We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Lodge

#3 of 11 Hotels in Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
713 W. Sioux Ave, Pierre, SD 57501
Special Rate
BOOK DIRECT, SAVE 30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
River Lodge
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
22
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is a good value. The hotel rooms are being updated. The carpet, office chair, TV, and sitting chair are updated. The bed and pillows are comfortable. The room is clean and comfortable. It offers complimentary wireless internet and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for you time and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. You noticed many of our new upgrades like Tvs and new Euro Top beds. We know you have a choice and are glad you choose the River Lodge for your home away from home. We hope you... More 

Pierre, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed here more than once and they always are able to give me a price that I can afford that is why I stay here. the girl at the front desk kate always helps me and talks to me when I need help. I enjoy all the coffee and the biscuts n gravy. I will continue to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review, we appreciate you taking your time and sharing your great experience with others. We try hard to ensure we exceed our guests expectation and we glad we met yours. Thank you for your business, We look forward to your next stay. Check out our new Renovation including great new beds and huge Tv's... More 

Sd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

If you're looking for a clean bed and place to shower than this place is for you. There are no frills. Windows need to be replaced. We were on the front of the hotel and could hear all traffic passing by on the busy street. Carpet had a red stain and chair was covered in stains. Breakfast is basic. Waffles,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank You for taking time to write a review, we apologize for the issue you had with your room. We are a local hotel and take great pride in our hotel. Call me at 605 224 4140 to discuss your stay and i will make it right. We are the process of replacing our windows and waiing for the... More 

Watertown, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

nice front desk help (kate) great breakfast bar, the eggs and biscuits and gravy and waffles were amazing. had a lot of caffeine. ate way too much. nice to have rolls on deck. wish that the annex building locks worked a little bit better. will continue to stay here twice a year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank You for a great review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon again. We offer exceptional value among the hotels in Pierre and pleased to have your loyal business. Thanks again ! Rick More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We booked this room because it was a little less expensive than our usual lodging place for our trip to Pierre for Thanksgiving. Since we are there for a family gathering it doesn't make much sense to pay a lot for a room we only use the to sleep in. We received a quiet room in a comfortable size. Nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for Giving us a try, We are Glad you enjoyed your stay. We have tons of parks right behind us but in December its covered in Snow so they don't look green. We have just finished painting all our rooms and completing many updates. I invite you to come back and i am sure you will be able... More 

Story City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

When looking for a place to stay, noticed good reviews and "fresh baked cinnamon rolls"! That sold us on checking this place out! Nice friendly people, nice clean rooms! Good beds! Very pleased! Those cinnamon rolls.........yummy! Had two for breakfast and was offered another one upon checking out shortly before 11:00 am! I couldn't refuse! Great location and a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

HI Thank you for your great review, We appreciate your business and your choice to stay local. We do take pride in our business as it is where many call there home away from home while in Pierre. We take great care to ensure we provide a great room and the right price. We are continuously improving our property and... More 

San Angelo, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014 via mobile

clean rooms in the annex. had a non smoking room, although the common area did have small odor, room did not. cute woodsy room. paint job in room was not great but you could tell it was recently painted which was nice to see. cleaning cloth was a plus to clean up spills. would stay here again. for the price,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi We are glad you had a good experience at our locally owned and locally operated hotel. We strive to provide an exceptional value to our guests. We strive to continuously improve and improve the experience for our guests by keeping our prices low and offer all the features and amenities all the name brand hotels offer in town. We... More 

Alexandria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Such a nice place , Was meet right away by Erika at front door,very friendly asked how she could help I said I just wanted to find out there Rate's. Erika , said great , and the rate was great , then she topped of by telling cookies are almost done please stick around. good speed at the internet restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

THANK YOU FOR A 5 STAR REVIEW As a big thank you for our guests who use TripAdvisor to book rooms we offer time to time promotions. Make sure you book using the links on the hotels TripAdvisor page to take advantage of these great prices. Thank You Again. RICK More 

Carlyle, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We were disappointed with our accomodation on this stay at the River Lodge. The staff and the breakfast were great as was the rate, but the room was in need of some TLC. The window crank was broken, the noise from the hallway and exit was disturbing, and the room smelled of mildew.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, Owner at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank You for taking time to write a review, we apologize for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Call me at 605 224 4140 to discuss your stay and i will make it right. We are the process of replacing our windows and apologize for the handle been broken. We are actively working on renovating our rooms and... More 

Mason, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Simple accommodations. Clean. Small breakfast. Most small hotels agree simple and clean. Nice place to stay if you are hunting or fishing and won't be in the room to long. Most rooms she two double beds and a frigerator.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rick P, General Manager at River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for you time and your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. I guess you haven't noticed many of our new upgrades like Tvs and new Euro Top beds. We know you have a choice and are glad you choose the River Lodge for your home away from home.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question