We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
523 6th Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    356
    257
    129
    75
    42
See reviews for
189
315
57
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (859)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (363)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (130)
All months
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Checking in was silliness, NOT service oriented. Rooms are tiny (even upgraded rooms) Needs significant improvement and updating. Valet's were the only good thing. Parking is ridiculous (a block and a half away). Breakfast coupons are for StarBucks and choices are not worth the amount charged. NOT close to Hilton standards. Find some place else...bath rooms need the more updating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is one of those hotels that make it worth changing your plans and adding a city to your route - in this case, Rapid City, South Dakota. If visiting anywhere in this region, you need to stay here. First off, all the places in Keystone (next to Mt Rushmore an Crazy Horse monuments) and Deadwood are kinda trashy, loud,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was originally wary of booking here after reading the parking negatives. But, we did stay and had no problem with free on street parking. Of course we were out all day so returning at five the parking was no issue. I'm only giving four stars because of a few issues-one bathrobe in king room, leftover bar of soap left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Upon arriving at this hotel we were given free valet parking as the main street was closed due to a great street party. What a great idea this party was. When we went to our room which was non smoking the smell of smoke was overwhelming. We requested a change of rooms and went from the 4th floor to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review for our hotel. We apologize for the noise and smell issues you encountered with staying with us. We will be recieving renovations in the next coming months and this should remedy the sound from the 10th floor you heard in you 9th floor room. We hope you will give... More 

Bismarck, United States
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Unclean, Bed appeared as if it had not been changed, not safe as I was approached by several demanding drunks, had to walk 2 blocks to get my own car that was valet parked, closet smelled to strong of must to put clothes in, random hot water.

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review for our hotel. We'd like to apologize for not being up to standard. We are new to the Hilton brand and will use our upcoming renovation and your review to motivate our staff to reach that Hilton standard. We hope you will give us another chance to go beyond... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed in the conditions of the hallways and rooms. Showers did not work well at all...when I called the front desk to report only getting cold water - I was told everyone else was also showering....this could be a first class hotel but it is in need of being renovated...NICE TOWELS but that is the nicest remark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the water issues you experienced, but I would like to inform you that we have recently replaced our water heaters and cold water should no longer be a problem. As you mentioned, we will be going through some renovations and we hope when you return... More 

South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I grew up in South Dakota and went to college in Rapid City. The hotel Alex Johnson was always a place we thought was like high class, you were somebody if you stayed there! I return to RC for a weekend of R&R and looking for a place that is centrally located to the drinking joints. Perfect spot! They have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the TripAdvisor review. We apologize for the negative experience you had with our bathrooms and air conditioners. I would like to inform you that in a few months we will be undergoing a large renovation that should address the issues you mentioned. With those problems solved we hope you return to find us a hotel that will... More 

wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night here-- it is a historic hotel that has recently become a Hilton property. As it is right now, the hotel has potential, but is currently in great need of updating. Slow elevators, tiny rooms, thin walls, dingy interiors, etc, The showers are the worst! Because of where the shower head is placed on the wall, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMAlexJohnson, General Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review. We apologize for the experience you had while staying. We have just become a Hilton property and we are very excited. This means we will recieve a large multi-million dollar renovation to the property. As the Front Office Manager I will personally ensure the front desk is informed of... More 

McKinney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a must stay if you are in or near Rapid City. The Check in was a little long,but that was okay,I don't believe that is normal. We stayed in a King room,it had coffee pot,fridge,microwave and robe in the room. The bed was very comfortable too. This hotel is downtown and close to shopping and eateries. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great TripAdvisor review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I will ensure Alexa and Sydney know that you were satisfied with their great customer service. Your review will serve as a goal for our employees to set for each guest we see staying in our hotel. We hope to see you in again soon!... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a week in the Alex Johnson Hotel, and made it my base to explore the Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills, and the Badlands area. I was quite pleased with my experience overall. It’s an old, historic hotel right in downtown Rapid City, and I would classify it as a 3 star hotel, maybe 3 and half. You’re right in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMAlexJohnson, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the extensive TripAdvisor review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and love the detail included in your review. I will ensure our Valets are informed of the great service they provided for you, we have been a Hilton for a few weeks now and still perform our ghost tours. Hopefully we will see you... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Black Hills(7)
  • Parking garage(6)
  • Top floor(6)
  • Very friendly(5)
  • Gift shop(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
3.8 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
0.2 mi away
Adoba Eco Hotel Rapid City/Mt. Rushmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay