We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Watertown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
3901 9th Avenue SE, Watertown, SD 57201
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Watertown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here the evening of January 23, 2016. Our original plan was to stay in Sioux Falls, SD for the evening but changing weather and road conditions forced us to stay in Watertown. This HIE was very similar to the HIE we stayed in the previous evening in Fargo, ND, I would wager they are part of the same... More 

Helpful?
Thank 6500410
Forman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

The room was spacious the pull out couch was horrible but the beds comfortable, the pool was freezing talked with staff and said they have been having issues with it. The water slide is not available till 5pm thats if they have a lifeguard available and closes at 11pm. The breakfast was by far the best part of the stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael P
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Dear Michael P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay with us. We are glad that you liked our breakfast selection and that you found our beds to be comfortable. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding our pool and pull-out... More 

s.tilllman valley
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

As usual the service is great,breakfast also. Rooms were clean. You can tell its an older hotel . Just a bit of a problem with ac unit and slow running drains. Otherwise great. if you stay in Watertown never get gas as soon as you get off the interstate. Go to the station by Holiday Inn Express, 20 cents cheaper

Helpful?
Thank kat234-12
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Fort Worth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

Said I was upgraded but was one strange room. Looked like I was staying in a trailer house. Way too expensive for this place. Didn't look like it was an actual HIE branded hotel. The country inn on the other side of the freeway is a much better deal and cheaper

Helpful?
Thank RDavisFortWorth
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and apologize you were not satisfied with your room type. We have many different room styles/types. We do hope the next time your travels bring you to the area you will stay with us. We would love to see you have a... More 

Huron, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

The stay was great! Except for the crabby lady that worked in the breakfast area. She was by far the rudest person I have ever come in contact with in my entire life. If you are that unhappy with your job, quit!

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

I appreciate the review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, but sorry you received a pool level of service. I have addressed these issues with our breakfast staff. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience a hopefully improved level of customer service.... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The hotel was comfortable and the staff was nice. The breakfast was always available right at 6am. I stayed here for a few months while on a work assignment and they entire staff was very accommodating. The only draw back is the hotel has indoor a pool/rec area that is very busy on the weekends. This means a ton of... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovelife40
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Our busy waterpark amenity does get a lot of use by families on the weekends. Our staff does try their best to calm the little one's excitement. Our guest's satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having... More 

Pinehurst, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

I read on TA that several folks didn't have a very good experience at this location but that wasn't my experience. The host staff was outstanding. I had made a reservation over the phone and 300 miles away and was having trouble getting my member number right. Not wanting to waste time on the call, I completed the transaction. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank TOM A
staff16, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so happy to hear you found Rachel at our front desk to assist you with your reservation. We do look forward to serving your travel needs at our property should you return to the area. More 

Fruita, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

Rates way too high for what you get. You sign a two page contract to stay there with so many rules you want to consult a lawyer. Rule bound and rude, the staff treats you like a servant not a customer. Go stay at the comfort inn.

Helpful?
Thank keptman2014
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our property. We apologize you felt our staff was rule bound and rude. During tournament weekends we give out guidelines to guests to ensure all guests experience a quiet and pleasant stay. We are sorry you were offended it was not our intent. We love our guests want our hotel to be one... More 

Travelers are raving about these Watertown hotels

Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

Room rates way too high for this hotel. My family and I stayed two nights at this hotel and the only reason we stay the second night is because we had non refundable reservations. We had room 124 which is a two room suite and it was gross. The couch was so dirty and worn I didn't want my kids... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lampros4409
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We sorry you were not pleased with your accommodations. We wished you would have advised us of your dissatisfaction, as we would have been moved you to a different room. Our breakfast staff works hard to keep hot food available to our guest and usually have fresh food replenishing the buffet. We do hope... More 

Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
216 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

After a long day of riding motorcycle it was like stepping into paradise. The staff were friendly. The hotel was very clean. Enjoyed the jacuzzi in the room. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was awesome. The breakfast was good. Yes we will stay here again. Travel safe...

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
staff16, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Watertown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a motorcycle friendly hotel and always have cleaning rages, a hose and cleaning products for our guests. We do hope you stop in and visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Watertown
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Watertown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Watertown
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
#5 of 11 in Watertown
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
20.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Watertown
Days Inn Watertown
#4 of 11 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay