We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Rapid City accommodations

Rushmore Shadows Resort

Rapid City, SD
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (22)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • More
Rushmore Shadows Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff was friendly, campground very clean. The kids loved the mini golf and pool! Would stay here again! We were close enough to visit Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and The Badlands National Park all in 2 days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We actually came for a tour, and stayed for three days. We found everyone to be friendly. The resort is spotless. Everywhere you look you'll see someone mowing or cleaning. Would stay with again if we return to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort! Thank you for taking the time to write with your kind remarks and for giving us the opportunity to talk to you. Travel safe! More

Cedar City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I placed a call to the 800 # to make reservations. First off, the woman that answered the phone did not state her name. Mistake #1 for not asking it. As the reservation process was underway, I was informed that if we stayed 4 days/3 nights, we could save well over $100.00 if we attended a 90 minute seminar explaining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MidOutResorts, Front Office Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent call with one of our reservationists. We were sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience and we have shared your remarks with our staff. We understand how desirable pull thru full hook up sites are! The great guys in our maintenance crew are always happy to assist a guest if... More

Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wrote an original review back last year in August, 2013 that was less than stellar. Yeah..we had a few problems and were disappointed in the outcomes. We had traveled quite a long way for the Sturgis Rally and were absolutely thrilled to have Rushmore Shadows honor our Coast to Coast trip points for the rally. Anyway..I wrote a nasty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to update your review. We were happy that you let us know there was a problem BEFORE you left so that we had the opportunity to make things right. Safe travels where ever you may roam - we hope to see you back in the beautiful Black Hills of SD! More

Granger, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here in our RV with full hookup for 4 nights and were very happy. Office staff was nice and helpful. We were very impressed with the shower/bathroom facilities! Very clean. Shower stalls open to the outside, so either men or women can use them. Plenty of room to get dressed, good locks, Our boys enjoyed the mini golf... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. We hope your vacation in the beautiful Black Hills brings you and your family great memories for many years to come.Thanks for letting us know how we did and for taking the time to give us your feedback. Safe travels where ever you may roam! More

St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We made our reservations (2/sites) for 12 nights in October or 2012 for August 2013 and paid in full at the time we made the reservations. We also requested pull through s for our large rigs. We were told they would do the best they could. We arrived and found there were no pull through sites and we were directed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. Each year we improve Rushmore Shadows using feedback we receive from guests. We know everyone likes to keep in touch while they are on the road and we are aware that the guest WIFI is an important issue. Recent equipment storm damage in the area interrupted our... More

Collinsville, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

our stay at Rushmore Shadows was great. I felt safe letting my 7-year-old roam around this was a first for him.there was enough wide open space that I felt like I could see him from most areas. And he felt like he had a little freedom. We loved the pool it was perfectly heated even though it was chilly in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort! We hope your vacation in the beautiful Black Hills brings you and your family great memories for for many years to come. Thanks for letting us know we did a good job and for taking the time to give us your feedback.Safe travels where ever you may... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 months in advance. Was between KOA and them. They said that they had a pull through for our stay. We are a 34' pulling a car. 11 campgrounds into our 1.25 month trip, and ABSOLUTELY no issues. We got to Rushmore Shadows and was assigned a small back-in. When I questioned them they said that "all sites are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the type of site you requested during your reservation call. We do try to accommodate each guest with their requests and we are glad that we had the opportunity to put you on the pull through site you wanted. Thank you for making us aware about the showers in... More

Katy, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here over 4th of July for two nights. We were told we might end up not being hooked up because of overbooking but ended up having full hook ups the entire time. We did not have a real site though and was on a "B" sure right next to the bathroom which was ok Sind our RV is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RushmoreShadows, Public Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Rushmore Shadows Resort. 4th of July is definitely a very busy time here and we do our best to accommodate everyone whenever possible. The mini golf course is a recent addition and your comments are appreciated. We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in the Black Hills. Happy travels... More

Belle Fourche
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rushmore Shadows Resort is a good place to bring your family. Has a great pool, and it's minutes from all the major attractions. So we liked that part. They just put in a "small-ish" 18 hole putt-putt golf course that was actually alot of fun. Could use to fix-up the trailer rental "cabins". Just rip out the carpet already. Way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RushmoreShadows, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort and that our staff was helpful. We're lucky you and your family were here to help us launch our new mini golf course which just opened July 3! We always appreciate feedback- as a matter of fact, the addition of the mini golf course is the result of previous... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rushmore Shadows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rushmore Shadows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rushmore Shadows Resort

Address: Rapid City, SD
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Also Known As:
Rushmore Shadows Hotel Rapid City

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:19
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Rushmore Shadows Resort to your Saves list