We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Spearfish hotels

Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014
Dawn B Huron
  • Reviews (94)
  • Photos (44)
  • Prices
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (16)
  • Back to top
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    28
    20
    20
    8
See reviews for
33
30
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huron
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Spearfish, SD with my college student son, his girlfriend, and our 18 year old son while visiting relatives in Spearfish and for New Year's. We have stayed here several times before and are IHG Rewards Club members. We were given an upgrade to a suite as a result of being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Dawn B- Thank you very much for the thorough review of our property. These reviews are very helpful to other potential guests when choosing a hotel and good, thorough reviews like this do not go unnoticed! I'm very happy your were pleased with your overall stay and that you are as excited about the upcoming renovations as we are.... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

when I checked in to this motel. I was given a pool side room as I stated that I was there to relax and the hot tub was the reason I chose this motel. The desk clerk was very helpful and even held the door for me as I carried items in to the lobby. After making my way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Sundownerinn- Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. I'm glad you chose us and that our staff was very helpful during your checkin process. I apologize there were children enjoying our very spacious pool area and our pool hours did not meet your needs. Again, thank you for posting your comments as we... More

Spearfish, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I put my family up here at the end of October as I was having surgery and I wanted my family to be there for me. My sister was feeling tired so I helped her take her items to the room.. we got in the elevator and it smelt moldy like stale water.. the elevator door opened and to our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear LilCrumpet- Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience at our hotel. Seeing that you are from Spearfish, I'm sure your know we had a catastophic winter storm the beginning of October that brought with it several feet of heavy, wet snow. This, coupled by a terrible hail storm earlier in the year caused what you experienced.... More

Brookston
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Front desk was friendly and cordial. This Holiday Inn, is what I would consider below the normal Holiday Inn. In your average Holiday Inn, rooms have been updated and recently renovated. This particular hotel has not, carpets are stained, pillows are flat, bed is hard, blankets are well... should I use them? Walked around property, lobby is nice, convention center... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear mgwds1- I want to thank you for taking time to review our property. We take all comments, both negative and positive very seriously. I am pleased to inform you , like you mentioned in your review, that we will soon be addressing needs in our hotel. We are finalizing plans for an extensive renovation of our rooms and public... More

Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were tired from driving, so it was time to find a place to sleep, on a Friday night. So yes, there was a function going on in the giant convention center. Good thing I felt like jamming. The building is old with both inside and outside room entrances on the first floor...could be good or bad. The staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear schoolybear- Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review of our property. I'm glad you came across our hotel on your travels. I apologize for the inconviences that occured with the assist bar and the soft water. I'm very happy thta your enjoyed the comfort of our beds and pillows and trust it... More

West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I have taken a couple weeks off work to travel from Indiana to Montana stopping in SD to see Mt Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Stopped in Spearfish after a long day of driving! Since my husband is a priority club member we were able a suite! A little dated, but the bed was so comfortable! And the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Melicity82- I sincerely appreciate you taking time out of your day to give us a review of our property. I'm glad we were able to accomodate you after a long drive by upgrading you to a suite. We certainly appreciate our IHG Reward Club members and like to give them the perks they deserve! I'm also glad you found... More

Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband, 11 year old son and I stayed at this Holiday Inn location for 2 nights. Upon check in the staff was the best we have encountered (we travel frequently). JESSIE WAS WONDERFUL. I have never encountered hotel staff that was that exceptional. We were on our way back from Vancouver Island Canada on the way home to Pensacola,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear 39dkdk84jfh- Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review of our property. I'm so happy that you received the service that you expect and deserve. We take a lot of pride in our customer service and I am glad that Jessie was a champion in showing this. I'm also glad you enjoyed your room,... More

Aberdeen, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Staff and accommodations are excellent at the Holiday Inn, Spearfish, SD, in the heart of the beautiful Spearfish Canyon. Enjoy your vacation in the Black Hills, experience the fun of historic Deadwood, and retire for the evening in comfort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Jean S- Thank you so much for taking time out of your day to give a review of our property. We appreciate your kind words and hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a little dated but a really nice choice for our motorcycle vacation. Lucky's Pub is attached to the hotel so you can relax with a glass of wine or beer after a day of riding and not have to drive. Large pool and jacuzzi are nice after a long day of riding too. There is also plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear 2genes- Thank you so much for writing a review of our property. I'm glad you enjoyed everything from our great location , to our friendly staff, to our excellent onsite restaurant. We love our bikers and we hope you stop and visit us again the next time you are in the Spearfish area. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing More

Stanley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on August 23rd and August 24th. When we returned to our hotel room on Saturday evening we were totally shocked to find that our room was not cleaned. Bed not made nor dirty towels removed. So sure the maid skipped our room. Shocking for a hotel with this name. We were really disappointed that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Shirley O- Thank you very much for taking time to write about your comments. I'm sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The items you have mentioned regarding the cleanliness of your room upon returning will be addressed with our Housekeeping Manager. I'd also like to mention that we are a full service Holiday... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel Spearfish
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel
Holiday Inn Spearfish
Spearfish Holiday Inn
Address: 305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Best prices for your stay

Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
145

See which rooms travelers prefer

Sorry, our search service is down. Displaying the most recent room tips below.