We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Dakotah Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013
pam b Cokato, Minnesota
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    91
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
95
85
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
There are newer reviews for Dakotah Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Cokato, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by 2 very friendly clerks and given our room assignments. My father, who walks with a cane was very stiff and sore from the long car ride. The older of the two clerks checked to see if there was a closer room to the front so my father didn't have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the lovely review. We really strive to provide a comfortable stay and are happy to hear we succeeded . It was my pleasure to escort your Dad to his room, I personally know how stiff we can get after a long drive and it is always great to have a moment to visit with... More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly remodeled with up to date appliances, flat screen tv and great beds. The hotel is located in a quiet area and there is no road noise. We will come back for the friendly staff, the great sleep and good breakfast. A good value and lovely setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You made our day much brighter. We are so happy we could meet your expectations and look forward to seeing you again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager More 

Aberdeen, South Dakota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have had to stay often in Sioux Falls for the last 9 months for medical reasons, a woman and many times alone. Have tried approximately 10 different hotels in SF from lower end cost to higher end cost. Thought I would try the Brimark this time. I will no longer look for a better deal, better staff, feeling of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We truly enjoy being able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a good value. Looking forward to your return. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was an okay hotel. It looks as though a major renovation was recently completed and the overall interior was very nice. FYI the pool has been removed and management tells me they are putting in a water park in the front which ought to be a great draw for families when it is done. However, I thought the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate hearing from our guests and their views of our property. We know we can't be everything to everybody but will continue to keep trying. Our goal is to provide a comfortable nights stay at a reasonable price .If we didn't do that , please accept my apologies. Donna Gratzfeld More 

Midwest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Attended a conference at the hotel across the street and chose to stay at the Brimark Inn instead as it's smaller and would be quieter. Given the location, size, and price of this hotel, it is obviously in the budget category. For those looking for a luxury, chain, or (possibly) business hotel, of course they'll find things to hate. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Getting input from our guests is very important to us. Our head housekeeper read this review and had a talk with her staff about our policies on cleaning stay over rooms. Again thank you for letting us know about this. Your remark about upstairs air conditioning has me puzzled though. There are air conditioners in... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here for a few days and it was wonderful. The girls at the front desk went way above and beyond what I would have expected. It was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I would stay here again absolutely. I was so impressed by those girls at the front desk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. Our front desk staff will enjoy reading it. Our front desk staff all log in and read the reviews. Hope you will be back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived late in the day and were quite happy with this motel. The room looked as if it had recently had a face lift...it was clean and very comfortable. We were there for one night. The staff was friendly. They served breakfast in the morning. This is a very nice clean motel reasonably priced at $69.95 for two people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We take our reviews very much to heart, both the good as well as the bad. We have been working on this property for a little more than 1 year and made a lot of improvements and are aware we have many more to make. There are so many choices out there and we... More 

Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Like another reviewer, the key card / locks did not work. I had to walk downstairs to ask for help. She tried a few things until she found out it only opened by swinging the level up and not down. Whatever. Bed was nice. Room was nice overall. Bathroom had some mold and it was quite outdated. Breakfast was average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

No, we are certainly not there yet . We are very aware of our failings and not ignoring them at all. The locks have been a real problem. As you can imagine we have a huge investment in this new electronic lock system for our 106 rooms as well as entrances etc. Unfortunately we decided to go the extra mile... More 

McHenry, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came in late (10 pm). The key cards would not open the room door. The on-duty desk person came to room and also could not get the door open. She commented "They have to do something about these locks." After several minutes of effort she finally got the door open. As we didn't plan to go out anymore we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

I am just mortified that you were put in that room. There is no excuse I just want to let you know what happened. Several rooms in that wing were slated to be completely gutted right down to the metal studs, because of problems as you have listed . Somehow, they got put back from, out of order to rentable... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Brimark Inn due to comments from tripadvisor, arriving 9/17th .... and we were very happy with this establishment......they have been remodeling for awhile and it really is paying off. Our room on the 1st floor looked all brand new. Our king size bed was very comfortable and the rooms décor was very pleasant all around --... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is very rewarding to hear you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you back again soon. Donna Gratzfeld More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#9 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay