We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Rapid City hotels

Lazy "U" Motel

2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (20)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (10)
  • Location
  • More
Lazy "U" Motel
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
10
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We simply needed somewhere to sleep at a reasonable price, but it had to be CLEAN! We found it here! If you are looking for modern furnishings, swimming pool, multiple device outlets, coffee pot in the room, fitness center.... This is NOT for you! The furnishings are dated, rooms fairly small. But, the beds are queen sized and very comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

I could not have said it better. Thanks for your review. More

Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here and are so glad we did. The room was large and had a good size bar fridge. The owners were friendly and very customer oriented. The donuts were amazing! Some other reviews mentioned the small bathroom however this wasn't an issue for us. If it is an issue due to vanity space, there was a desk in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Some of our rooms were built in 1957. The rooms are more spacious, with tall ceilings, but some of the bathrooms have the sink in the bathroom. We have other rooms built in 1985 that have the outside vanity. This was the room you stayed in. I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for staying with us. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend and we were extremely pleased with our experience. The rooms were clean and well maintained. This is a family owned hotel and the owners are the nicest people and you can tell by the pride they take in their little motel. The coffee was fresh and delicious in the morning and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We do take pride in our little place. We don't have a great view, but know the rooms are the cleanest they can be because every one of them are inspected by Verlyn, Jackie, Sharon or myself before your stay. Look for ward to seeing you again. More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a clean room on your visit to the Black Hills of SD - this is your stop! The owners of the Lazy U will have the coffee on and will be happy help guide you to all their favorites spots to visit in western SD. Easy to find just keep your eyes open to a very cool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the ind words and for taking the shot with me and the ole truck :) More

Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the night at the Lazy U on our way to Mt Rushmore and Black Hills. Quaint and friendly motel. Excellent service. Older rooms were clean but smaller in size. Bathroom was pretty tight but functional and clean. Good price value except for the bed. Although it was a queen size, the edges on both sides roll off so that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on the mattress in your room. We inspected the bed and found the box springs had been broken causing the roll. We have ordered a replacement. Information such as yours is what keeps the rooms as comfortable as they are. More

New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here during a week long visit to the area. The family who own the motel were marvelous. The rooms were neat and clean and fully equipped with both a refrigerator and a microwave. An added bonus were complimentary coffee/tea and freshly baked donuts from a local bakery. The motel sits along a major roadway, so there are also lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

We were so happy your trip went as well as it did. The weather even turned out well after a few rather cool days. Glad you made it home safe. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m a construction worker and the company I work for books our rooms so I usually don’t have a choice as to what motel I’m staying at. However, this is an upgrade from the motel6 where I was staying my first week here where you had to pay extra if you wanted to use there wifi (what a joke I’ve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words Rob. The room you were in is usually great for families with kids, enough room for a play pen or blow up mattress. I'm glad you like the shower. Verlyn is a tall guy so thinks of these things when replacing shower heads. More

Alliance, Nebraska
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The service is great! Rooms are neat and clean! Lots of space and a refrigerator in the rooms are also great!! Overall rating A+!! Will definitely stay here again!!! It is definitely one of the best motels in Rapid City for the price!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing the Lazy U while in Rapid City ! More

okla
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Lazy U Motel. It was nice to have a friendly face..Cindy... on a long family trip. She was extremely helpful. Glad we chose this hotel. Arrived late and she had everything all set for our family of 10. Thanks Cindy!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you. More

Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked a room at Lazy "U" back in January when I was putting the final touches on our summer roadtrip. I booked them based on reviews from TripAdvisor. I spoke with Verlyn, one of the owners of the motel to book the room and he was so friendly on the phone. The rate to stay here cannot be beat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cindy B, Owner at Lazy "U" Motel, responded to this review

We have had several evening storms this year and you had run into the first big one. We like 24 hours notice, but always say that in case of an emergency we will try to work with you. Glad your family was safe. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lazy "U" Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Lazy "U" Motel to your Saves list