We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Town House Motel

210 St Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Town House Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

I would NOT share my experience at this motel for several reasons, one being that it needs a major overhaul In furniture and décor (yah right DECOR) sorry to say this but I would NOT stay here vagain.

Helpful?
Thank Murray B
austin, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

in looking for a place in rapid city we stumbled across this motel. we planned to stay one night but stayed for two nights because the stay was well worth the nightly rate. the motel is somewhat old but it is very clean, the bed was very conformable and provide a nice breakfast. it is only about four blocks from... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

We booked this motel specifically because it stated Complimentary Airport Shuttle. I even e mailed them to confirm what was included. When we arrived there was still a lot of confusion about what we were actually entitled to - so if you need that service make absolutely certain beforehand that you will be getting what you think you are, &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gaz_n_Gill
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

First impression: this is where people come to conduct shady deals and to get murdered. Upon entering the "family" room: it's basically an already crowded double room with a twin bed crammed in the corner. And it smells horrible, despite being a non-smoking room. The wifi doesn't work properly (the signal doesn't reach this room and the property isn't even... More 

Helpful?
Thank fivegoldfish
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

The chap on reception was very friendly and helpful. The motel itself was a bit dated with thin walls. Despite looking clean and tidy, we found egg shells and a tub of hummus in our waste bin! We were a bit concerned to see the reception guy and two cleaners behind the motel sitting in the back of a pick... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiciaW
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

In June we attempted to cancel a 3 night stay for July that we had booked in March. However, their website listed a number that was not in service, so we couldn't cancel. Our credit card was charged over $800, far more than the $150 "one night stay" fee on their cancellation policy. We ended up getting a "how was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay J
Sean G, Owner at Town House Motel, responded to this review

I felt it necessary to respond to such a fabricated review of our property. First of all let me address the "$150 a night fee". That is simply not true. Our policy is like every other hotel/motel in the Unites States and around the world. We charge the credit card on file for the first night's stay and cancel the... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and we're pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and had new carpet. The continental breakfast was fine. There was some remodeling being done so the upstairs level still need csrpet. would stay there again. The only downside was there was no electrical outlet near the sink. You had to use the one by the television. Made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We were sadly disappointed in the Town House Motel in Rapid City. My grandsons enjoyed the outdoor pool and the location close to downtown Rapid City was good. However, the room badly needed updating, seemed like it hadn't been updated since the late 1960's. Pictures on Booking.com must have been taken years ago. The only redeeming part of this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank daDA144
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

As a frequent traveler I would like to remind the people who posted reviews...THIS IS A MOTEL. We flew into Rapid City to do the entire tourist thing. (Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bandlands. etc.) We just wanted a simple place to sleep and shower and be able to walk downtown. Price wise and location this place was perfect. It's by all... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PlaneFun1
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015 via mobile

The Townhouse Motel is very nicely located at the edge of the downtown area and was very convenient. The room was clean and unccluttered. The bed was very stiff, there were three pillows on a queen bed, which I always find wierd as there are two of us. The pillows were also very small and thin. The shower curtain was... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnsilb
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alex Johnson Rapid City, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.6 mi away
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#6 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay