We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Rapid City hotels

Imperial Hotel

100 Saint Joseph Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
36%
Ranked #49 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
  • Overview
  • Reviews (11)
  • Photos (1)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me just start off by saying that Rapid City is ridiculous. There was only a couple hotels under $130 to stay at. It is incredibly overpriced and touristy ($400 a night for a Hilton??? get real.) Now that that's over with I will start the review. So my boyfriend and I planned a 2 week road trip and Mount... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pros: The only hotel in Rapid City with a room available last minute on a Saturday night in June. The bathroom in our room was nice and clean and the water was hot. Hotel attendant was very friendly. Cons: People loitering in front of the building smoking was unnerving. The building is very old, the lobby leaves a lot to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mam, I appreciate the time you have taken to submit this review because it allows us to improve Quality Assurance and Customer relations. This is my reply: We recently upgraded and remodeled all of our tourist rooms and have been evaluated by the State Health Department with a 98%. Inclusive in our remodeled units are new beds with bed... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I recently stayed at the imperial hotel for three days with my husband. you can immediately tell that its an older motel but the rooms were amazingly clean and quiet!!! the staff was courteous and knowledgeable and there is even a fantastic restaurant on site!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yuba City, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Made reservations online for Sturgis bike week. While institute to South Dakota the couple we were riding with got in an accident. The woman died and her husband was hospitalized for over two weeks. Needless to say we did not get to the hotel. When we called to inform them it was like "there's no refunds". The guy lost his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We are truly sorry for your friends loss and do appreciate this response because, as owners of this property, we were not made aware of any death during Sturgis rally week. I apologize sincerely that you were not able to arrive and vacation here during that week. We are investigating exactly what happened; who you spoke to, and... More

West Yellowstone, MT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel mostly because when I was booking a room, the only two reviews here on TripAdvisor gave this hotel five stars. I've since concluded that these reviewers are either (a) lying, (b) living in a fantasy world, or (c) just escaped some sort of dungeon or prison and therefore have ridiculously low expectations for hotels. This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. W Faust, I apologize for the inconvenience you had while here. This summer has been one of frustration as our new beds, nor our curtains, arrived in time for the season due to being back-ordered. We did receive a 98% from the health dept. so I am not understanding what was dirty in your room as I personally... More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The rooms at the Imperial shouldn't be more than $30 a night, if that. I will try to break this down so that anyone on a very tight budget has the facts on whether or not it's actually worth it to stay here. PROS - -Hotel staff is very nice and polite. -Location is very convenient and easily within walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

**Note that the two five star reviews are from people that have only reviewed this hotel!!! Also they are two days apart - obviously it's employees/owners of the hotel leaving the 5 star reviews** Pros: Front desk young man was helpful, polite, and friendly. He exceeded our expectations for customer service. Cons: Unsafe location and neighborhood. Questionable people in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minnetonka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Imperial Hotel has one thing going for it: it's in a great location in Rapids City, close to a number of fun restaurants. However, the hotel is old and appears to be in need of renovation. It is a very minimal hotel in that there is no coffee machine, no microwave, no hairdryer, no shampoo, no Kleenex etc. in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wright
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were truly impressed with this hotel! It has 3 venues onsite with DJ's, kareoke, and country western music, nice rooms with refridgerators and a very pleasant staff... all needs were handled efficiently and courteously, plus this hotel is located in the downtown area which has many very close and nice restaurants and attractions! we were able to gain internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gambrills
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

traveled to all local attractions, mount Rushmore 4th of July....Staff was wonderful, played pool, etc. very close to Deadwood casinos and all major attractions in South Dakota. Family enjoyed Sturgis Bike Week too!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 100 Saint Joseph Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Number of rooms
117

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer