We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Spearfish hotels

Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
51%
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Areckamp
  • Overview
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (43)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
38
30
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here one night on our way through SD. Great hotel! Rooms were nicely decorated, clean and quiet. All the staff was very friendly. There is a pub/grill in the hotel very cool place with excellent food and kids eat free! We will definitely stay here again if passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Areckamp- Thank you so much for taking time to give us a great review of our property. We appreciate your kind words and hope you do get to stay with us on your next time visiting the area. Thank you again and travel safely. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing More

Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I regret booking this room. Under renovation, but still paying full price. And there is no breakfast included with the room rate- what hotel in this class range doesn't include a free breakfast these days? All this makes it a poor deal for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Famoffour4- Thank you for taking time to review our property. I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy staying in one of our brand new rooms as we work to finish renovating the last portion of our hotel. I also apologize we don't offer a free breakfast as other hotel chains with less amenities would. We are a... More

Absarokee, Montana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brought my wife and daughter here for a bicycle race in a nearby town. The hotel is being renovated, so keep that in mind, but that wasn't the problem we had. The room below us had a Bachelor's Party. There were kegs, music, and they were playing adult movies very very loud. The fireplaces in the rooms are joined up,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear MontanaCyclist- Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. I'd like to sincerely apologize for the level of service you received during your stay. We take all reviews, both negative and positive, very seriously and I can assure you we will use this as a learning tool and bring it to the attention of... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yes it's under construction but nothing special. Pool was In large lobby/ room with mattress, furniture and trash so had to walk around the mess to access pool gate. Friendly staff during day hours, but had a bad experience with night staff. Restaurant/bar was not to bad, you got popcorn as you waited for your meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear ahipmom- Thank you for reviewing our property on tripadvisor. As you noted, we are going through a complete renovation of our hotel. This will be completed by August and you'll find everything to be brand new! I do apologize for the mess and inconvenience during your stay as we work to complete this massive project. I am confident our... More

Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed here for the third and last time. Place was under construction with debris all over. New finishes we're not being taken care of and we walked on dirty floors for the entire weekend. Swim area was overrun by large rolls of carpet and housekeeping clearly couldn't keep up with the day to day housekeeping let alone the extra work... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear trvlhead- Thank you for reviewing our property. As you stated, we are undergoing a total renovation of our guest rooms and common areas. I apologize for this inconvenience during your stay and hope you come visit us again once renovations are completed by August. I have the upmost confidence you will find our newly renovated property and staff above... More

Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

When I first arrived in my room, I was on the second floor, poolside. I had to change rooms due to loud noise coming from the pool area (to be expected). However, the room smelled very strongly of chlorine that I had to change rooms. The hotel is a little old looking but is also under going a remodel so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Deal Kal S- Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm glad you found the room you settled into very clean and comfortable. The poolside rooms can be a little noisy when we have a bunch of families with children staying, but I'm very happy our staff was able to accommodate you and move you to a quieter area... More

Alta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The hotel is very clean, the staff is very courteous, the breakfast was very good and the room rate is very reasonable. What more can a traveler expect or want after a long day on the road. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Richard O- Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to read you enjoyed our cleanliness, friendly staff, restaurant and reasonable room rates. We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to you visiting again soon! Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing More

Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Holiday Inn is currently going through a full renovation. It looks like they are doing it in sections to not bother customers with construction noises and such. We were on a road trip and had stayed at 2 hotels before this one, this one had the largest most spacious room! The pool was huge and heated with is nice!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Ashley H- Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to review our property. Like you mentioned, we are in the middle of a full renovation that will be completed some time this summer. With that being said, most of the problem areas you brought up will be addressed to make the Spearfish Holiday Inn a... More

Huron
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Spearfish, SD with my college student son, his girlfriend, and our 18 year old son while visiting relatives in Spearfish and for New Year's. We have stayed here several times before and are IHG Rewards Club members. We were given an upgrade to a suite as a result of being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Dawn B- Thank you very much for the thorough review of our property. These reviews are very helpful to other potential guests when choosing a hotel and good, thorough reviews like this do not go unnoticed! I'm very happy your were pleased with your overall stay and that you are as excited about the upcoming renovations as we are.... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

when I checked in to this motel. I was given a pool side room as I stated that I was there to relax and the hot tub was the reason I chose this motel. The desk clerk was very helpful and even held the door for me as I carried items in to the lobby. After making my way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review

Dear Sundownerinn- Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our property. I'm glad you chose us and that our staff was very helpful during your checkin process. I apologize there were children enjoying our very spacious pool area and our pool hours did not meet your needs. Again, thank you for posting your comments as we... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Address: 305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Holiday Inn

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
145

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer