We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Deadwood hotels

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hickok House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Tracey R Fox Creek, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (96)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
22
38
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Creek, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in Hickok House July 2 - 4th. Great motel, staff is superb and room is clean and comfortable. Restaurant was fabulous for breakfast. Trolley stops every 30 minutes and will stop at various places downtown for $1 per person. Thanks for the great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hurst, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Too much to pay for a tiny little room with one bed, no free breakfast, no fridge, no microwave. Everything was clean. Employees very nice. There are plenty of other places to stay in the area at the same price with alot more amenities

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay. We do offer rooms that are larger then the room you stayed in. We do offer larger rooms for our guests who would like more spacious accommodations. We have never offered a complimentary breakfast nor have we had microwaves or fridges in our room. I always recommend if there... More

United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very tight parking in parking lot. Was told at time of making reservation that there was breakfast when there wasn't. When arriving in our room this July night the room was very hot. Turned on air which did not cool down room until sometime during the night. Everything about the room just looked plain old. Not planning on ever staying... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. When am agent at another hotel makes your reservation for you they may from time to time give you some misinformation. We have never had a complimentary breakfast, we have a full service restaurant that offers breakfast. Our parking spaces are large enough... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

pat and angie are the nicest hosts you could ever hope to meet.clean rooms and great food espescially their steak tips for breakfast...we always go back and highly recommend this property to all our friends who visit the black hills

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to thank your for your return business. We appreciate that very much. We are glad that you find everything to your satisfaction when you are here. You are absolutely right about Pat and Annie being the nicest hosts. They value every guest they have and do their best to make sure every guest they come in contact... More

Inverness, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean rooms, helpful staff but parking is very tight. My husband will not go back because of the tight spaces. It was 4th of July weekend and the motel was full. No frig or microwave. Expensive for the value received.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our establishment clean and the staff friendly. I am sorry you were not satisfied with what we offer with our accommodations. We do provide one free parking space per room for our guests. Being in an area where a lot of people drive large four wheel drive vehicle our parking... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very bad experience with Best Western over the 4th of July holiday. My card was charged for damaged table legs in both of our hotel rooms at a cost of $250, total of $125 per leg. We were hardly there and did NO DAMAGE to the rooms. We weren't even contacted about the charges or damage. Yet we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Ryan, I am sorry you feel that you were" ripped off". When you registered you signed an agreement to pay for any damages uncured by your party. The table leg was split and leaning underneath the table. it may sound unreasonable to you that we can not just order another table leg. The stains on all the legs and the... More

Albuquerque, NM, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was clean. Bed, shower TV and Internet were of high quality. Our evening meal at their restaurant was very good, service was good and it was fairly priced. We'd be happy to return and we recommend this facility.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your stay while you were in Deadwood. We are glad you found your accommodations to your satisfaction. Our guests comfort is our number one priority. Hearing that you would recommend our facility to others is a very high compliment and we thank you for that. We hope... More

Salida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cost to stay in this hotel was too high for the size of the room and the amenities. We were not told if they had a breakfast. We enjoyed using the shuttle to downtown Deadwood. We stayed in other hotels on this trip for over half the cost of this one.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about us. I am very sorry you did not find your stay with us to be a value. We try to keep our pricing fair and comparable to our competitors. We do not offer a continental breakfast however, we do have a full service restaurant that... More

Highland Lake County, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excels at being unimpressive. Typical of Best Westerns in tourist towns the owners dont care. Also typical is lack of accessible wifi. Surprise! The hot tub was out of order, but its ricketty-rattly exhaust fan was clanging along all night. No extras, no amenities, just a room. Its the little hotel that time forgot. What a dump. Nice little restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to start by apologizing for our hot tub being out of order. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy it. We were doing our best to get it back up and running however the parts had to be ordered. Our WIFI is accessible to all our guests and is... More

Fargo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel is perfect for the person who likes a friendly hotel on a quiet street, it also has off street parking, and a resturant onsite, however they need to add more selections to their menu, because there is not much to choose from on the menu.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback and are taking your recommendations into consideration. It is wonderful to hear the things we do right but also value hearing the tips our guests have to help us improve, as we want to provide the best experience we can for our guests. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hickok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer