We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Hotel

100 Saint Joseph Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Imperial Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #51 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Add Photo Write a Review

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (16)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this online having never been to Rapid City. Rates seemed high in the area and this looked like a reasonably priced alternative near the downtown area. It is in fact a few scary blocks from the small trying to be trendy downtown. That's the only thing I can say positive. I was traveling alone and was put off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room here last minute because it was fairly cheap and the pictures online looked ok. We were horrified to see once we got there that this place was a dump! It's in a terrible neighborhood with a lot of sketchy people walking around. One guy was shuffling around the parking lot in his boxers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Rapid City hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sits right across the street from the police station and I didn't feel safe. I am a police officer and I knew there was drugs in the building. The lobby was crawling with individuals who where just hanging out. I stayed here at the last minute because of a storm and I would rather have faced the storm...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

font desk manager very good service good, hotel manager the worst I've seen in all my travels. I and a friend stayed there we both got sick. paid our rent for two days. front desk manager said we have a 50.00$ cleaning bill. we paid it he got sick. went to the hospital were my friend past on. our deal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling thru to Montana so I stayed here omg rates were too high service sucked mangers were rude and not friendly I walked in and found the manager teresa drinking a bottle of vodka and could barely walk we paid in advance so we could not get a refund. My husband was eaten up by bed bugs had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
josephandrewstarr, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bamagirl, I do not know who Josephandrewstarr is by the way. I am just reading that my name is being displayed as that which is not true. My Father tragically passed away on 23 August 2014 in a massive car accident which broke every bone in his body. Needless to say, I, Teresa, have NOT been back to the... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Let me just start off by saying that Rapid City is ridiculous. There was only a couple hotels under $130 to stay at. It is incredibly overpriced and touristy ($400 a night for a Hilton??? get real.) Now that that's over with I will start the review. So my boyfriend and I planned a 2 week road trip and Mount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Pros: The only hotel in Rapid City with a room available last minute on a Saturday night in June. The bathroom in our room was nice and clean and the water was hot. Hotel attendant was very friendly. Cons: People loitering in front of the building smoking was unnerving. The building is very old, the lobby leaves a lot to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mam, I appreciate the time you have taken to submit this review because it allows us to improve Quality Assurance and Customer relations. This is my reply: We recently upgraded and remodeled all of our tourist rooms and have been evaluated by the State Health Department with a 98%. Inclusive in our remodeled units are new beds with bed... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the imperial hotel for three days with my husband. you can immediately tell that its an older motel but the rooms were amazingly clean and quiet!!! the staff was courteous and knowledgeable and there is even a fantastic restaurant on site!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Yuba City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Made reservations online for Sturgis bike week. While institute to South Dakota the couple we were riding with got in an accident. The woman died and her husband was hospitalized for over two weeks. Needless to say we did not get to the hotel. When we called to inform them it was like "there's no refunds". The guy lost his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We are truly sorry for your friends loss and do appreciate this response because, as owners of this property, we were not made aware of any death during Sturgis rally week. I apologize sincerely that you were not able to arrive and vacation here during that week. We are investigating exactly what happened; who you spoke to, and... More 

West Yellowstone, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel mostly because when I was booking a room, the only two reviews here on TripAdvisor gave this hotel five stars. I've since concluded that these reviewers are either (a) lying, (b) living in a fantasy world, or (c) just escaped some sort of dungeon or prison and therefore have ridiculously low expectations for hotels. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. W Faust, I apologize for the inconvenience you had while here. This summer has been one of frustration as our new beds, nor our curtains, arrived in time for the season due to being back-ordered. We did receive a 98% from the health dept. so I am not understanding what was dirty in your room as I personally... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay