We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1001 South Burr Street, PO Box 849, Mitchell, SD 57301 (Formerly Best Western)
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    69
    45
    10
    11
See reviews for
52
49
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was a little weary choosing this hotel, as budget hotels can sometimes be pretty scary. But, I was blown away by this property. The front desk agent was very sweet to me and my room was great. Spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed and the linens and pillows were really nice. The bathroom was pretty average but had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a complimentary review. I am passing on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn the next time you are in... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The breakfast bar leaves so much to be desired. Not so much as a singlr muffin or fresh cooked item like eggs or something nutritional. Besides the waffles, which the woman insisted on making even though she coughed all over it and was watching me while I ate. The 'pool' is a kiddy pool at best and the vending machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay. I appreciate your taking the time to post a review and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced. I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations we strive for with all our guest-the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comments... More 

Gotham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The first room we had didn't have hot water due to an unknown plumbing problem. The motel nicely moved us to another room with a king bed. The room was nicer than our orginal. The motel was as expected though tge staff was very nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank You for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mitchell. More 

Norman, OK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We were in Mitchell after a death in the family and needed a room. We purchased a Priceline Express Deal and were assigned to this motel. We paid only $47 a night for 6 nights. This is a true motel- we parked right outside our room. The room had 2 double beds and a 2nd sink outside the bathroom. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. I would like to personally apologize for the breakfast mishap but I am glad you overall enjoyed your stay. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again. R. Lynn Rostie More 

Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We were traveling across the state when bad weather forced us to stop before it got dark. I booked from my smartphone a few miles away from Mitchell. The price led me to believe the facility would be nothing special but I was wrong! OK...maybe not SPECIAL, but this was a very nice room--spacious and clean, apparently recently renovated. I'm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn for your stay. I am sorry about the situation in which you had to stay but we are glad you found us! Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again. R. Lynn Rostie More 

Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My husband, dog and I stayed here twice, en route to the Black Hills and on our way home. We had a very pleasant time in Mitchell. The room was a great size, the area was decent enough to take my dog around for a walk (lots of grass around), and the breakfast was phenomenal (hard boiled eggs, waffles, juice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mitchell. More 

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

This older property is well maintained and a great value. The room was huge, the bed comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked great. There is a separate breakfast room for the comp breakfast staffed by a nice lady who offers to make your waffle for you, although my wife and I just had cold cereal and yogurt. An excellent value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here while passing through a few days ago. This is a very clean and comfortable hotel- very basic. I was very satisfied, but cannot recommend the breakfast. Hey, for the price of the room I'm not complaining- maybe they should just eliminate the breakfast or charge a few dollars more and provide some decent food. I actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Mitchell. More 

Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This is an older motel and the age shows in some places, but it is clean and the rooms are a nice size. The price was reasonable. The front desk staff were very, very nice. The breakfast was great for a motel continental. A decent Mexican restaurant one could walk to through the parking lot. This place has a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mitchell. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is an older motel but our room was reasonably priced, very clean and comfortable; loved the comforel pillows. Very pleasant staff, with excellent breakfast. It is close to the highway, but traffic noise was not a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Mitchell. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question