We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Mitchell hotels

Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell to your Saves list
Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Mitchell
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jerry W
  • Overview
  • Reviews (93)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
33
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had planned to stay at the Super8 in Sioux Falls by the airport, but one look and we drove on to Mitchell, SD. Found this gem right off the interstate! Very reasonable, comfortable and clean rooms, very friendly staff, too. This was night 3 on our 22 state summer trip and this is one of the few places we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Morenci, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great price! The room was simple and comfortable for the one night we stayed! The owner was friendly and very helpful. There is a restaurant within walking distance,and other that are a short drive. Close to the corn palace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

You nailed it, Sue! Thank you very much for leaving your kind review and we look forward to seeing you next time you're through Mitchell! More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room, comfy bed. Close to highway with a restaurant right next to it. Affordable pricing for the value of service. Friendly workers at the motel. Planning to stay on my next trip. Also close to attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! I will let our desk staff know that you appreciated the service during your stay and we would love to see you again on your next stop through Mitchell! More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

For a very reasonable price this motel does what it should. It's conveniently located from the freeway, it's very clean and the staff were friendly. Don't expect luxury of course but this was a good option during a long road trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. One of our tag lines here at Thunderbird Lodge is "Where great price meets great value." and we're thrilled you stayed with us to experience that on your trip through Mitchell. Thanks again for your business, and for the review. Have a great trip! More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Thunderbird Lodge offers a great value for a stay in Mitchell. We were greeted by a friendly desk clerk, who not only quickly checked us in, but was also helpful in directing us to local attractions. Our room featured a very comfortable bed with a clean bathroom. Breakfast was adequate but not deluxe due to a limited variety of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I'm happy to hear that your check-in process was enjoyable. I'll pass on your review to our friendly desk clerks who always like to know their hard work is appreciated. Please keep us in mind on your next trip through South Dakota! More

Billings, Montana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I remember my grandfather complaining about having to pay $20 just to sleep for a night at a motel. Prices have changed, but like my grandpa I don't like to pay $120 or more just for a place to sleep while passing through. The Thunderbird is older and pretty basic, but was clean, comfortable and modestly priced. Absolutely nothing to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! I'm pleased to see that our affordable rates and the value we provide were exactly what you were looking for. Hope to see you again on your next trip through our town! More

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This lodge was perfect for us. Very clean, comfortable, big fridge to put our groceries and treats in! Hot tub and dry sauna to help us relax. Very nice looking owner, who was very accommodating, and great breakfast included!!! Walking distance to 24-hour restaurant, also! Perfection!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

I'm pleased to hear that we met your needs during your stay! Thank you for pointing out that at Thunderbird Lodge you truly do receive a great value without having to break the bank. Please stop by and see us again next time you're through the area! More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the cleanest, cutest, well maintained motel I've ever stayed at! I'll be honest, I've stayed in some pretty sketchy motels in my days on last minute road trips and girls weekends. This one is by far, 100% the best. Both the rooms and the hot tub/sauna areas have been super clean every time I've stayed. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review, and also for the kind words. My priorities have been, and always will be, cleanliness and customer service and I'm pleased that your standards were met in both of those areas during your stay. Thanks again, and we hope to see you at Thunderbird Lodge during your next... More

Selby, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

stayed for one night on november 22. room was clean, with amenities you would expect at a motel with a $50 rate, BUT.... room had a mini-fridge and microwave, small flat-screen tv, shower had LOTS of pressure. motel had hot tub & sauna, both of which were HOT [some hotels keep temperatures down so patrons don't overheat - this annoys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We like to think we offer the best value for lodging in Mitchell. As I've said before in these responses, my top priorities here at Thunderbird Lodge are customer service and cleanliness packaged together at a rate that travelers can afford. That particular day, we had two groups of High School students... More

Grove City, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from a road trip and it was definitely a neat little find. The lodge still has actual keys like some of the older motels do and I thought it added to the charm factor. The king size bed was awesome. It was of average comfort, at least I thought so. Breakfast was doughnuts,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Matt C, Owner at Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review! I appreciate the kind words and hope you'll stay with us the next time you're through on a road trip. I think the only thing you missed out on for this trip was the Hot Tub and Sauna! Thanks again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell

Address: 1601 S Burr Street, Mitchell, SD 57301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge Mitchell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Mitchell

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thunderbird Lodge is a locally owned and independently operated motel. We are dedicated to hospitality and service at an incredible value. We feature an expanded continental breakfast, on-site Liquor Store, hot tub and sauna, and clean, comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer