We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crow Peak Lodge

2.0 of 5 346 W. Kansas Street, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crow Peak Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
The Crow Peak Lodge
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    16
    8
    12
See reviews for
18
36
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We reserved a room during the Black Hills Rally. Of course it was to expensive to start with but we expected that. What we did not expect was to pay $280.00 for a prison cell. The room very small and looked like it was a converted closet. It was at the top of a steep, small staircase inside the building.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

John Y, thank you for your review. I also would not be happy to stay in the room you had described. Since we are not a large property and the fact we take all reviews seriously, your review provided enough information to determine when you stayed as well as the potential rooms you may have stayed in, it prompted me... More 

Plainfield, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I arrived at the end of the motorcycle rally and stayed here for five nights, riding the back roads of the Black Hills after the crowds had disappeared. The location of the hotel is fantastic- near downtown Spearfish and with plenty of space for parking. Spearfish Canyon, Devil's Tower, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore are an easy ride from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Craig W, thank you for your review describing your stay. We are glad you had a nice time at our property during your five-nights in the Black Hills. As you mentioned, our location is good for people who want to stay in a convenient location yet want to enjoy a quiet night's sleep in a clean comfortable room. The laundry... More 

Plymouth, Mn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Paid good money to stay in a remodeled closet. The room was obviously added on as a way to create one more space to rent. It was small, laid out poorly and really overpriced. The bed was pushed against the corner to make room to walk around it and the AC was in the bathroom right next to the toilet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Patrick4375, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We understand that room 211 was a bit small for your liking. To be honest, we usually leave it as our last Junior Single Queen room to rent, and as you had indicated, it was the last room available at the time you booked. I agree with you -... More 

Crystal Lake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked a room back on March for Sturgis Rally, we are a little early to check-in room was not ready that's okay we are able to walk around Spearfish little town. when we come back our room is ready and it's up- stair of old house, one queen bed, the room is very small one little tiny window i don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Dogiedog, thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We understand that the first room you received (Room 211) was a bit small. Indeed, it is the smallest of our Junior Queen rooms and is perfect for someone who is looking for an inexpensive room for a night. It is good for one or two people... More 

Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My Dad and I found this place while on an Epic roadtrip... our day started out in Montana, we had visited the site of Custer's Last Stand, and on Devil's Tower. After leaving the tower we were bound for Mount Rushmore, when we decided to bunk down in Spearfish for the night. The rooms are a bit older, but very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Aaron R, it was great to meet you and your dad on your epic road trip! We understand there is so much to see in this part of the country. We appreciate you staying with us, and also taking some time from your trip to provide a review of your stay. Since we were a Travelodge until June of this... More 

Ladoga, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were in the area and was unable to find a room so another hotel suggested this place to us. It was very spacious and had recently been updated. The price was very reasonable, I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Spearfish area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Katrinallynn, we appreciate the time you have taken to review our property, and were delighted to read your review of your stay. We have been working hard to update our property, yet keep prices reasonable. We hope you will once again choose to stay with us next time you visit the beautiful Black Hills! More 

Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stopped late in the day after visiting Devils Tower. The clerk was friendly despite the late hour. Our room was in a building toward the rear of the property. It was spacious and clean. Only negative was a "late" breakfast starting at 7. Not even coffee available. The morning person wasn't a happy person.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you staying with us and providing a welcome review of our property, WhisperDowntheLane. As you have pointed out, we are located right between Devils Tower and Mount Rushmore (both being less than 90 minutes away), so we provide a convenient base to visit both. We are putting in extra effort to ensure our guests find our hotel... More 

Hilliard, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After a long drive from Cody, Wyoming, we wanted a place to relax near downtown. Another hotel right off the interstate (that was full) recommended this independent little motel to us. Its an older place that has been kept up to date. We were given a big room with two queen beds and even a sofabed. The rooms were clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

RalphHHastings, we appreciate you stopping by to stay with us on your way from Wyoming. Yes, after a long drive, it is nice to find a quiet, relaxing hotel where restaurants, bars, parks and churches are within walking distance. As you have pointed out, we are in the process of making many of our rooms more comfortable, with new carpeting,... More 

Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We decided to stay for two nights in Spearfish for the Festival in the Park in mid-July. The entire town seemed to be booked up for the corvette rally happening during the same weekend. After a search, we found a room at the Crow Peak Lodge, which is a funky motel-style property in town. It was a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

Elizabeth S, we were happy to hear that your stay was a wonderful one. Yes, the Festival in the Park, which is getting more popular each year, is only a few blocks south of our property. We understand the challenge you had with finding us, since we are tucked away in a quiet neighborhood (and our signage was not up... More 

Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We got he last room. They did not save the best for last. The clerk had a hard time opening the door to the room, she asked if we planned on leaving to go anywhere tonight because we probably would not get the door opened. The room was small with 2 queen beds which were hard but ok. The air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CrowPeakGM, Manager at The Crow Peak Lodge, responded to this review

LCMWisconsin, we appreciate the information you have provided on your stay in your review. Although it was a different property (Travelodge) at the time you stayed with us, nevertheless we wish to apologize for the issues you faced during your stay. We have been working hard to upgrade the property since the transition to The Crow Peak Lodge. For instance,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crow Peak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crow Peak Lodge

Address: 346 W. Kansas Street, Spearfish, SD 57783 (Formerly Travelodge of Spearfish)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Crow Peak Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Crow Peak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Spearfish
Travel Lodge Spearfish
Spearfish Travelodge
Spearfish Travel Lodge

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay