We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3901 9th Avenue SE, Watertown, SD 57201
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    20
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
7
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Huron, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The stay was great! Except for the crabby lady that worked in the breakfast area. She was by far the rudest person I have ever come in contact with in my entire life. If you are that unhappy with your job, quit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, but sorry you received a pool level of service. I have addressed these issues with our breakfast staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a hopefully improved level of customer service.... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was comfortable and the staff was nice. The breakfast was always available right at 6am. I stayed here for a few months while on a work assignment and they entire staff was very accommodating. The only draw back is the hotel has indoor a pool/rec area that is very busy on the weekends. This means a ton of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Our busy waterpark amenity does get a lot of use by families on the weekends. Our staff does try their best to calm the little one's excitement. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having... More 

Pinehurst, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I read on TA that several folks didn't have a very good experience at this location but that wasn't my experience. The host staff was outstanding. I had made a reservation over the phone and 300 miles away and was having trouble getting my member number right. Not wanting to waste time on the call, I completed the transaction. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you found Rachel at our front desk to assist you with your reservation. We do look forward to serving your travel needs at our property should you return to the area. More 

Fruita, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rates way too high for what you get. You sign a two page contract to stay there with so many rules you want to consult a lawyer. Rule bound and rude, the staff treats you like a servant not a customer. Go stay at the comfort inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We apologize you felt our staff was rule bound and rude. During tournament weekends we give out guidelines to guests to ensure all guests experience a quiet and pleasant stay. We are sorry you were offended it was not our intent. We love our guests want our hotel to be one... More 

Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Room rates way too high for this hotel. My family and I stayed two nights at this hotel and the only reason we stay the second night is because we had non refundable reservations. We had room 124 which is a two room suite and it was gross. The couch was so dirty and worn I didn't want my kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We sorry you were not pleased with your accommodations. We wished you would have advised us of your dissatisfaction, as we would have been moved you to a different room. Our breakfast staff works hard to keep hot food available to our guest and usually have fresh food replenishing the buffet. We do hope... More 

Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

After a long day of riding motorcycle it was like stepping into paradise. The staff were friendly. The hotel was very clean. Enjoyed the jacuzzi in the room. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome. The breakfast was good. Yes we will stay here again. Travel safe...

Was this review helpful? Yes
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a motorcycle friendly hotel and always have cleaning rages, a hose and cleaning products for our guests. We do hope you stop in and visit us again. More 

Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

We got a King Suite with a couch Hide A Bed. Open the Hide A Bed and found HUGE urine stain on the mattress pad! Not sure why that got overlooked while cleaning rooms. We wanted to use that for our daughter to sleep on. The overall cleanliness of the room was actually pretty good. Not worth the $150/night rate.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Dear mcj413, We appreciate you sharing your experiences with regards to your stay at our hotel. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and it is nice to read that the overall cleanliness of the room is up to your par. However, it is regrettable if the condition of the hide abed and breakfast... More 

Stockton, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Check in was fine but our first room heater didn't work.Other than room change every thing was fine.breakfast was fine and person in charge was very good keeping food supplied.Hotel in good location easy interstate access.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

as far as being a business traveller this location has proven to be the worst my company stays at Holiday Inn Express all the time without problem this location seems to have an inability to keep the place quiet.-- last night there were 11 or 12 girls under the age of 10 in the room next to me I heard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Dear Shannonfeland, Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We are always happy to provide a consistently clean, comfortable and courteous place for our guests. However, please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations due to the noise.... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Another exciting time in Watertown, OK I am kidding Watertown is not a hot bed of activity in the dead of winter. This s a very nice HIE if you have kids you are splitting the cost between a hotel and entertainment so bring the pack and have a great time by the pool! So here are some thoughts: I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 11 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
20.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#3 of 11 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay