We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell

2.0 of 5 1001 South Burr Street, PO Box 849, Mitchell, SD 57301 (Formerly Best Western)
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    65
    45
    10
    10
See reviews for
50
48
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (90)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This older property is well maintained and a great value. The room was huge, the bed comfortable and the Wi-Fi worked great. There is a separate breakfast room for the comp breakfast staffed by a nice lady who offers to make your waffle for you, although my wife and I just had cold cereal and yogurt. An excellent value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here while passing through a few days ago. This is a very clean and comfortable hotel- very basic. I was very satisfied, but cannot recommend the breakfast. Hey, for the price of the room I'm not complaining- maybe they should just eliminate the breakfast or charge a few dollars more and provide some decent food. I actually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Mitchell. More

Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

This is an older motel and the age shows in some places, but it is clean and the rooms are a nice size. The price was reasonable. The front desk staff were very, very nice. The breakfast was great for a motel continental. A decent Mexican restaurant one could walk to through the parking lot. This place has a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Mitchell. More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is an older motel but our room was reasonably priced, very clean and comfortable; loved the comforel pillows. Very pleasant staff, with excellent breakfast. It is close to the highway, but traffic noise was not a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Mitchell. More

Buffalo City WI
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

While traveling with my friend to Deadwood, we decided to stop here for the night. The reviews were favorable and price was great. Upon arrival the front desk clerk was friendly, helpful and kind. Or room was large, clean and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. I would stay here again. It has stairs, so request... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

This is an older motel on the main road into Mitchell. The room was clean but dated. The air conditioner was a wall mounted unit that you need to get on a chair to see the dials and there was a bit of noise in the parking lot kind of late, but not that bad considering the location close to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Ulm, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our last night on our way home from the Sturgis Rally. We decided to "wing it" on our way home and didn't t have reservations anywhere. We stopped for a bite in Chamberlain and I found this place on one of the booking websites. We hit the rode for one more hour and arrived in Mitchell just after dark. Stopped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us. Regards, More

Anoka
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Checked into room on way back from Sturgis Rally. Horrible disinfectant smell or spray to cover up smoke. Burned my throat and made me cough. Carpet damp, pillows in room damp,air conditioner smelled like mold. No other room. We opened door, broken window, turned on a/c fan and bath fan. I sat outside for an hour. Still terrible. Slept in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

I would like to personally apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while a guest at our motel. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will give us a second chance at Americas Best Value Inn the next time you are in Mitchell. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy... More

Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Room was clean and reasonably priced. Front desk staff very friendly... even when I locked us out of our room and had to get another room key card. Can't say anything about the breakfast as we were back on the road long before it opened. I would stay here again when passing through.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. I hope you will stay with us the next time you come through Mitchell. R. Lynn Rostie More

South Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Clean, comfortable, and conveniently located right off of I90. Spacious, well supplied room, much nicer than many of the chain motels where we have stayed on this trip, and at a much better price. No micro/fridge, but microwave available for use in the office. Breakfast included. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lynn r, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are traveling. R. Lynn Rostie More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell

Address: 1001 South Burr Street, PO Box 849, Mitchell, SD 57301 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn- Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Mitchell
Best Western Mitchell
Mitchell Best Western

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay