We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Pierre hotels

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
70%
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Pierre
A recent review
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
13
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was expecting a run of the mill sort of hotel but got way more than that especially with the quality of my room from the decor to the cleanliness to the annemnities (spelling?) provided. Also impressed by the pool area, it looked great although I didn't get a chance to use it as I was on business but considering... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Please come back in the the summer for the recreational activities. There is kayaking, boating, hiking and fishing in Pierre. We have bikes at the hotel for the family to take out on the bike and walking path along the river. Our city is beautiful in the summer... More

watertown, sd
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pet friendly hotel. Our room was on the backside of the hotel with an outside entry. If I stayed here again I would ask for a room that did not accept pets. The room had the distinct smell of urine masked with deodorizer. There is a refrigerator in the room. Our room also had another door leading to a hallway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and apologize for the problem with the room. I will have maintenance shampoo all of our down and out rooms with outside entrances. We will work on our signage in the hallways, so guests can find their way around the facility. I am glad the restaurant experience was a good one. Rick Murray General Manager More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was clean but everything just looks dated. The hinges and all metal in the room was rusted and the heating/cooling unit was noisy. The conference area had a horrible sewer gas smell that lasted all day. The fridge was a nice addition to have in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are updating our rooms with new furniture and carpets. I apologize for the odor in the convention center. We had a dry drain on the roof and we called a plumber in to find it. It took him a whille to locate it and he fixed the problem. Again, thank you for your response.... More

Southern MN
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoy this hotel because it has poolside rooms, and a nice spacious pool area with a lot of tables. We had a very nice birthday party for our daughter there. However, the last two times we stayed there the water in the swimming pool was so cold that our kids could barely stand to swim in it. The first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I will have maintenance turn up the temperature. It is suppose to be at 81 to 83 degrees and 84 degrees in the pool area. We will check it and make sure it is at that temperature. If it was that cold it isn't. I apologize and we will get it corrected. Thank you... More

Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, very friendly front desk, and clean rooms. The set up of the pool are was nice also. However the restaurant staff was awful!!!! Very unfriendly. Felt like an inconvenience to them. No wonder there were not many people in there. Would not suggest restaurant and will be having McDonalds for breakfast tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize for the service you received in the restaurant at our hotel. I assure you this isn't the standard in the restaurant. I have spoken with the restaurant manager and we will work with the servers and hostess and correct this problem. Rick Murray General Manager More

Crawford Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent service from staff,restaurant and lounge hands down the best hotel I stay at and I am on the road 230 days of the year and always look forward to my stay at the Ramkota Best Western in Pierre, S.D.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response on TripAdvisor. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. We appreciate that you choose our facility while in Pierre. Thank you, Rick Murray General Manager More

Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Walked into the bar to have an appetizer and a drink. Sat at the bar and was quickly told if I wanted any food I could not sit in the bar area I had to go sit the the empty diner. Asked if i could stay in the bar area I only want an appetizer and quickly met with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response about your stay. I have spoke to the lounge manager about this incident. She said she left a voice mail on your room phone to apaologize and she wanted to take care of your order if you came back to the lounge or we would bring to your room as room service. But that doesn't... More

Aberdeen, SD, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I really enjoyed the friendly staff. They worked hard to make me feel welcome and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite attractive, roomy, and with excellent personal care products.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Rick Murray General Manager More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
180 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a huge property and you may have to walk a while to your room. I was able to use a back entrance so it wasn't too bad, but I did have to navigate around the cleaning station, coming and going, whose door was open and hopping most of the day, so I got to see the machine that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments. However I will have the maintenance department keep their shop and boiler room closed from now on. We will work on the rooms to give them a little pazaaz. We want you to be be impressed after you stay with us. Thank you again, your comments will help us in the future, Rick Murray General... More

Hot Springs, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Breakfast service was very slow and very unprofessional. Housekeeping did not do a great job. Meeting facility did not offer water, soda, hot chocolate, etc. for people whom are not alcohol consumers. Front desk could use a smile and a friendly disposition.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would like to apologize for the service in the restaurant. We have added another waitress and an expeditor on days with no morning breakfast activity in the convention center. I have spoke with housekeeping and they are working with the housekeeper in that section. I apologize for not having non-alcohol items that evening. Again... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Pierre
Pierre Best Western
Address: 920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Pierre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.