We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Hotel

100 Saint Joseph Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Imperial Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #52 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Westville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Avoid it. Simple. Pay the extra money and stay anywhere else. Drunks sleeping in the hallway even. Homeless folks at the front door. Avoid it. Go to the other side of town or bring a gun. I was in shock that Priceline even offered this hell hole...really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Hotel is not up to code and bed bugs are in most of the run down weekly rooms.. All the employees are on drugs and there is a lot of drug activity going on in the hotel. Drunks that can't stay at the homeless shelter (which is across the street) sleep in the lobby at night. Owners daughter teresa constantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I booked this online having never been to Rapid City. Rates seemed high in the area and this looked like a reasonably priced alternative near the downtown area. It is in fact a few scary blocks from the small trying to be trendy downtown. That's the only thing I can say positive. I was traveling alone and was put off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I reserved a room here last minute because it was fairly cheap and the pictures online looked ok. We were horrified to see once we got there that this place was a dump! It's in a terrible neighborhood with a lot of sketchy people walking around. One guy was shuffling around the parking lot in his boxers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Sits right across the street from the police station and I didn't feel safe. I am a police officer and I knew there was drugs in the building. The lobby was crawling with individuals who where just hanging out. I stayed here at the last minute because of a storm and I would rather have faced the storm...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

font desk manager very good service good, hotel manager the worst I've seen in all my travels. I and a friend stayed there we both got sick. paid our rent for two days. front desk manager said we have a 50.00$ cleaning bill. we paid it he got sick. went to the hospital were my friend past on. our deal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Columbia Falls, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

I was traveling thru to Montana so I stayed here omg rates were too high service sucked mangers were rude and not friendly I walked in and found the manager teresa drinking a bottle of vodka and could barely walk we paid in advance so we could not get a refund. My husband was eaten up by bed bugs had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
josephandrewstarr, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bamagirl, I do not know who Josephandrewstarr is by the way. I am just reading that my name is being displayed as that which is not true. My Father tragically passed away on 23 August 2014 in a massive car accident which broke every bone in his body. Needless to say, I, Teresa, have NOT been back to the... More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Let me just start off by saying that Rapid City is ridiculous. There was only a couple hotels under $130 to stay at. It is incredibly overpriced and touristy ($400 a night for a Hilton??? get real.) Now that that's over with I will start the review. So my boyfriend and I planned a 2 week road trip and Mount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Pros: The only hotel in Rapid City with a room available last minute on a Saturday night in June. The bathroom in our room was nice and clean and the water was hot. Hotel attendant was very friendly. Cons: People loitering in front of the building smoking was unnerving. The building is very old, the lobby leaves a lot to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mam, I appreciate the time you have taken to submit this review because it allows us to improve Quality Assurance and Customer relations. This is my reply: We recently upgraded and remodeled all of our tourist rooms and have been evaluated by the State Health Department with a 98%. Inclusive in our remodeled units are new beds with bed... More 

Yuba City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Made reservations online for Sturgis bike week. While institute to South Dakota the couple we were riding with got in an accident. The woman died and her husband was hospitalized for over two weeks. Needless to say we did not get to the hotel. When we called to inform them it was like "there's no refunds". The guy lost his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
romanslounge, Owner at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We are truly sorry for your friends loss and do appreciate this response because, as owners of this property, we were not made aware of any death during Sturgis rally week. I apologize sincerely that you were not able to arrive and vacation here during that week. We are investigating exactly what happened; who you spoke to, and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.5 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#10 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay