We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avanti Motel

102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535
Hotel amenities
Avanti Motel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mary D Gothenburg, Nebraska
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    4
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Pros: the room was clean, comfortable (good beds, plenty of towels, mini fridge), had A/C (important, as it was 100 degrees when we were there in July), and the price was reasonable. Cons: the Wi-Fi didn't work. We tried on two laptops, two mobile phones, and an iPad, and none of them could connect the first day. We told this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about the Avanti Motel. I believe you were the gentleman I spoke to upon check-out and we talked about some different ways to help fix the issue we were having. To update you, based on our conversation, I was able to get another company to come out and take a look at what was... More 

Gothenburg, Nebraska
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful stay. No poil, but the aquatic center is right around the corner. Family swim time only $10 for entire family. Mini fridge and microwave in room. Coffee in the lobby was good. All staff were super friendly. We are planning to come up here again this fall. We will definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Omg!! Room #35, musty, creepy, blankets worn out with holes, old worn out green towels you use for washing cars, kids afraid to take showers, one adult dared to take shower only to have cold water only, no hair dryer, sheets yellow, particle board furniture crumbling. Pretty disgusting motel. Only one good thing, FIRM BEDS!! AVOID!! firm bed!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a negative experience with our motel, it wasn't until I saw your review did I realize we needed to update some bedding in our back units. I can assure you as soon as I saw your post I made sure housekeeping changed out all linens and put on correct ones. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about this place is excellent: the location, the rooms and the customer service at the front desk. I didn't get his name but he was telling us we shouldn't miss seeing the old downtown, which we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auburn, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I booked a room for one night for my family of four. We had stayed at a more expensive hotel for one night as well. Our room at Avanti was just as nice as the 250 dollar room at the other Hotel. Very clean and quiet. Our room had recently been remodeled. The beds are comfortable. I will definitely plan... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Avanti Motel. We hope to see you the next time you are in the wonderful Black Hills! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Avanti for a weekend. The location is close to downtown.The room we stayed in had been remodeled recently and was very pleasant with comfortable beds. The employees are very friendly.I would definitely stay there the next time we go to Rapid City. Really nice to have a place to stay where you don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

I have been staying here every year since 2007 for the rally. Markie and Tom have always been awesome with myself and others who have stayed here. Extremely accommodating, and helpful. Centrally located, it makes getting around very easy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dade City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Family owned and operated. Recently renovated. My room was very clean, neat and one of the rooms that had been renovated. Staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Mornings are always great with fresh coffee, conversation and happy smiles. I've stayed here for approximately 20 years during the rally and have never had a complaint. Beautiful park next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it is always nice to have return customers so you are able to get to know them just a little bit better. We hope you have a great (and busy) rally this year and enjoy your stay again! More 

Riceville, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We have stayed at the Avanti for a number of years when visiting the Black Hills. We have always found it a great place to stay. The staff is helpful, friendly and make us feel like family. The rooms are clean and well kept. This wonderful motel is very reasonably priced. We won't stay any other place in the Rapid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AvantiMotel, Owner at Avanti Motel, responded to this review

I just wanted to take a minute to personally thank you for your continued patronage to your business and look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Fort Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Always putting their customers first. Clean, comfortable, accommodating with great value for your money. We have stayed at the Avanti many times over the past several years and we will continue to stay here in the future as our travel needs arise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#10 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
1.0 mi away
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
3.0 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#1 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top