We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Town House Motel

210 St Joseph St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Town House Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    31
    17
    13
    4
See reviews for
44
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The chap on reception was very friendly and helpful. The motel itself was a bit dated with thin walls. Despite looking clean and tidy, we found egg shells and a tub of hummus in our waste bin! We were a bit concerned to see the reception guy and two cleaners behind the motel sitting in the back of a pick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In June we attempted to cancel a 3 night stay for July that we had booked in March. However, their website listed a number that was not in service, so we couldn't cancel. Our credit card was charged over $800, far more than the $150 "one night stay" fee on their cancellation policy. We ended up getting a "how was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sean G, Owner at Town House Motel, responded to this review

I felt it necessary to respond to such a fabricated review of our property. First of all let me address the "$150 a night fee". That is simply not true. Our policy is like every other hotel/motel in the Unites States and around the world. We charge the credit card on file for the first night's stay and cancel the... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and we're pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and had new carpet. The continental breakfast was fine. There was some remodeling being done so the upstairs level still need csrpet. would stay there again. The only downside was there was no electrical outlet near the sink. You had to use the one by the television. Made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We were sadly disappointed in the Town House Motel in Rapid City. My grandsons enjoyed the outdoor pool and the location close to downtown Rapid City was good. However, the room badly needed updating, seemed like it hadn't been updated since the late 1960's. Pictures on Booking.com must have been taken years ago. The only redeeming part of this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

As a frequent traveler I would like to remind the people who posted reviews...THIS IS A MOTEL. We flew into Rapid City to do the entire tourist thing. (Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Bandlands. etc.) We just wanted a simple place to sleep and shower and be able to walk downtown. Price wise and location this place was perfect. It's by all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

The Townhouse Motel is very nicely located at the edge of the downtown area and was very convenient. The room was clean and unccluttered. The bed was very stiff, there were three pillows on a queen bed, which I always find wierd as there are two of us. The pillows were also very small and thin. The shower curtain was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cluses
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We spent two night in Town House Motel in Rapid City. People at the reception are very friendly and useful, for any question and support which is needed. The motel is well situated to access airport and as well to go Mount Rushmore. Now regarding time we spent in, it was quite, not noisy, but we had a room located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Stayed in the town house hotel for one night. The front desk manager was very accommodating and got us into our rooms by 11:00. The rooms were pretty spacious and beds were comfortable. For the price it is a great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

The hotel is nice...all the main attractions are near from this place. Staff is friendly. Breakfast was good. As it is in downtown, one can roam in the city..many restaurants are nearby. rooms are nice and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

we stayed here while on vacation to the black hills, great staff, hotel is kind of old but clean and very accommodating, they have a heated outdoor poor and a gas grill the guests can use, the staff very nice and the breakfast very fresh and always full. Will go back to this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rapid City
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 834 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#36 of 53 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#10 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay