We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shade Valley Camp Resort

East of Sturgis on Highway 34, Sturgis, SD 57785
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgis
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Shade Valley Camp Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Newport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2015 was our 1st time at Shade valley. My wife and I traveled from Maine and stayed 2 weeks at a tent site with power and water, there were trees for shade, clean bath facilities, I had a flat tire and the staff happily help me get it fixed. Our neighbors were from Texas and are now friends we stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Twistntrout
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shade Valley. Our staff works diligently at keeping our entire facility clean and in good working order - especially our bathrooms and showers. I am glad that you found them "up to snuff" as well. Because there are so many great people that stay at Shade Valley, and they form memorable friendships, many... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

2015 was my second trip to Sturgis for the rally. The first time we stayed at the Chip. Let me tell you if you are looking for a party, the chip is the place to go; however, the restrooms were disgusting and the campground was a dirt field with no trees whatsoever! This time we decided we'd stay at Shade... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott D
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed during the 75th annual Black Hills Rally and were very pleased with our cabin and the campground amenities. Being in the edge of town was a nice place to relax at night (amongst 1M other bikers). The staff was great. Security was a priority and they had everything you needed right there. Eye Candy Saloon was fun and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LWork
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at Shade Valley. We are pleased you had a great time. Our staff tries very hard to be welcoming and provide you the best stay ever. The 2016 rally is looking to be another great year and hope you will stay with us next August. I look forward to hearing from... More 

Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

We stayed at this campground (tenting) after reading the past reviews and receiving a recommendation from a friend. The Good: 1. The planning and reservation experience was excellent and helpful, as was the check-in staff. 2. The young lady who ran the laundry service was Excellent! She worked very long days without complaint and helped campers out as much as... More 

Helpful?
Thank TBow5683
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With this year being the 75, we did have a lot of people stay with us and it was our desire to make sure we maintained our bathrooms and restrooms to a high standard of cleanliness. I agree we did have a couple of wrinkles in making sure... More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

The RV sites were huge. We had two RV sites which had plenty of room for both RVs, 6 motorcycles, 2 pick up trucks with a lane between them, are large tent and seating areas. We could have put even more in them. They take "The Quiet Campground" title seriously. We witnessed a man being evicted for having a screaming... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BobbiOh_SanDIego
ShadeValley, General Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the size of your site and the fact that you could get a good night's sleep. And the problem you cited at registration - was a chronic one during some of peak checkin dates, We couldn't get the registration cards filed in a timely manner before someone else in that group was waiting to check-in.... More 

Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Although its a little outside of town its worth the 10 mile scoot to get to it. I have never had that much room at a campsite honestly. We trailered this time and you can park the trailer, truck and bike three across and still have room. What a great place to come home to. The showers are a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark I
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Shade Valley. We are 10 miles outside of Sturgis city limits - close enough for a quick ride to the Main Street activities, but just far enough away from the all-night party crowd. Our emphasis is to provide a clean and well maintained facility in a safe environment. There are plenty... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This is the 2nd time we stayed at Shade Valley (2012 & 2015) We stayed in a cabin both times. The air mattresses are always a bit of a surprise but work well enough. The campground is very clean and the staff takes great care in emptying the trash cans that are outside your cabin area on a regular basis.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dinah W
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Shade Valley. Our staff is very diligent in cleaning bathrooms and showers - and picking up garbage on an ongoing basis. With this year being the 75th Anniversary, then number of attendees did offer a few challenges and one of them was keeping up on the coffee demand. But after... More 

Joelton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

First was told it was shady. Campsite was out in the open and no shade at all. Only one set of showers located a very long way from camping site. They were clean however and short line at night. In our campground, only one male and one female restroom for maybe 1500+ people. At least 10+ person wait every morning.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HawgDaddy30
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you taking time to share your experience at Shade Valley. Our RV Sites do not have very many trees - if any in them - mostly because we do not want to create obstacles for our guests in pulling/backing their RV into place. However we have acres and acres of trees in our non-electrical tent sites and in most... More 

Moores Hill, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed her in 2013 and came back for the 75th Sturgis Rally in 2015. Love this campground. The people are so friendly...food vendor is good...clean showers. Guys loved the zip line! We stayed in a premium cabin this time with bathroom and it was well worth it. We will be back hopefully next year with our RV. Love the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl F
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review of your stay at Shade Valley. Our staff is diligent in keeping our bathrooms clean, and responding to guests' needs as they arise. Our food vendor brought many unique menu items as that guests felt like they had a choice in ordering different items from normal rally entrees. I am happy to hear that... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Shade Valley. The live music and bars make staying in camp area very easy. If you want to go into Sturgis there is a bus to take you (which is a great idea and very easy). The camp ground is very clean and shower areas very clean. The only thing I wish would have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iowagirl66
ShadeValley, Manager at Shade Valley Camp Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shade Valley. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our staff works hard to make sure it is a positive experience for everyone. This year did offer its challenges and our food vendor worked overtime to try and be prepared for the crowds. Hopefully we will do a better job on that one... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sturgis
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sturgis Inn
12.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
21.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
11.1 mi away
No Name City Luxury Cabins & RV, LLC.
12.0 mi away
Rush-No-More Campground
Rush-No-More Campground
#5 of 12 in Sturgis
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities