We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rushmore Shadows Resort

Rapid City, SD
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Rushmore Shadows Resort
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gillette, Wyoming
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

Entered a drawing to win an atv or $5000 cash. We were promised a razor tablet and 3 night stay regardless of whether or not our "key" opened the box for the atv or cash. We drove 2.5 hrs one way from Gillette, WY only to be refused anything we were promised because we were 20 minutes late and wouldnt... More 

Helpful?
Thank macers13
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We arrived late after a 4 ½ hour drive and enter the Camp Grounds trying to find where we were supposed to check in. The Paper work we received did not give any instructions where to check in. When we finally found the place to check in the door was locked. When we knocked the guy inside screamed at us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
MidOutResorts, Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize for the customer 'service' you received during your recent visit to Rushmore Shadows Resort. We obviously dropped the ball here from not only a service perspective but also with problems with the accommodation which you were assigned. This is not the way we do business and we are, quite frankly, embarrassed that you had any issues other... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

Beautiful facility, well kept, clean, great for families! Some of the friendliest staff ever met. The store has a bit of everything from RV supplies to complimentary coffee! Easy in and out on your way to Mt. Rushmore! You won't be sorry staying here!

Helpful?
Thank CalifGirl1
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your review of Rushmore Shadows Resort! We are pleased to hear that you found both our facility and our Staff met your vacation expectations. Your remarks made our Staff all warm and fuzzy and ready to tackle a new day! We hope you find your way to the beautiful Black Hills... More 

Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

We had a cabin and it was very nice. We stayed in Cedar which was larger than the park models. The only problem was the hot water tank which was very small for showers but we learned to deal with it. The grounds and pool were very well kept up. Great central location to see the area.

Helpful?
Thank Richard T
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. Guest feedback is very important to us and your comments have been shared with the Maintenance Crew. We are so glad the location of Rushmore Shadows was convenient for you and made it easier for you to visit the great attractions found in the Black Hills area. Happy... More 

New London, NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Rushmore Shadows is a great campground. It is located about 12 miles outside of rapid City on Rt 16, on the way to Mount Rushmore and the Crazy Horse monument. The campground is very clean and nicely laid out. The large sites are fully equipped, level, and easily accessed. The facility has free Wi-Fi, and all of the normal camp... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ted D
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. We are so pleased to hear you and your canine campers enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Black Hills. It's great to hear that both our Staff and our Facility met your vacation expectations. Your comments have been shared with our dedicated Staff and who thank you for your feedback. May your... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015 via mobile

Came out for our first stay and 8 days wasn't enough!!! The facility was beautiful and very well kept, VERY!! The maintenance/security staff are always around when you need them, even if just to give your little one a quick lift to the park (even though I made my kids walk). We rented a six person cabin which the specific... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time in the Black Hills. Thank you for choosing Rushmore Shadows Resort for your vacation headquarters. There IS a lot to do here and we often hear that there just isn't enough time to experience it all. That's ok...it means we get to see you again! Safe travels wherever you may... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Rushmore Shadows for Sturgis 2 years ago and loved it, so we came back this year! This time we stayed 9 days. The grounds are beautiful and very well manicured, the store is well stocked and the staff really takes great care of facilities and they are very friendly. They added a nice dog park and more... More 

Helpful?
Thank eyezzzofblue
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Rally time is one of our favorites. It's like one great big reunion with old friends and new friends! Thanks again for your kind remarks; we've shared your comments with our Staff. Hope to see you the... More 

MN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with a small group during the 2015 Sturgis Rally. Check-in was a bit of a hassle despite our pre-paid reservation. Woman at front desk appeared confused and was slow to check us in. We rented log cabin number 1 for two nights and the Deer Park Model for another night. Complaints first: The log cabin was quaint, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank HDis4me
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us during the 2015 Sturgis Rally. We appreciate your candid comments in areas in which we can improve. Your comments and suggestions have been shared with our Staff. We are pleased that you chose Rushmore Shadows Resort... More 

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

We stayed here because we have a connection to management of this resort, and spent less than 24 hours on the property, but are talking about making arrangements for a longer stay next time. We have lower-elementary age children and this was the perfect place to let them explore and have some freedom. We stayed in a newer cabin that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.We hope you'll come back again soon, there is so much to do here in the Black Hills-it's a great experience for children of all ages. Safe travels wherever you may roam! More 

Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

I don't know if it was the desire to protect Mt. Rushmore but I have never seen so many old staff on edge. I was parked with my son next to the office to have a better WiFi reception when, old timer got "suspicious". When I try to explain that their tenting area is so low and slanted that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank sleeplessmaster
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to update us on your stay! We hope you and your son enjoyed your trip to the Black Hills of South Dakota. Sorry about the 'security presence'- Mt Rushmore is a national treasure after all.(lol) Safe travels- More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Rapid City
Travelodge Rapid City
#36 of 53 in Rapid City
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Rapid City
0.0 mi away
Whispering Winds Cottages
Whispering Winds Cottages
#2 of 16 in Rapid City
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities