We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budget Host Sundowner

510 SD Hwy 73, Kadoka, SD 57543
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Budget Host Sundowner
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Des Moines, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We made the reservation on the road and as we drove up to the motel, I was leery about the quality of the place. But to our surprise the room was very nice, very clean. The owners must have just remodeled the rooms. The outside could use some updating. The bed was very comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was nice.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI And Thank you for posting a review about The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we are always working on updating the property. That is an ongoing project every year when you operate a business. We hope you do make a return trip and stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth... More 

Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Due to rain and lack of choices, we had to stop in Kadoka for the night. Ok, so this is an older roadside type motel and it lacks the modern conveniences. The biggest problem were flies. They have fly traps all along the outside doorways, but they were still a problem. I did get a good night sleep and that's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dottie1224
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the flies, this year has been terrible for them. We are very happy you had a good nights rest. Thank you! Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Marissa, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

The building is a little dated. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. Standard continental breakfast but area was clean an well stocked which was an accomplishment since the place was full. Great place to stop over for the night.

Helpful?
Thank Eddi511
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Room was typical of older motel on the Freeway - decor had seen better days but it was clean, breakfast was cereal and packaged stuff. Attitude of desk clerk was a bit unpleasant. He knew other hotels in town were either full or closed and he made it clear that if we passed up the room he had available we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I just let you know the motels close and many miles were full. Sorry, but I just spoke the truth. Best Regards. Eric Wilmarth MGR More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

It was late and we needed a room. We turned off the freeway and the rate was lower on this than the one next door but still think they over charge. Standard two queen room, ok clean but an old carped that had seen better days. Two outlets on the wall above the nightstand for charging cell phones. Bathroom clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pillerilla
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the price, but you did stay at the peak of the summer season. Also, I am sorry about the flies, but we deal with that issue this time of year and it is an ongoing problem. We hope you stay with us again. Kind Regards. Eric... More 

Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

In short, what I can say is this hotel definitely hikes its prices from being one of the only motel/hotels in the area. Unfortunately, due to Sturgis Bike Rally, we were left with little options since everything was booked up for miles. This was the only place that had rooms available with in 50 miles. We ended up paying $200... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlasaG
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the staff does care for the guests staying here, I am sorry you were not pleased at the property. We take great pride in offering clean, comfortable rooms and outstanding customer service. Again, I apologize on behalf of all of us at the Budget Host Sundowner that you were not happy with the stay.... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We stayed here on the 2nd night of a 12 day motorcycle trip. This is an older hotel and the rooms are small (we had 4 adults in our room and it was tight). However, the room was very clean. My husband and I got in late due to some mechanical issues - the 2 nearby restaurants were closed by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank C4M2
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and if you do stay with more than two in a room, you might ask for a room upgrade and try our large family units that have three beds. We hope you stay with us again! Best Regards, Eric Wilmarth, Mgr More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

We stopped in during bike week, and they had a room! Rooms were pretty old fashioned, but very clean. I have to say these were the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel! Pool looked clean as well, but we didn't try it out. It's like an oasis in the middle of the desert!

Helpful?
Thank Erin O
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

HI and Thank you for staying at The Budget Host Sundowner Motor Inn. We are so happy you liked the beds and thank you for staying with us Best Regards Eric Wilmarth Mgr More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

Couldn't find a room in rapid city due to biker rally. Drove for an hour and got a room in kotaka. Staff was helpful but price was gouging because of the biker crowd Room key didn't work. Pool is small. No microwave. Weak breakfast Positives. Clean rooms accommodating staff.

Helpful?
Thank larry c
Eric W, Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. It was a busy time during the rally and we appreciate your review. Best Regards. Eric Wilmarth Mgr More 

Highland, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Pros: Quiet, very friendly staff, family owned and oriented, clean sheets and bathroom. Continental breakfast is cereal and pre-packaged stuff, but still good. There was a pool out front that looked nice and inviting, but we came late and left early, so we didn't use it. Cons: Decor from the 80's, though they did recently paint; killed 4 flies before... More 

Helpful?
Thank D S
Eric W, General Manager at Budget Host Sundowner, responded to this review

Hello and Thank you for the review. We appreciate your review and for staying at our property. Sincerely, Eric Wilmarth Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadoka
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
19.5 mi away
Badlands Budget Host Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay