chattanooga. Thank you for your business! More 

north_alabama
Level Contributor
234 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here a few times in the past and have never been disappointed. Great location and the staff always friendly and helpful. This particular stay was a bit crowded though for some cheerleading competition. Because of this the breakfast in the morning was very crowded and busy. Understandably the food was not at it's best as I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank clemson_grad79
Scott S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review

Dear clemson_grad79, Thank you for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay! Please, let me know what we can do to earn that 5th star from you. I apologize that you felt breakfast was not its best during your stay. That is very atypical. Handling large volume is actually the norm here. On most days, if you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

435 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (302)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (43)
Viewed
Double Queen Studio Suite - Corner Balcony (63)
Viewed
King Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#10 of 97 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay