We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Host Sundowner

510 SD Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Budget Host Sundowner
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    18
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
15
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was late and we needed a room. We turned off the freeway and the rate was lower on this than the one next door but still think they over charge. Standard two queen room, ok clean but an old carped that had seen better days. Two outlets on the wall above the nightstand for charging cell phones. Bathroom clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In short, what I can say is this hotel definitely hikes its prices from being one of the only motel/hotels in the area. Unfortunately, due to Sturgis Bike Rally, we were left with little options since everything was booked up for miles. This was the only place that had rooms available with in 50 miles. We ended up paying $200... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the staff does care for the guests staying here, I am sorry you were not pleased at the property. We take great pride in offering clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service. Again, I apologize on behalf of all of us at the Budget Host Sundowner that you were not happy with the stay.... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the 2nd night of a 12 day motorcycle trip. This is an older hotel and the rooms are small (we had 4 adults in our room and it was tight). However, the room was very clean. My husband and I got in late due to some mechanical issues - the 2 nearby restaurants were closed by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and if you do stay with more than two in a room, you might ask for a room upgrade and try our large family units that have three beds. We hope you stay with us again! Best Regards, Eric Wilmarth, Mgr More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in during bike week, and they had a room! Rooms were pretty old fashioned, but very clean. I have to say these were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel! Pool looked clean as well, but we didn't try it out. It's like an oasis in the middle of the desert!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI and Thank you for staying at The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are so happy you liked the beds and thank you for staying with us Best Regards Eric Wilmarth Mgr More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Couldn't find a room in rapid city due to biker rally. Drove for an hour and got a room in kotaka. Staff was helpful but price was gouging because of the biker crowd Room key didn't work. Pool is small. No microwave. Weak breakfast Positives. Clean rooms accommodating staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. It was a busy time during the rally and we appreciate your review. Best Regards. Eric Wilmarth Mgr More 

Highland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Pros: Quiet, very friendly staff, family owned and oriented, clean sheets and bathroom. Continental breakfast is cereal and pre-packaged stuff, but still good. There was a pool out front that looked nice and inviting, but we came late and left early, so we didn't use it. Cons: Decor from the 80's, though they did recently paint; killed 4 flies before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for the review. We appreciate your review and for staying at our property. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

The room was clean. It was very over priced. For two kids under 3 and 4 adults the total came to $170 something which is a bit pricy for there being next to no water presser for the faucet. There was also a jug of something that smelled like rotten fish on the step. If you need a place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for posting a review. Glad you found our property to be very clean. We take great pride in clean rooms. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Stayed one night on the way home from a road trip between Colorado and Minneapolis. Basic roadside hotel. Staff was very friendly and the room was exactly what was needed at the end of a long driving day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI and Thank you for posting a review about The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn in Kadoka, SD. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the great review. Hope to see you again at our Hotel. Best Regards, Eric Wilmarth More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

We traveled from MN to MT to visit family. Our first stop was Mt Rushmore so we decided to stay in Kadoka at this hotel. It was a nice roadside hotel; simple but very clean place. Very helpful front desk lady when we left; we were in need of some help for Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills, Badlands, etc. Comfortable beds.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for writing a review about our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests and the nice comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and am very happy the staff was able to assist you with your questions. I hope you visit The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn again in Kadoka SD again someday.... More 

Gainesville, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We showed up without a reservation at 11:30pm after the hotel we had a paid reservation at decided to lose it and told us it wasn't their problem. The folks at the Budget Host Sundowner only had a "Family" room (3 beds) left but since there were only two of us, they reduced the rate !! And yes there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for the very kind words about The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn in Kadoka, SD. Our staff takes great pride in offering, excellent service and clean rooms. We are very happy that we could accommodate you and hope you will make a return trip to The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn in Kadoka, SD and visit... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadoka
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
19.5 mi away
Badlands Budget Host Inn
0.0 mi away
MainStay Suites Rapid City
MainStay Suites Rapid City
#5 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay