We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rushmore Shadows Resort

Rapid City, SD
Rushmore Shadows Resort
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (28)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Great hotel, close to town, nice venues, and shopping, close to convention center, ease of travel to the mountains and the monuments and lovely place for a family and their children to stay for a short vacations weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MidOutResorts, Front Office Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Black Hills. Travel safe and come back real soon! More 

Cheyenne, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Cabins were not clean, coffee pot, toaster had so much old dust it was an inch thick. Cabins are not to have pets but on couch was full of dog hair. We have taken our 5th wheel and the campsites are very nice, the area is kept clean and they have some fun activities for small children but I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MidOutResorts, Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so sorry to hear that the cabin you stayed in was not up to standards. We have passed your concerns on to the staff and are working to correct this problem in the future. We want to encourage you to give us another chance on... More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed at the Rushmore Shadows Resort over the Labor Day weekend and had a fantastic time. The Campground seemed full, but because of the large area it occupied, it never felt crowded. Our checkin was quick and the staff was very friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable about the campground to give us the perfect site. We had a 30-foot travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review. It sounds like you had a fantastic Black Hills vacation - we're so glad we got to play a part! Thanks for choosing us for your South Dakota adventure, (your remarks will keep us warm and fuzzy throughout the winter months). Until we meet again - travel safe!... More 

casper
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We went camping here it was in a perfect location, close to everything you would like to do in the black hills. just up from reptile gardens and bear country. The sites are long enough even if you have a very long rig like ours. The only negatives are no cable and very poor internet otherwise I would give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad you chose Rushmore Shadows for your Black Hills vacation headquarters! Happy to hear we were able to accommodate your rig, too. There's so much to see and do here that staying centrally located works best for most families. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your review. Safe travels wherever you may roam! More 

Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Check-in was easy and staff was friendly. Good location for many attractions, but comes with a cost. There are many campgrounds to choose from in the area, and after staying here, we would probably pick another park. Very large park, which includes cabins and tent areas. Campground has large pet play area, mini golf course, and holds events for its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback on your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort. The Resort Manager does read each and every comment card from each and every Guest. We use these comments to improve both our facilities and our staff training. The remarks you shared were immediately given to the Director of Sales who has... More 

Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The camp ground was beautiful and well kept. It had a very nice swimming pool. Green belts for the kids to run and have fun. Picnic tables which was a big help. It was only a few minutes from all the kids play grounds. I would recommend this camp ground to anyone and we certainly would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind response. It's good to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you our way again. Keep making those great vacation memories with your family and travel safe! More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Staff was friendly, campground very clean. The kids loved the mini golf and pool! Would stay here again! We were close enough to visit Mount Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park and The Badlands National Park all in 2 days!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Safe travels wherever you may wander. More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We actually came for a tour, and stayed for three days. We found everyone to be friendly. The resort is spotless. Everywhere you look you'll see someone mowing or cleaning. Would stay with again if we return to the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Rushmore Shadows Resort! Thank you for taking the time to write with your kind remarks and for giving us the opportunity to talk to you. Travel safe! More 

Cedar City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I placed a call to the 800 # to make reservations. First off, the woman that answered the phone did not state her name. Mistake #1 for not asking it. As the reservation process was underway, I was informed that if we stayed 4 days/3 nights, we could save well over $100.00 if we attended a 90 minute seminar explaining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MidOutResorts, Front Office Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent call with one of our reservationists. We were sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience and we have shared your remarks with our staff. We understand how desirable pull thru full hook up sites are! The great guys in our maintenance crew are always happy to assist a guest if... More 

Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I wrote an original review back last year in August, 2013 that was less than stellar. Yeah..we had a few problems and were disappointed in the outcomes. We had traveled quite a long way for the Sturgis Rally and were absolutely thrilled to have Rushmore Shadows honor our Coast to Coast trip points for the rally. Anyway..I wrote a nasty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
MidOutResorts, Guest Relations Manager at Rushmore Shadows Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to update your review. We were happy that you let us know there was a problem BEFORE you left so that we had the opportunity to make things right. Safe travels where ever you may roam - we hope to see you back in the beautiful Black Hills of SD! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
1:19
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question