We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
230 N. Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Brainerd
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We look for the nice 'Mom & Pops' as we are wanting to travel a lot and need to save where we can so as to have money left for more stays and other fun along the way. Bells is perfet. The manaager is super nice and helpful. We love the personal touch. The rate is inexpensive, so we can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dickinson, North Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Mom and Pop feeling with this well established building. Scott does his best to make your stay pleasant. He is always updating the rooms with fixtures and mattresses. The rooms are comfortable. It's not the Ritz but for the money it will do fine. You don't find these prices anymore and to have a nice place to rest with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

It is an old motel but they have done a good job of trying to update and cram as many amenities as they can into the small rooms. The price is great and its right at the end of the main street in Spearfish. It is also right next door to one of the best coffee shops in town, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

We have several sizes of rooms. The smallest has one full-sized bed. Next is one queen-sized bed. We also have rooms with two full-sized beds. We have three rooms with two queen-sized beds. And we have two kitchenettes with two beds. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

For the price, this place is amazing. The rooms are basic but clean. We arrived in a snow storm and they were cozy, warm and the internet and TV worked. The best part though was the friendly owner who gave us fantastic tips and directions to some beautiful spots and good places to eat (which isn't easy in this part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perrysburg,ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed here at the start of our South Dakota Adventure. We were put 2 doors down from the office. We slept ok, but in the morning we were awaken by the room next door getting ready, we could hear every thing they were doing and saying. The place was not full it would have been nice not to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

We will make every effort to place guests in the quietest room available. More 

Cumbria England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This clean, no frills motel cost just $52 a night. Rooms have AC, a fridge and microwave, tv and newly refurbished bathrooms. It's an easy walk into town for dinner and there's a good coffee shop/diner, The Green Bean, next door for breakfast. The owner was extremely pleasant and helpful too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

We have several sizes of rooms. The smallest has one full-sized bed. Next is one queen-sized bed. We also have rooms with two full-sized beds. We have three rooms with two queen-sized beds. And we have two kitchenettes with two beds. More 

Adair, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 via mobile

This is an older motel that is very well kept. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom is small but adequate. Water pressure was good and hot water readily available. The room had a small refrigerator with a separate freezer compartment that allowed us to re freeze quart sized jugs of water for our ice chest.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have stayed at Bells Motor Lodge twice this summer. The price is right! The motel is a bit dated, but is always very clean and well taken care of, not to mention right downtown in the heart of beautiful Spearfish. Scott, the owner, is very friendly and accomodating and always has a smile on his face.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

When I stay in a motel I dont need all the fancy stuff a bed bath AC in summer heat in winter and TV n WiFi this hotel provided all of that at a cheap rate.... Bathroom was really small but all they needed was a couple shelves next to dink for my stuff woulda rectified that complaint small cozy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either. I got a single room, which was ok, but the bathroom was tiny. I could barely move there. I didn't really like that the Wi-Fi had no password because this meand it's even more insecure. The room was also connected to the owner's rooms, i.e., the door was looked, but from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Each guest comes with personal expectations. Se are a clean and comfortable older Mom and Pop motel. One level. Two buildings. Motorists park in front of the door to their room. We often offer first time guests the option to see an available room before registration. Also, my policy is to refund payment to any guest who changes their mind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities