We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Rapid City

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
750 Cathedral Drive, Rapid City, SD 57701
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Rapid City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015
JJLJOregon Roseburg, Oregon
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
44
28
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Roseburg, Oregon
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed three nights in a room with a king bed at this hotel during our visit to the Black Hills. It is very conveniently located for traveling to Mt. Rushmore and other sights in the Black Hills. The staff was very helpful, courteous, friendly and professional. Our room was clean and quiet. The décor of the facility and our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Dear JJLJOregon, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us specifically over the room. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will return to stay with... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

This was my first stay at this hotel. First of all the only good thing about my stay was the housekeeper was very nice and im an IHG employee so it was half way decent price other than that....the employees (besides housekeeper of course)were not friendly. I called the front desk to have them open the safe in my room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Dear kkrystil341, Thank you for taking some time out of your busy day to leave us a comment. I appreciate you regarding one of our staff members' service from the housekeeping department. On the the other hand, I would like to offer my apologies if you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to the lack... More 

Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
54 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This was the first time we used IHG Rewards Points and we were sorely disappointed. I expected in a King Room there would be a small fridge and microwave...there were neither. There was coffee the first night, but it was not replenished the following two nights. The facility was a bit run down...standard Holiday Inn Express breakfast fare. The heater... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RapidCityGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

We are pleased that you stayed with us as a pet friendly hotel. It is certainly unfortunate that another guest blocked the pet area with a vehicle. We are monitoring that to ensure guests and pets can enjoy this area. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are initiating the renovation process of our property and invite you to... More 

Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

My check in set the tone for my stay here, and it really wasn't good. There were two people at the counter, one appeared to be counting cash and was too busy to look up. The other wearing jeans and a T-Shirt eventually made his way to help me. It just seemed a bit off. Check in was a slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
RapidCityGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

We apologize that you were disappointed in your stay with us. We strive for guests to have an enjoyable stay while in the Black Hills. Our fitness center is new and we are still adding to it for the optimum workout experience. We have taken your comments to heart and training for staff has been implemented and is on-going. We... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

We stay at Holiday Inn Express 90% of the time when on the road. Mainly because we know what to expect. We were disappointed with this location. There was no refrigerator, or microwave in the room and the room air conditioner has d a antique control. No thermostat, no way to have the fan on constantly with air or heat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

While we strive for the best in guest experience at our hotel, we would like to invite you to return to our property and give us another look. We have rearranged the breakfast area and leisure seating to accommodate for a more pleasurable morning start to your day. Thank you for sharing your view with us. We look forward to... More 

Walnut Creek, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Loved the location, within blocks of the cute historic downtown. We had many restaurant choices within just a half mile or so. Booked this on Priceline and was very pleased. The staff was very welcoming and the hotel is lovely. The room was spacious and quiet, and there's plenty of free parking. I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay and comment, JTJB1. Look forward to your next visit to Rapid City, South Dakota; plenty more to see. More 

Blaine, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed two nights, just to go to Mt Rushmore. Was disappointed that there wasn't a hot tub. Kids did enjoy pool, but hubby could have really used a hot tub, after day at Mt Rushmore and other sites in town, especially considering the size of the room the pool is in, they could have two and still have room for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay, Jrtoots01. And I can understand your concerns in regards to a hot tub, it can be relaxing after a long day. We are in the process of a "property evaluation", and we will have that as a topic of discussion. Once again, thank you for your stay and your opinion is valued. More 

Grantham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We arrived in Rapid City 9:30am local time (left Boston Logan at 6am) Stopped at hotel to just to let them know we were in town. Was told room would not be ready until 4pm the latest. Spent day seeing sights, shopping arriving at 5 pm we were checked in to room 112. Room was amazingly clean and we felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hay Springs, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel has a management problem! The staff was wonderful but terribly overworked. The rooms were clean but stained everywhere and the fixtures in the bathrooms were so ill fitted that the mildew problems were rampant. I stayed here while my husband was in the hospital and the staff was very good to me, even finding me another room when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Dear Lori H, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should... More 

Ellijay, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

As HI Express hotels go, this one would be low on my scale. The staff is friendly, but the hotel is old and outdated. Not worth the rates charged in summer. The noise level from motorcycles is loud, really loud and it continues well into the night. Room AC's are old and loud, too. At least they work, but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rapid City, responded to this review

Dear Brother-Bobs, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question