We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crow Peak Lodge

346 W. Kansas Street, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    12
    34
    18
    8
    13
See reviews for
18
37
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The good - The staff was nice and gave me some restaurant recommendations. The room was clean. The price was very reasonable. The not-so-good - There was no remote for the A/C unit which was located over the sink. The young lady who came to turn it on got up on the sink and used a hanger to poke the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I were on our way to Montana and were tired and needed a place to stay. After reading reviews, I called this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised. The couple that I'm assuming were the owners, couldn't have been friendlier; and gave us good advice on dinner plans. The room was clean and comfy, shower was awesome! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights in the Standard Queen room. Very cute! There were a lot of workers that stayed there so parking was a bit of a problem, but we made it through. Nice cook out deck area, and they are doing some improvements. Don't count on the breakfast, but you can't have everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The price was fantastic. We got a clean room with a comfortable bed. The staff was very helpful and recommended a wonderful restaurant within walking distance. On the downside, the Internet was pretty non-existent, but the breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Spearfish on a budget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a lot going for it, not just the price (we paid about $66, including tax, for a 2-queen nonsmoking room), but it has issues too. What we liked: big spacious room, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, table w/2 chairs, recliner, comfortable beds, plenty of firm pillows, good TV, decent water pressure in the shower, and we could park right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We reserved a room during the Black Hills Rally. Of course it was to expensive to start with but we expected that. What we did not expect was to pay $280.00 for a prison cell. The room very small and looked like it was a converted closet. It was at the top of a steep, small staircase inside the building.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

John Y, thank you for your review. I also would not be happy to stay in the room you had described. Since we are not a large property and the fact we take all reviews seriously, your review provided enough information to determine when you stayed as well as the potential rooms you may have stayed in, it prompted me... More 

Travelers are raving about these Spearfish hotels

Plainfield, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I arrived at the end of the motorcycle rally and stayed here for five nights, riding the back roads of the Black Hills after the crowds had disappeared. The location of the hotel is fantastic- near downtown Spearfish and with plenty of space for parking. Spearfish Canyon, Devil's Tower, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore are an easy ride from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Craig W, thank you for your review describing your stay. We are glad you had a nice time at our property during your five-nights in the Black Hills. As you mentioned, our location is good for people who want to stay in a convenient location yet want to enjoy a quiet night's sleep in a clean comfortable room. The laundry... More 

Plymouth, Mn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Paid good money to stay in a remodeled closet. The room was obviously added on as a way to create one more space to rent. It was small, laid out poorly and really overpriced. The bed was pushed against the corner to make room to walk around it and the AC was in the bathroom right next to the toilet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Patrick4375, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that room 211 was a bit small for your liking. To be honest, we usually leave it as our last Junior Single Queen room to rent, and as you had indicated, it was the last room available at the time you booked. I agree with you -... More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked a room back on March for Sturgis Rally, we are a little early to check-in room was not ready that's okay we are able to walk around Spearfish little town. when we come back our room is ready and it's up- stair of old house, one queen bed, the room is very small one little tiny window i don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Dogiedog, thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We understand that the first room you received (Room 211) was a bit small. Indeed, it is the smallest of our Junior Queen rooms and is perfect for someone who is looking for an inexpensive room for a night. It is good for one or two people... More 

Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Dad and I found this place while on an Epic roadtrip... our day started out in Montana, we had visited the site of Custer's Last Stand, and on Devil's Tower. After leaving the tower we were bound for Mount Rushmore, when we decided to bunk down in Spearfish for the night. The rooms are a bit older, but very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Aaron R, it was great to meet you and your dad on your epic road trip! We understand there is so much to see in this part of the country. We appreciate you staying with us, and also taking some time from your trip to provide a review of your stay. Since we were a Travelodge until June of this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay