We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frontier Cabins Motel

#2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Frontier Cabins Motel
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    332
    82
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
177
172
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (442)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (279)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
nyc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were suppose to stay here for 2 nights but with a cancelled connection from Denver we arrived the following day. Picked up groceries from Dons in Rapid City then headed East for the easy hours drive to Wall and Frontier Cabins. We toured the Badlands until 6 pm and then as the sky was darkening we checked in. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful cabin and great location to get into the badlands park. Porch on the front of the cabin for sitting outside was great. Breakfast included was OK. Appreciated the bag of ice everyday. Very close to drive to Wall drugs and downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The very best part of this cabin was the location. When you are done with the Badlands National Park (if you start on the East side and exit out of the west/north side), you literally drive up to this hotel. Our cabin was cute - and I LOVED how it faced a field, for privacy. We had a couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frontier_Cabins, Volunteer Office Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We love to hear the good from our guests. I have no solution for your poor cell phone reception. That is out of our control. We know that cell phones never work inside the gift shop/office building. The telephone company says it is the metal building and nothing can be done about it. We haven't... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The website pictures of these cabins are really misleading! They are beautifully decorated and well appointed! There was absolutely nothing we needed. We stayed there on a very stormy night and lost electricity until about 4:00 a.m. Management adjusted our rate the next morning and even held open their breakfast hour for us. Breakfast (although called "continental breakfast") was excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night on our way to Wyoming. The cabin was decent. The carpet was very dirty/stained. They have a nice play ground for children. The breakfast in the morning left a lot to be desired. The biscuits and gravy were cold and the employees had just put the food out. Everyone was warming up their individual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontier_Cabins, Volunteer Office Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry for the dirty carpet. We had them all cleaned but, because of the rain this season, people have tracked in. We do vacuum daily and clean them as time inbetween guests allows. The breakfast is advertised as a Continental ? Yes! Please accept our apology. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in Cabin #28 - it was a very nice cabin. Clean, quiet, nice furniture, a view over the grassland. It was at the far end of the complex in a corner so not a lot of cars going by. Loved sitting on the little porch at night and relaxing. They offer a continental breakfast - it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love these cabins, and stay here every chance we get. We arrived on June 10th, we had no reservation, and had gotten 2 Queen beds. Upon our entry, my wife noticed things left behind, things that should be taken out, if the room was cleaned. That is when we found out that it was not in fact cleaned, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frontier_Cabins, Volunteer Office Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review

We apologize for the housekeeping issues you expeerienced. Steps have been put in place to correct this problem. We hope you will stay with us again. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Clean cabin. Couldn't find our reservation as computer had crashed. Office staff seemed distracted because of the computer problem. Parking was tight between cabins, particularly for corner cabins . Will stay elsewhere in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frontier_Cabins, Volunteer Office Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review

We have no control over when a computer might crash. The staff was working diligently to restore not only your reservation but the hundreds of others that was affected by the crash. The parking was designed by the architect and some spaces on the corner may be a little tight but most are adequate. More 

minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at Frontier Cabins every year since it opened (2008). We have never had anything at all to complain about until we stayed there last week. If I knew the address of the owner, I would write to them personally, could not find any address other than the location of the cabins. Trust me, I am not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frontier_Cabins, Office Manager at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review

Although we regret that your stay at Frontier Cabins Motel failed to meet your expectations the points you make are well taken. Yes, our manager and desk clerk were very intent on getting not only your reservation but hundreds of others reservations set back up in the computer as quickly and accurately as possible. To accomplish this it takes full... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was looking for something different for an overnight visit with two grandboys. These cabins are unique and decorated in a heavy western décor. The sofa bed was OK for the boys, but the queen bed was hard to get in and out of because of the heavy log frame. And it could use a new mattress. Breakfast was served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (199)
Viewed
Room/suite (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities