We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing

Hotel website
24060 Highway 385, P.O. Box 441, Hill City, SD 57745
Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing

86 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    22
    4
    3
    14
See reviews for
58
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here mid-May and had a great time. The cabin was very clean & comfortable. We were cabin bound the first two days of our trip due to the blizzard and the cabin was roomy and very warm. George was very nice and helpful and we will be coming back again. C. Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great place to stay with a family. George the owner is very helpful if you have any question or need anything. We stayed at Quail's Crossing June of 2014. There was 3 adults and 2 kids ages 10 and 5 and we all loved it. Beautiful scenery from the cabins.We would defiantly go back and stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramsey, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family stayed at Quail's Crossing last July for a week. It was just what we were looking for! The location was great for all the places we visited in the Black Hills. We couldn't have asked for a more centralized location. The accommodations were as described, nothing fancy, but cozy and comfortable. Our kids loved the pool and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

DO NOT PRE PAY DO NOT GIVE HIM CREDIT CARD INFO. NOT FAMILY APPROPRIATE. Very run down cabins. Owner is very rude and will attempt to be intimidating if you try and tell him anything is wrong. Just look at the responses to his critics.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

Please read all the reviews that say what a great place I have & what a great host I am. This customer unfortunately thought that the cancellation policy she agreed to and signed did not apply to her. Her complaint was that her husband fell out of the shower because it was leaning. I promise my showers do not lean,... More 

North Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We had a wonderful time in the Black Hills, and Quail's Run was the perfect place to "come home" to every night. It is rustic, but exactly what we were looking for. We planned our trip VERY last minute with 13 guests, and George accomodated us when no one else could. I would not say George has a temper, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

Great customers like this group, that respect your property & rules make it easy to be a good host & for them to have a great time. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

My family stayed here the last week of July. We felt the accommodations were just as described. Nothing fancy...rustic...nice price for everything that was available. We had very few requests but the ones we did have were fulfilled without question. It was nice having the pool and playground right outside our cabin. The free charcoal and lighter fluid were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

It is always great to have families that enjoy their stay, Kids are great fun. We hope to see them again someday. George owner More 

Fredonia, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We stayed here for our vacation in August 2014 and had a great time. Stayed in the suite which was roomy enough for all 10 of us and it included full size fridge and stove if you wanted to make your own meals. Play grounds for kids was a hit with my grandson and he loved the hiking trail and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

Thanks for being great customers Janet. Hopefully we will see you all again someday. George owner More 

Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

The cabins were perfect for a relaxing family vacation. The cabins were clean and neat. It had a good bed layout with a pull out bed too. Extra amenities like the bikes/fishing rods and gold panning were a major plus for my kids. The pool was also warm and clean. My kids were able to run in the playgrounds in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

I am always glad about customers that appreciate the accommodations & the little extra we provide to help make their stay better. Thank you for being great customers. George owner More 

Westfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the motel section during bike week. The room was exactly as expected, a bit dated, but adequate and clean. The king size bed was comfortable. We had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and toaster so it was all we needed. I did not want to go to the Black Hills and stay in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

Thank Deborah for the great review. Great customers are always welcome & welcome bad. Ride safe. Thanks again, George owner-operator. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

The value for your money here is great. We enjoyed the space of the cabin (there were 7 of us!) and the kids loved the playground, pool, and bikes. The beds weren't the most comfortable I've ever slept on, and make sure you bring extra pillows. Other than that, we had a good time here. I'm not sure what others... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quailscr, Owner at Black Hills Cabins and Motel at Quail's Crossing, responded to this review

I glad this person enjoyed the amenities. I wish they would have just ask for extra pillows, some need them & some don't. Sorry the beds was not comfortable to this customer, I have unfortunately found it impossible to have a bed that fits every ones comfort on a small business budget. I still greatly appreciate their business and their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities