We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Gateway Hotel

1721 N. LaCrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Gateway Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Gateway Hotel
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    104
    67
    26
    36
See reviews for
131
109
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (394)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (163)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Jimmy at the front desk was amazing from the time I called a week prior until my arrival he was at my beckon call amazing service. My five children and I had great suites, the cheers bar was so much fun karokee was a blast. The only complaint if I had to think of one was the housekeeping staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakefield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here 2 nights for our Black hills trip, mostly because of the 130' waterslide. My two children are teens and were not too thrilled so we never tried out the pool/slide area. The beds were comfortable and overall decor kinda gave it a Grand vibe. Problem we had was when we were out seeing the sights all day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Clinton F., We are very sorry to hear of your story and the feedback you have given our hotel. This experience was not a reflection of our normal standards performed by staff. We do apologize for the situation with our housekeeping and want to let you know that it will be investigated further - your room number would help us... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

After driving all night, we were so tired and just wanted to sleep. We were way to early for check in. Sandy went out of her way to get us a room,and put us where it would be quiet! She went above andbeyond!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear Sandy was able to meet your needs! We will pass on your appreciation to her, and hope to see you again the next time you are in Rapid City. More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

We have been to the Black Hills many times, but this is our first time at this hotel. The rate was so attractive, I was a little apprehensive, but the hotel is excellent. We are already planning on staying here when we come back through in the Spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

liketotravel167, We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to give us a review - we look forward to having you again in the spring. Have a great day!! More 

AZ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I was very impressed with this hotel. I had stayed in a motel the night before where it was so loud I couldn't sleep. I didn't hear a sound the whole stay here. Huge room with a nice stuffed chair, table and chairs, microwave and refrigerator. Only thing I would recommend is not allow staff to smoke right by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

slb3334, Thank you for reviewing! We're happy to hear that your experience with us (compared to the loud motel you were at) was pleasant, comfortable and quiet! We'll be speaking with staff regarding the smoke breaks; that isn't the impression we want to give our guests. Have a fabulous day! More 

Jindabyne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

A lovely hotel. Friendly service. Close drive to all attractions. Kids couldn't get enough of the waterslide, pool and pool tables. Clean rooms. Had plenty of information about what to do in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

CathBatson, We are SO happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Did you know our waterslide is actually the first one in Rapid City? Amazing, right? We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! Have... More 

Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have been impressed by the updated decor and bedding. The price was right and we thought all was headed in the same direction as our past great visits. We were in room 134. Right next to the north exit. The door banged so hard when closed our bed shook. People were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Wayne, First of all, we'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again! We do apologize for the noisy door and will be sure to have our maintenance department take a look. During your next visit, we'd like to make sure you have a quiet room - was the reservation under your name? If so, please let... More 

Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We booked it because it was soooo cheap and we couldn't believe it - and we were sooo suprised how good it turned out - big rooms, compfy beds we even booked another room because one of us had a bad cold and we got it opposite for the same rate! would stay again because it was very pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Isabel! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again. Have a fantastic day! More 

South Dakota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I have stayed here a few times and it's a good motel, seems to be fairly clean, the room we were in was more on the dark side, so hard to tell really. no place to eat, but has Perkins right next door, so that works perfect. I can't really complain about this place, the rates are good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Hideaways, thank you for your continued patronage! Perkins is a favorite with many of our guests because of the 24/7 availability for meals - we're happy to know it's an added perk when you stay with us. We will see you again soon! Have a great day. More 

Waconia, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This is a bit of an older building with nice and clean rooms. The furnishings are a little dated. There is a really nice pool area which is geared towards families including a waterslide. The preponderance of families and tour buses doesn't make this the quietest hotel though. There is a Perkins attached to the hotel and several other restaurants,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley A, Public Relations Manager at Grand Gateway Hotel, responded to this review

Ranger1680, Thank you for reviewing! We get extremely busy during the summer months, especially with families and tours. We hope they did not damper your experience with us nor the Black Hills! Rapid City is a great area for families as well and we love that we're so close to all of the National Parks and Memorials. We hope that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question