We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Days Inn Empire

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3401 Gateway Boulevard, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Days Inn Empire
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013
Lance V New Prague
Add Photo Write a Review

260 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    70
    57
    28
    16
See reviews for
85
63
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Empire
See the most recent reviews
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here to start our Westward SD summer vacation. Not a bad hotel, not great either. Your typical chain offering, though with summer tourist prices. Parts of the facility are likely close to upgrade time and that shows a little. That said, our 2 rooms were very clean with good beds. We had a loud AC unit, but someone fixed-adjusted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear S. D. Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Western SD. I am glad that you enjoyed your two rooms and that we were able to get the loud PTAC unit fixed for you. I am also happy to hear that you found my staff members to be friendly and good at their jobs. We do... More 

Hays, Ks
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hall and room smelled ok. No mildew smell or anything. Bed comfortable. Bathroom could have been cleaner. Lots of hairs in shower and shower didn't drain very well. Towel was stained and hair in it. Stayed on north end of hotel and traffic was loud. After taxes, paid around $90. Not worth it in my opinion. Also charged for safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear B. D. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry that the bathroom was not very clean. I will be sure to pass along your comments to my housekeeping staff, so that they can try to fix these issues in the future. I am glad to hear that you found the bed... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stopped here last night, and we weren't impressed. Décor is dated, carpeting needs to be cleaned, room smelled (it wasn't aired out), and drain in bathtub was plugged. We weren't impressed and will likely not stay at this location again. Furthermore the staff on duty said that the security guard drives by at least 3-4x so that makes customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear My1destiny0101 I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that you found your carpet needed to be cleaned. We have a carpet service that comes in one time per month and cleans 1/6 of our rooms each month so that we get every room professionally cleaned twice per year. I am... More 

Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

While on our road trip, we stopped at this hotel. The City was hosting several different conventions, so we were delighted when we could get a room (which was a nightmare in disguise).There were no king-sized rooms left, but they did offer a very small room with a queen size bed. – moderately clean –– pipes rattled when you flushed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear Cuz39 I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent stay at our hotel. All of our rooms except one have queen size beds. The one room that does not have a queen bed is a king business class suite. It does sound like you were offered our smallest room size that we have. These... More 

Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
391 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived here after day long drive. Manager cheerfully accepted our coupon clipped from a magazine and offered to enroll s in the Days inn reward program. Room is clean and quiet. Location convenient to many restaurants and the interstate. Standard hotel breakfast this morning. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear E. B. Thank you for staying with us at the Days Inn Empire in Sioux Falls, SD. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accept your coupon. Thank you for your comments in regards to your clean and quiet room. I agree with you that we do have a nice location and that... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Room itself (double queen) was clean enough, but badly in need of updating. Appears to be original decor from the 70s or 80s. Old mattresses. Unpleasant smells in hallways and room. Old style TV and thin towels. No closet, just a clothes rack hanging on the wall. Breakfast was average - the usual donuts & toast, Fruit Loops and Raisin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MattBrunick, General Manager at Days Inn Empire, responded to this review

Dear Seattle Trvlr Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found our rooms and hotel in need of updating. Each year, we are given a dollar amount to make upgrades to the hotel. We have been replacing mattresses and box springs over the last 5 years... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay