We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
920 West Sioux Ave., Pierre, SD 57501
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    19
    12
    5
See reviews for
22
19
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Huron, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful place to stay when visiting SD. Located on the beautiful Missouri River. Beautiful and abundant walking paths. Gorgeous scenery. Fishing and hunting available nearby. Many restaurant choices in the City of Pierre. Fun shopping in downtown Pierre. Small town safe atmosphere.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Pierre is a wonderful place to live and visit from the historian to the sportsmen. There is plenty of things to see and do in Pierre. Rick Murray General Manager More 

Brookings, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Top notch hotel, place to eat, pool and hot tub! Rooms are clean and big! Bed and pillows are very nice! Food in the restaurant is flat amazing! Great place to stay! Would recommend this place to anyone who is in Pierre SD.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response Ryan. We really appreciate your feedback. I will pass your compliments on to the kitchen and housekeeping. Rick Murray General Manager More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everyone tries to do their best whenever I stay here, which is often. I sort of messed myself up trying to get a cheaper rate and booked two different companies which made me have to move rooms. OH well, no big deal, they acted like they did it but it was me and they felt bad that I had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response Eric. I will pass your comments on to the entire staff. They will really appreciate your comments. We will be starting a major remodel of the hotel starting with the ground floor rooms section and next year start the second floor and the public areas and convention center. Next time you are here stop in... More 

Huron, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Great warm and friendly service. Excellent value. Delicious food. Stay at the Pierre Ramkota when visiting South Dakota. It's located right on the Missouri River. Walking paths, scenic views, fishing and hunting opportunities for all visitors!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response Peggy. We really appreciate the compliments. I am glad everything is going well. I will pass your comments on to the entire staff. Rick Murray General Manager More 

South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The room was clean, but this hotel is really starting to show its age. The beds and pillows have seen better days, and the sheets were very old and pilling (all those fuzziez) on them. During our stay, we went back to the room and our heater was no longer working. Maintenance came right away and decided our room needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your. response. I apologize for the problems with your room. We are starting a major remodel of the hotel this year. We are going through the rooms and hallways, from carpet, vinyl and furniture and fixtures. Again, I apologize and thank you for your response. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

To get to rooms is a maze. Room was dirty in bathroom(feces under TP holder on wall), tub shower was slow and drain almost clogged, staff was less than helpful, rates were high- considering you get no microwave or mini refrigerator in rooms. There is a train that runs right behind the hotel, and it runs at night....I don't recommend... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rickmurray, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your response. I apologize for the cleanliness of your room. There is no excuse for this to happen. Our room inspectors should have caught this and taken care of it before you checked in. We are going to start an extensive renovation this year, by going through the rooms and hallways with new vinyl, carpet, furniture and... More 

SD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

While I did not stay at the hotel, I was a multi-day guest of theirs for a conference. The staff while sometimes short handed for the large group, always went out of their way to make sure everyone was taken care of. even with the smallest request they would go out of their way to make sure it was taken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. I am glad your enjoyed your conference. I will pass your compliments on to the staff. Rick Murray General Manager More 

Spearfish
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Another most enjoyable stay at the Best Western Hotel in Pierre, South Dakota. We hosted and attended our South Dakota Association Annual Technical Conference for rural water systems. This was my 14th Water Conference here at the Best Western Ramkota in Pierre. I have attended other events with this hotel in the past, over the many years. I have also... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for responding. I am glad you enjoyed yourself during your stay. We are always happy and honored to host the Rural Water Convention. I will pass your comments on to the staff. Rick Murray General Manager More 

Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Was here for a business conference everything was great! Very well pleased! Clean nice rooms, staff was pleasant and helpful. ate at the restaurant the waitress was great but service was slow but they were also very busy!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am glad your stay was pleasant. I apologize for the service being slow. Thank you for your understanding. Rick Murray General Manager More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Hotel staff is extremely rude and slow to assist with any problem. No continental breakfast. Restaurant service is deathly slow... if you are in a hurry eat elsewhere. Room temperature was so hot in January and could not get it to cool down. Pool was so over chlorinated the smell made us feel sick. Hot tub was cloudy. Bar staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rickmurray, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I would like to apologize for the service you encountered in the restaurant and lounge. We will work to improve in those areas. We had a problem with the temperature control in the meeting space because a computer that runs it went out. If there is anything I can do to make this right please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (80)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (34)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question