We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
616 Main Street, Hill City, SD 57745 (Formerly Comfort Inn Hill City)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Purmerend
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

This was a very good hotel. The check inn was quick and friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and it was lovely to have breakfast outside with a vieuw on the hills. There was also a nice pool.

Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
Carimate, Italy
Level Contributor
297 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

The hotel was clean , room confortable and cosy.Good position to visit Badlands (not near) , Mont Rushmore and Minuteman Missile (together with Badlands). Good breakfast with salad and sweet food.Personel very kind.There is a big parking just in front of the hotel and a Gas Station.Everything ok.The Hotel is on the side of the road,in 5 minutes you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank nigni2002
Wayne, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

We stayed here just one night. We thought the rate was much too high for this property. I'm sure it was because of the Buffalo Roundup, but that's not what we came for. The room was quite small, and the parking lot is way too small for the number of rooms this place has.

Helpful?
Thank Bev 'n Lennie G
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in mid-September, as we usually do. The staff was great, as always, and the room was very comfortable. We typically stay in a jacuzzi room, but none were available when we made last minute reservations (3 months early). We won't stay next time if the room doesn't have a refrigerator for all the great wine we... More 

Helpful?
Thank FDOPSBC
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I want to thank you for being such a loyal guest of ours. We do have plans of upgrading many of our rooms to have more amenities such as microwaves and refrigerators, as our Jacuzzi suites do. We do only have 2 Jacuzzi suites and they fill up fast. We do everything... More 

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

Good hotel, great bed, nice to have outdoor access to first floor room, would have preferred not being by the ice machine for noise. Friendly, accommodating and helpful reception with Fransine and Aaron. Right next to Mickelson cycling trail. Very busy breakfast, no place to sit. Good choice of fruit, friendly staff at breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank rocky1895
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I will definitely pass on your compliments to both Fransine and Aaron. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the amenities were exactly what you were looking for. Please keep us in mind the next time you are making plans to visit the area. We would love to see... More 

Casper, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Wonderful stay! We got rooms on the back side and got to see the beautiful view of mountains. Rooms were clean and quiet. Pool was clean too. There are two decks that are located at the back of motel with amazing views and comfortable chairs. Breakfast was tasty and the staff kept everything full and clean. Front desk staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna F
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor! It sounds like you and your family had a fun time while visiting the area. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all of your needs were met. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the area. Thank you! Sincerely, Buzz Owner... More 

Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

We came in late on the night of 9/13, having driven from Breck, CO. We had made a reservation (based on tripadvisor) before we left, but I wanted to be sure that there was a room for us since we were so late. I spoke with Aaron who was very kind and assured us there would be a room. When... More 

Helpful?
Thank ConvertibleWoman
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond to our online survey through Tripadvisor. I am so happy to hear that my staff was accommodating and welcoming on your recent visit. I will pass on to Aaron your compliments. Your review will help other guests get a feel for what our hotel is like and I appreciate your honesty. We... More 

Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

Pretty basic but clean and comfortable. No elevator. Our room, 111, did not have a fridge or microwave. Very quiet. Staff was nice. Worked for our 2-night stay since we were out all day, and just needed a clean room for sleeping. Breakast was just okay.

Helpful?
Thank Janice481
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for responding to our online survey through Tripadvisor. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay for your 2 night get-a-way. We do our best to provide all of our guests with a clean room that meets all of your needs. We would love to have the opportunity to provide you with a great stay the next... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

We stayed there just for one night. The queen room was clean, plenty of space, but the bed was disappointing. Hard and not comfy. Friendly staff. The breakfast is good, you will find something for you, but the room is rather small for amount of people.. Good wi fi.

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey through Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a fun time in the Black Hills with your family. We are in the process of upgrading our mattresses and hope that you will stay with us again in the future... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

We always stay at the Quality Inn Hill City when we visit the Black Hills in September; this is our fourth stay here. The location is central to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and other attractions. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The very adequate breakfast is a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank TravelWriter48
Buzz G, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued loyalty in staying with us at our hotel. We can't thank you enough for not only staying with us but also for taking the time to share with others how excellent your stay was. I am happy to hear that you had another great time visiting the Black Hills and the Hill City area. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hill City
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Keystone
9.5 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#1 of 11 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay