We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Deadwood hotels

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hickok House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
67%
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Gary V O'fallon, Mo, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (110)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
27
42
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'fallon, Mo, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel did not have an elevator. Makes it very difficult to lug heavy luggage up the stairs. Especially for older people. The hotel is away from the downtown area but there is a trolley that stops in front that can take you there for $1.00 each way. There is an attached restaurant that had great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are a property with outdoor entrances only. If a guest lets us know they need or prefer a ground floor room due to the stairs we will do our best to accommodate their request. We are just over a one half mile away... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I organised 10 rooms at this place as part of a month long group tour. We were there for 3 nights for Sturgis and new from the onset that we were paying a premium but the place was not worth the $400 per night we paid. There were maintenance issues in the rooms which we asked to be fixed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to apologize to you and your entire group for not meeting your expectations. I am asking you to email me at 42030@hotel.bestwestern.com so that I may get more information from you concerning the issues you had that were not addressed. This is not normal as our maintenance staff are very quick to respond to a guest's comment.... More

Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very accomodating Staff and the location with the Trolley Stop for reaching downtown made this a perfcet location. The Restaurant was handy and my lady friend enjoyed the Casino on the premises. If I am in the region agin I would use the Hotel as we enjoyed the time and riding the Hills is always a joy.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I appreciate you letting me know that you found us to be suited to you needs. Our restaurant is a local favorite and our casino is small and friendly. With our outdoor entrances it makes it very convenient when you are riding for easy access... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Old Hotel needs to be updated and renovated due to stiff old smelly rugs, hard old blankets. The bathroom wooden core door would not shut and the uneven cement walk ways caused me to trip. The lack of microwave and refrigerator was not convenient at all. In afterthought this hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt. Even though this... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry you did not find our property to you expectations. We have updated furnishings. We have just replaced all our vanities in every room. I am sorry you felt our bedding was not up to your standard. We have new blankets, linens and Top sheet as well as spreads. Our decorative top sheets are thick and do... More

Tustin, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked our second floor room off the west facing balcony where we could sit and visit with other guests. We walked into town and road the tram back for $1, good deal and we had plenty of time to explore the shops, casinos, restaurants, and boot hill as well as drive out to Devil's Tower during our 2 night... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be convenient. The deck areas are a good way to make new friends while enjoy a nice summer evening. The trolley does make for a good transportation when you don't feel like walking. We hope you can come back to Deadwood and hope you will... More

Miles City, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed the ease of getting to the trail head I wanted to walk on. Staff was very friendly and curtious. Always there to help with question. Bed was very comfortable. Our room was quiet except for the outside door that connected us to another room.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will relay your comments about our staff members to them all as they will enjoy hearing that they are doing a nice job. We know that our business is to help you with any information you may need and most importantly a good nights sleep and clean... More

Sandy Ridge, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Smallest rooms, with parking for one motorcycle during Sturgis rally........meanwhile our truck got a nice dent, in the 'designated' parking area. Stay away, unless you are going to ride and did not trailer your bike!!!!!! The restaurant is very unappealing.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms with one queen bed are smaller rooms and that is why they are rates are lesser then that of a room with a king bed or two queen beds. During Sturgis Rally Week we do... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was nice and quiet and caters very well to motorcyclists. Though bikes are in the parking lot and going by on the road, the rooms are quiet. The rooms are large and were clean and well equipped. I will definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our goal is to accommodate our guest needs to the best of our ability. Our rooms with two queen beds or a king bed are large rooms with plenty of space for guests to feel comfortable. Our location does provide a more quite environment when you want to relax. The trolley is an... More

sidney, mt, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

worst room in motel. i.e. room closet to the street. not impressed as we are BW diamond members we stayed there week just before Sturgis Harley Davidson event. we are not bikers. loud voices outside of our room, and constant bikes & cars driving by our room. at least traffic quieted down after dark. other than restaurant attached to hotel... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate your loyalty to The Best Western Brand. I would like apologize to you for not meeting your expectations. We make courtesy calls to our guests shortly after check in to make sure everything is to their satisfaction. Had you let us know that you were not happy with the location of your room we would have been happy... More

Minot, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Love this hotel and the staff!! Highly recommend!! Great location with trolley service to downtown area and the rooms very clean with excellent beds. We enjoyed it greatly and had a great balcony area for visiting at night overlooking the main street. We had a girl reunion there, and it was excellent. So much fun at a great hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are glad you had a wonderful time here. We are glad you allowed us to host your reunion and hope that you will stay with us again. The trolley is definitely the way to go when you want to get around Deadwood. We are glad that you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hickok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Deadwood with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Hickok House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer