We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pine Rest Cabins

Certificate of Excellence
Hwy 16-385, 1 Mile South on Hwy 16-385, PO Box 377, Hill City, SD
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hill City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Pine Rest Cabins
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Platte, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We enjoyed the Aspen Cabin over Christmas. It was so quiet and tranquil!! We didn't have any neighbors for our first few days. We had two bedrooms and one large bathroom that served the four of us very well. We loved it and plan to return again sometime!! The owners and staff are wonderful! I would recommend this to anyone!!

Helpful?
Thank ESP721
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

A simply unbelievable gift. Thank you so much for sharing your Christmas experience at Pine Rest Cabins as well the kind review and the amazing photo - there is always another perspective when we seek beauty - thank you for yours. We'd be delighted to host you any time of the year and will pass your kindness on to our... More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

We stayed in the oldest cabin, was very charming but could use a little updating. Very clean though and the owners were very nice and kind. Was a little closer to the road than I had hoped for and the road is busy, so I didn't feel like I was totally 'in nature'.

Helpful?
Thank Debbie0146287
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

So glad you found the cabin clean and charming, though not as "next to nature" as you'd prefer. We couldn't agree with you more, but are thankful for the millions of acres of Black Hills National Fores land around in which we can all freely explore nature without the impingement of commercial development. Thanks for your honest encouragement- it's now... More 

Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

An older cabin that was adequate for our needs and clean. The owners are gracious but the property needs attention. It is located next to a busy and noisy highway. The very small bathroom has no heat source on a chilly morning. The furniture and window screens are in need of repair. A lower price would have made it more... More 

Helpful?
Thank ToellerNovak
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Glad to hear that you found our place charming and clean - those words of encouragement are very helpful and we will pass them on to our dedicated staff and family. Remember to mention you've stayed with us before and next time you come you will receive the best discount rate for the season, regardless of your length of stay.... More 

Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

We spent 2 days here while enjoying the Black Hills region. We were VERY HAPPY with our cabin. It was clean & comfortable. This cabin had 2 rooms. A queen (tv & dvd) in one room & twin bunk beds in the other which worked perfectly for our 2 teenagers. The kitchenette had a sink, small refrigerator, microwave & an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shara P
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

So glad your stay in the Dakota Cabin was great. It is rewarding to be able to provide a place where families can let go of the stresses of a busy life and connect in a special way. Thank you for the detailed and thoughtful review. May the happy memories of your vacation in the Black Hills linger with your... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I have to start out by saying that the people who run the cabins are lovely. Very kind and courteous. However, I also need to be honest and say we were disappointed in our cabin. It is indeed right along the major thoroughfare leading to Mount Rushmore, not nestled in the woods. Also, the lighting in our cabin was so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ALKDC4
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Oh shoot. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015 via mobile

We found this place by accident and what a jewel. Thankfully they had a cabin open as we had not planned ahead and made reservations. We had a one room with a king bed, kitchenette and bathroom. There was also a grill and table and chairs outside. The hot tub was wonderful after a day of sight seeing. The owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Your review made our day. Thank you for your kind words and sharing those pictures - so glad you dropped in and liked our Cottage Suite #10 , the flowers , and views from the front porch . We'd be delighted to have you as our guests should you get another chance to travel this way.... 'til we meet again... More 

Lacrosse Wi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We were under the impression we would have a small cabin out in the woods where we could enjoy the evening on our front porch. Well it is in the black hills but your front porch is about 10 paces to one of the busiest highways in the black hills you can not even hear each other speak inside the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

My gut instinct was to defend ourselves and our many return guests who love the cabin you were in, some of whom over the years have even said "don't change a thing". Unbeknownst to you , we did change quite a few things ; however , your impression still matters and we are taking it under consideration. Of course our... More 

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

My family and I stayed for 4 nights over the 4th of July weekend. The cabin (#5) was fantastic! Clean, spacious (for 4 people), comfortable, and historic. The staff were friendly and helpful as well. My only criticism is the road noise...this place would be perfect if it were just a half mile from the highway. One of the dogs... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donald S
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

Fantastic! Thank you for making Pine Rest Cabins and Historic Cabin #5 a basecamp for your 4th of July visit to Mt. Rushmore & the Black Hills. We strive for Mountain Ambiance ~ Modern Comforts. Will pass the perfect cleanliness score on to our awesome help. Good old Cabin #5 was here when the only traffic out front was by... More 

The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

If you want the true ambience of staying in the Black Hills of South Dakota, this is the place. The cabins are rustic, yet comfortable. Jan and Steve were very congenial and helpful hosts, with suggestions of where to eat and what to see. We were two couples in our 60's and were very comfortable in Cabin #5, the oldest... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

And if walls could talk, old Cabin #5 would tell you even more - I'm delighted you enjoyed the mystery stories and the cabin. It really is nice living in the center of the Black Hills, a little bit out in the country, yet a quick trip into Hill City for whatever one might need - glad you liked the... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Pine Rest Cabins is an excellent location and beautiful place to stay. Steven and Jan did a wonderful job of decorating their home and creating a comfortable place to stay. There is a beautiful river in the backyard that has a peaceful sound in the mornings and throughout the day. Downtown Black Hills is a 5 to 10 minute walk... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anji M
LoveOurCabins, Owner at Pine Rest Cabins, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed our vacation home rental - "Alices' Black Hills Cottage on the Mick" . It was fun to decorate and has been a welcome addition to the variety of accomodations we have to offer at Pine Rest Cabins . Thank you for taking the time to review the Cottage - your positive feedback made our day and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
4.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
10.2 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#1 of 11 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
4.2 mi away
High Country Guest Ranch
High Country Guest Ranch
#9 of 11 in Hill City
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities