We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Spearfish hotels

Super 8 Spearfish

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Super 8 Spearfish
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Spearfish to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jon W Valley City, North Dakota
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    56
    36
    15
    8
See reviews for
72
61
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Valley City, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Spearfish Super 8 last night. I arrived late to find the desk clerk anticipating my arrival and my room (and more importantly, my bed) ready to receive my weary body. The entire facility is spotlessly clean inside & out, smells fresh, was very quiet....all in all a tremendous contrast to the complete disaster that is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Wing, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at a few Super 8's this one was decent compared to most. The room was clean and good sized. The pool was nice; I was not happy with the home style hot tub. The breakfast was just okay, could be better compared to other places we stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed there because we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waseca, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Actually, this place is much nicer than the average Super 8. Problem is, that's not saying much. The good: The pool area is very nice, and it feels more like a Ramada or Holiday Inn. Not the usual "Black Hole of Calcutta" that is all too standard in today's Super 8's. The room was clean and comfortable enough, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I live here in Spearfish and the pipes burst in our basement, so my children and I were going to be without running water for 4 days until it could get fixed. My sister got us a room here and she joked that she knew it "wasn't the nicest," but we got there and it was great! The staff at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fayette, Alabama
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently going to see my daughter for Christmas I stopped here on my journey to Wyoming. The area is awesome, BLM Lands for outdoor fun abound. The entire experience was great EXCEPT my grand daughters never got to swim because the grown ups were out of control with the jumping and diving,m Etc. My room was great and very comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gillette, wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lack of following hotel rules by other guests and no help for those who were there to enjoy themselves!!!

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

All was good except they were refilling the hot tub so I spent time in the nice pool.Good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our award-winning motel. We are pleased that you found the property to be 5 star! We look forward to having you visit again soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My family and I visit Spearfish on a routine basis and have been trying out different motels in the area. This was our first stay at the Super 8 and quite honestly our last. I'm not out to bash the place but must admit I was disappointed in few things such as the location, over powering smell of chlorine, staff... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the experience you were looking for at our award winning motel. We strive to make the guest stay one that they enjoy. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the Black Hills. More 

Germantown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

loved the location, the staff very friendly, rooms were clean and quiet. The only thing was the breakfast was not good at all

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review, we enjoyed having you stay with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you come back and visit. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super 8
Spearfish Super Eight

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay