We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Creekside Country Resort

24162 Highway 385, Hill City, SD 57745
Creekside Country Resort
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (24)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay and wish it could have been longer! The cabins are super clean and nice. We had the two of us adults, and 5 kids in our cabin (two are teenagers) and were comfortable. It was nice to not be stuck in a hotel room and be in our own separate cabin with the amenities of home.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

Hello guys, thank you so very much for the kind review and for taking time to write it. As you know we are just a little Ma and Pa business and these reviews mean so much to us and are so helpful to other travelers. We enjoyed your kind polite family and it was refreshing to have our season start... More 

Chancellor, South Dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this resort for several years and will continue to book our reservations here. The owners are extremely friendly and do everything to make your stay enjoyable. My only suggestion would be to have the playground open a little earlier in the day and stay open a little later at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

Sheila, Thank You so much for taking the time to right this wonderful review. We love our return guests and we have many of them, I think that speaks for itself. We appreciate you. Sorry about the Fun Zone hours it took us awhile to settle on these hours, but find that they seem to work the best for most... More 

Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We have been staying at Creekside every summer now for 6 years. We stay for two weeks at a time. I could go on & on with the reasons we stay there. Like the friendliest people ever, the service is exceptional, the facilities are very comfortable and the location is close to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse and many other attractions.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

I was so pleased to see that you had written a review. I know you told us what a wonderful place we have and we love hearing it, but it is really nice too have you share that with the rest of the world. We take great pride in our past guest comments, our beautiful property and our cozy cabins.... More 

Spearman, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Our group was 4 adults & we stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin (Ponderosa Place #4). One of the 2 bathrooms had a jacuzzi tub which was wonderful. A full kitchen made it where we could fix breakfast before going out touring. Location is perfect to go to the many nearby Black Hills attractions. The Dairy Twist right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

Hello, ad Thank You for the wonderful review. We are always so glad when our guest take the time to let others know how much they enjoyed their stay here. We take great pride in being a small Ma and Pa and every guest is very important to us and we try hard to please all. I remember you folks,... More 

New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

My wife and I traveled from NY to Wyoming this summer and it was a great vacation. We stayed at Creekside Country Resort in South Dakota for 4 days and loved it. Our cabin was great and we had our best nights sleep there. You have all of the comforts of home. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

I remember hearing about your trip from New York and thinking to myself what a long ways to come to see the Beautiful Black Hills. You told us you lived nearby where we stayed when we visited the Statue of Liberty and the new construction on the twin towers when we visited New York. Thank You for your time and... More 

Apache Junction, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

First, be very sure you want to stay here because when they say no refunds, they mean no refunds. We booked for 5 nights and had to pay all up front when we first arrived. We were very uncomfortable in the "cabin" and after staying for 3 nights advised them we would like to end our stay and get a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you got so angry that you felt you had to write this review. When you came in to the office the morning of the 4th day of your stay and told us that you would like to have your money back because the husband was not comfortable because of our furniture, ( that was 2 and 1/2... More 

Crofton, Nebraska, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Four of us travel to the Black Hills every year for our annual motorcycle trip and this is by far the best place we've stayed yet. Our cabin had two bedrooms and two full baths, user-friendly kitchen fully equipped and a grill right off the deck. We logged a lot of hours on the deck for morning coffee and for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ccresort, Owner at Creekside Country Resort, responded to this review

I just wanted to take the time to let you know how much it means to us to have you write the wonderful review. As you know we are a small Family business and we try very hard to make all of our guest happy and comfortable. People like you are the reason that we are full of many happy... More 

Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
43 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed in cabin 5 and really enjoyed it. What I liked was that it's not some 5 star place, and if you price out the local hotels you'll see for yourself. The cabin is a modular home and it's older so it had a little musty smell but that quickly went away with the AC unit turned on for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Muscatine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights in cabin 6. The grounds were nice & the cabin clean but the air conditioner was not sufficient to cool off the 2 bedrooms & it wasn't really that hot out. Also the mattress in the master bedroom was very uncomfortable & squeaked loudly every time you got in & out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elgin, IL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Karen and Larry kindly provided a comfy "cabin" for our group of four tired backpackers at the spur of the moment when we saw weather forecasts calling for one of those late-season Black Hills snowstorms. We found out about Creekside thanks to their daughter, Crystal (see also Rustic Ridge). We were pampered by juicy burgers and delicious ice cream at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question