We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avanti Motel

102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Avanti Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    7
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was skeptical about staying here but was pleasantly surprised! The rooms were clean and spacious and the bed was super comfortable! There was a nice size fridge. At check in the owner gave us a run down of things happening in town and gave us directions. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel and will stay here the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A friend and I were passing through town and stopping at lots of local tourist attractions. This was outdated from the outside, but very clean, comfortable, and updated on the inside. We would recommend it to anyone looking for an inexpensive place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was easy to find, the staff was helpful, and the room was clean. The linens seemed pretty new, everything worked, and our night was quite peaceful. There was a pretty big fridge and small microwave, making it easy for us to keep our cooler food cool. It takes a lot for me to be comfortable in motel/hotel rooms.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was coming to town with a bunch of friends to check out Mount Rushmore. Surprisingly, a lot of the hotels were expensive. I guess it is quite touristy. But I saw Avanti was available and was decently priced. The interior of the room was updated with some modern-looking sheets and decor. It was fine for a night. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Other reviews are right: this is a really clean place to sleep when you are busy touring. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable-- giving us great ideas for dinner. Three issues detract however: this is a motel, with ashtrays provided outside the rooms. If you are sensitive to smells, you will note a mild smell of smoke in the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Pros: the room was clean, comfortable (good beds, plenty of towels, mini fridge), had A/C (important, as it was 100 degrees when we were there in July), and the price was reasonable. Cons: the Wi-Fi didn't work. We tried on two laptops, two mobile phones, and an iPad, and none of them could connect the first day. We told this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the Avanti Motel. I believe you were the gentleman I spoke to upon check-out and we talked about some different ways to help fix the issue we were having. To update you, based on our conversation, I was able to get another company to come out and take a look at what was... More 

Gothenburg, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Wonderful stay. No poil, but the aquatic center is right around the corner. Family swim time only $10 for entire family. Mini fridge and microwave in room. Coffee in the lobby was good. All staff were super friendly. We are planning to come up here again this fall. We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Omg!! Room #35, musty, creepy, blankets worn out with holes, old worn out green towels you use for washing cars, kids afraid to take showers, one adult dared to take shower only to have cold water only, no hair dryer, sheets yellow, particle board furniture crumbling. Pretty disgusting motel. Only one good thing, FIRM BEDS!! AVOID!! firm bed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experience with our motel, it wasn't until I saw your review did I realize we needed to update some bedding in our back units. I can assure you as soon as I saw your post I made sure housekeeping changed out all linens and put on correct ones. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

Everything about this place is excellent: the location, the rooms and the customer service at the front desk. I didn't get his name but he was telling us we shouldn't miss seeing the old downtown, which we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I booked a room for one night for my family of four. We had stayed at a more expensive hotel for one night as well. Our room at Avanti was just as nice as the 250 dollar room at the other Hotel. Very clean and quiet. Our room had recently been remodeled. The beds are comfortable. I will definitely plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avanti Motel. We hope to see you the next time you are in the wonderful Black Hills! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
3.0 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay