We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Rapid City hotels

Lazy "U" Motel

2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (20)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Lazy "U" Motel
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
11
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Lazy U is like the top quality motels of the late 1950s & the 60s. It is very clean, comfy, and well maintained. The old motels had kitchenettes, this is close with a table, chairs, frig & microwave. The lawn chairs outside each room are nice for evening and morning fresh air. There is a nice historic neighborhood nearby... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on our cross country trip. This is an old-fashioned, family-run one-story motel. We parked directly in front of our room. The room was small and clean; there was a desk and a fridge. The bathroom was perfectly fine and the shower great. In the morning there were donuts and coffee in the reception area. Free WiFi. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is an older family run motel which I tried based on reviews on here and I was happy with my choice. Although the front of the motel (the office) is on a main road, the rest of the motel is set back and behind other buildings facing the road, so noise is NOT a problem. The room was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We simply needed somewhere to sleep at a reasonable price, but it had to be CLEAN! We found it here! If you are looking for modern furnishings, swimming pool, multiple device outlets, coffee pot in the room, fitness center.... This is NOT for you! The furnishings are dated, rooms fairly small. But, the beds are queen sized and very comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

I could not have said it better. Thanks for your review. More

Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here and are so glad we did. The room was large and had a good size bar fridge. The owners were friendly and very customer oriented. The donuts were amazing! Some other reviews mentioned the small bathroom however this wasn't an issue for us. If it is an issue due to vanity space, there was a desk in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Some of our rooms were built in 1957. The rooms are more spacious, with tall ceilings, but some of the bathrooms have the sink in the bathroom. We have other rooms built in 1985 that have the outside vanity. This was the room you stayed in. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for staying with us. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and we were extremely pleased with our experience. The rooms were clean and well maintained. This is a family owned hotel and the owners are the nicest people and you can tell by the pride they take in their little motel. The coffee was fresh and delicious in the morning and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We do take pride in our little place. We don't have a great view, but know the rooms are the cleanest they can be because every one of them are inspected by Verlyn, Jackie, Sharon or myself before your stay. Look for ward to seeing you again. More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a clean room on your visit to the Black Hills of SD - this is your stop! The owners of the Lazy U will have the coffee on and will be happy help guide you to all their favorites spots to visit in western SD. Easy to find just keep your eyes open to a very cool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the ind words and for taking the shot with me and the ole truck :) More

Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the night at the Lazy U on our way to Mt Rushmore and Black Hills. Quaint and friendly motel. Excellent service. Older rooms were clean but smaller in size. Bathroom was pretty tight but functional and clean. Good price value except for the bed. Although it was a queen size, the edges on both sides roll off so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on the mattress in your room. We inspected the bed and found the box springs had been broken causing the roll. We have ordered a replacement. Information such as yours is what keeps the rooms as comfortable as they are. More

New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here during a week long visit to the area. The family who own the motel were marvelous. The rooms were neat and clean and fully equipped with both a refrigerator and a microwave. An added bonus were complimentary coffee/tea and freshly baked donuts from a local bakery. The motel sits along a major roadway, so there are also lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

We were so happy your trip went as well as it did. The weather even turned out well after a few rather cool days. Glad you made it home safe. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m a construction worker and the company I work for books our rooms so I usually don’t have a choice as to what motel I’m staying at. However, this is an upgrade from the motel6 where I was staying my first week here where you had to pay extra if you wanted to use there wifi (what a joke I’ve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Rob. The room you were in is usually great for families with kids, enough room for a play pen or blow up mattress. I'm glad you like the shower. Verlyn is a tall guy so thinks of these things when replacing shower heads. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lazy "U" Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Lazy "U" Motel to your Saves list