We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Spearfish hotels

Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
53%
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Chris S Silt, Colorado
  • Overview
  • Reviews (108)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
39
31
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silt, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recognized as an IHG Platinum Member at arrival and they already had an upgraded suite waiting for my arrival. Clean and quiet and the staff was terrific! Will definately be returning to this property on all future trips through the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Chris S- Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I'm happy to read you found us to be clean and quite along with a terrific staff. We appreciate you being a Platinum IHG Rewards Member and we love upgrading our loyal members whenever we can! Thank you again for the feedback and I hope you are coming... More

Carbondale, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hi all, This review is a long time in coming! We have been staying at this Holiday Inn for quite a few years during the Sturgis Rally. I must say that all of our stays have been more than pleasant, and now after the remodel this year's stay was even more pleasurable! The entire staff starting with Kirsten is more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Ed V- Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I can't tell you how much we appreciate your kind words! It means a lot to our staff and myself as we take a lot of pride in the service and product we provide to our guests. Our renovations we also a long time coming and I'm happy... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited last week on our family vacation. We got a great room. Very clean. Pool/arcade area was fun. Also loved the privacy in the hot tubs. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be staying again next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear StaceyDiischer- Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We always appreciate when a guest reaches out to give us a great 5 star review. I'm happy to read you enjoyed several amenities at our hotel and hope you get to visit again in the near future. Thank you again! Sincerely- Eric... More

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the Holiday Inn Spearfish Convention Center for two days during the Sturgis motorcycle rally and was very pleased that I was able to use the reward points I had accrued. The hotel offered a comfortable room, good on location entertainment, a bar/restaurant attached to the hotel and most importantly, a friendly staff. The room had been recently renovated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Chris B- Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to give such a thorough review of our property. I appreciate you giving us feedback on the positives and negatives of your stay. Many potential guests read these reviews before choosing a place to stay and they truly appreciate reviews that are as descriptive as yours.... More

Mpls
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here a couple of years ago on a bike trip and booked again because this is a full service property near the interstate. Our room was clean and ready when we arrived...a big deal when traveling by motorcycle. The bar/lounge has good food and free popcorn. The beds are really swell!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear RitaMpls- Thank you so much for taking time to give us a review. We truly appreciate you visiting us again this year after staying with us a couple of years earlier. I'm happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and found them to be clean and comfortable. Thank you again and I hope you will visit us again soon!... More

Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For the price and location, it turned out to be a better stay than expected. Room was newly renovated and staff was pleasant and helpful. We were here for our very first bike week and truly were expecting the worst! We were pleasantly surprised!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Blee115- Thank you for taking time to write a review of our property. I'm very happy to read that we exceeded any expectations you had coming into your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and our friendly staff. It means a lot to us when we read these kind words in our staff meetings and I... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here one night on our way through SD. Great hotel! Rooms were nicely decorated, clean and quiet. All the staff was very friendly. There is a pub/grill in the hotel very cool place with excellent food and kids eat free! We will definitely stay here again if passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Areckamp- Thank you so much for taking time to give us a great review of our property. We appreciate your kind words and hope you do get to stay with us on your next time visiting the area. Thank you again and travel safely. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing More

Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I regret booking this room. Under renovation, but still paying full price. And there is no breakfast included with the room rate- what hotel in this class range doesn't include a free breakfast these days? All this makes it a poor deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Famoffour4- Thank you for taking time to review our property. I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy staying in one of our brand new rooms as we work to finish renovating the last portion of our hotel. I also apologize we don't offer a free breakfast as other hotel chains with less amenities would. We are a... More

Absarokee, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Brought my wife and daughter here for a bicycle race in a nearby town. The hotel is being renovated, so keep that in mind, but that wasn't the problem we had. The room below us had a Bachelor's Party. There were kegs, music, and they were playing adult movies very very loud. The fireplaces in the rooms are joined up,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear MontanaCyclist- Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. I'd like to sincerely apologize for the level of service you received during your stay. We take all reviews, both negative and positive, very seriously and I can assure you we will use this as a learning tool and bring it to the attention of... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Yes it's under construction but nothing special. Pool was In large lobby/ room with mattress, furniture and trash so had to walk around the mess to access pool gate. Friendly staff during day hours, but had a bad experience with night staff. Restaurant/bar was not to bad, you got popcorn as you waited for your meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear ahipmom- Thank you for reviewing our property on tripadvisor. As you noted, we are going through a complete renovation of our hotel. This will be completed by August and you'll find everything to be brand new! I do apologize for the mess and inconvenience during your stay as we work to complete this massive project. I am confident our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Address: 305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Holiday Inn

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Spearfish with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer