We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Spearfish hotels

Orchard Creek Cottages

514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Orchard Creek Cottages
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Orchard Creek Cottages while sightseeing in the area, and although the units are dated, they're clean and have been well maintained. You get a "living room/kitchenette" area and a separate bedroom, so it was much more spacious than a hotel room. We liked the quiet neighborhood location away from the busy town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice rating and review. I am having difficulty locating which cottage you were in from your screen name, so that I may effectively address the A/C issue. If you have a chance and would like to, please drop me an email. The wireless problem has been corrected since your stay. We recently had a access point... More

Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a good stop. It was very clean and had a kitchen w/ full frig. It does not have a blow drier or breakfast. Beds were small for two adults, but my man sized son slept on futon w/o problems. Bathroom was very small. Owners were very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us! Sorry we do not serve breakfast, but we are not a chain motel that can effectively build the cost of licensing, staff and the required separate kitchen/preparation facilities into the rate, not to mention the cost of the food. I certainly wish we could, but with only 12 cottages, it is just not practical. We... More

Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I knew we were in good hands from the moment I spoke to Mark. We were treated very well. The cottage was clean and quiet. It was a nice area, especially for our two girls to run around! The beds were comfy and the cottage had everything we needed (sink, fridge, shower, toliet, utensils, dishes, coffee pot, etc). The next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Please come back someday! It was great having you and your family here! Mark More

Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Orchard Creek Cottages for a week in June. I had a good feeling based on my communications with Mark prior to our arrival, and I felt even better when we arrived. First, you should know that the cottages are located on a property in a residential neighborhood in Spearfish; it's not a faceless corporate hotel in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for your stay with us (and the nice comments). Our summers are a very busy time and reviews like yours make it all worthwhile. We sincerely hope to see you again someday! Mark More

Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The owner Mark is very nice and was able to recommend some restaurants including dough traders that we walked to - fantastic. We also enjoyed a dinner outside on one of the many picnic tables. This place was a bit tight for a family of 4. Includes 2 teenagers. Very clean and had lots of hooks in bathroom that so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest opinion and valid issues you pointed out. The holes in the towels comment created quite a stir with the housekeepers. They went through every towel on the property and pulled all that were questionable. Yes, the bed in your particular cottage, while relatively new, is very soft. We shall consider replacing it with a firmer... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This stay was beyond great!! Mark was very helpful with anything we asked. He would come and tell us hi anytime he saw us. The first night he let us use the grill for supper and also gave us a fire pit for the night. Great service. I have two young boys so he was helpful by giving us a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

And we hope to see you and your family again someday! Thanks for passing along info about our place to others. Mark More

Gray Court, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our family stayed here for a few days and really liked the larger space. As stated before Mark is a great host. Amenities are basic but very adequate. Certainly would recommend the cottages as the best place is Spearfish. One knock on the site is a lack of parking but not too bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Our daughter lives in Spearfish so we have stayed at several hotels. Orchard Creek was by far the best place we have stayed, both money and comfort! Mark was incredibly hospitable and helpful, the 5 nights we spent were great. The housekeeping was above and beyond, plenty of lawn chairs under shady trees, use of a grill and super comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

And, Iowan's remain great! We look forward to serving you again someday! Mark More

Scranton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

16 people descended on poor Mark at Orchard Creek Cottages for 4 days, he was up to the task though. Saturday morning we all decided to have breakfast at one cottage Mark was gracious enough to offer us more pans for cooking and a toaster. The cottages are clean and very nice with comfortable beds. After 4 days of Mark's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review

Iowan's are great! Thank you for staying with us! Mark More

Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My 25 year old grandson and I spent one night at Orchard Creek Cottages, but I wish we could have stayed a week. It is a wonderful “home away from home”. We had a two room cabin right next to the office. We were greeted warmly and by name when we first walked in the door by Mark. Mark is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Orchard Creek Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Orchard Creek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Creek Cottages

Address: 514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
11 individual cottages or cabins for nightly and weekly rental from late May to late August only. During Black Hills State University semesters, we rent only on a monthly basis and are always full with students. Nightly and weekly reservations may be made for the Summer months at any time during the year. All cottages have kitchenettes with service for four. Pots and pans on request. All bedding, towels and maid service are included, with in room coffee. Each cottage has a modern bathroom with a shower. Free WiFi, and basic cable TV, window air conditioner with fans. Depending on sleeping arrangements, each cottage will hold four adults. If you have more than this or have smaller children, please call. Most of the cottages have a queen bed in the bedroom and a few have two full beds in the bedroom. Each has a futon that folds out to a full bed in the living/kitchenette area. There is not much privacy between the rooms. All cottages are nonsmoking and no pets. Large yard with grills and seating. There are benches at creekside. Camping is generally not permitted. We do have one RV Spot very near the creek. We accept Visa, MC and Discover. No American Express. Generally, you will not incur any additional charges for your stay. Rates vary over the Summer. The 10 days of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally also have special rates and details on payment. Minutes from Spearfish Canyon waterfalls and historic Deadwood. Centrally located for day trips to Mt. Rushmore and Devil's Tower in Wyoming. Sturgis and the annual motorcycle rally is 20 miles via I-90. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Orchard Creek Cottages to your Saves list