We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Deadwood hotels

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hickok House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jan T Minot, United States
  • Overview
  • Reviews (101)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    20
    5
    8
See reviews for
24
38
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minot, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love this hotel and the staff!! Highly recommend!! Great location with trolley service to downtown area and the rooms very clean with excellent beds. We enjoyed it greatly and had a great balcony area for visiting at night overlooking the main street. We had a girl reunion there, and it was excellent. So much fun at a great hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A nice place to stay in Deadwood that's not to pricey. Room was clean and updated. Staff was helpful. Located in a good place. Would probably stay there again if in area. Only thing bad about is that it doesn't offer a breakfast but resturant attached to hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments! I understand that a lot of people are accustomed to a continental breakfast. Our restaurant is highly recommended by the local people in the area. We feel with a made to order breakfast you get the best quality meal to start... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice accommoodations, friendly staff, and Deadwood is a great location to stay in the Hills. Good place to "people watch" and the local tour trolley makes stops here to take you downtown to gamble (pardon me....to "game").. Patio outside on the second story is a nice extra and was a great place to meet other travelers and swap some stories.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate you wonderful words about our facilities. We do try to provide a unique and friendly experience for our guests while they enjoy Deadwood. We try to maintain a warm friendly environment for our guests. Our patio areas are a great place to sit and "people watch" or meet new friends. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay... More

Aurora, Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just wanted to share..... not a horrible place to stay but not the best. The staff at the bar & restaurant were wonderful. :) I don't complain much but....... don't travel here with young children. It would be ok with a couple of adults. The cost to go on a family vacation is high enough as it is with gas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. I would like to apologize for you receiving the wrong information. We do not have microwaves or refrigerators in our rooms however we do have them in our office that we are more then happy to store things in for our guest or heat something... More

Killeen, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great day visiting the old western town of Deadwood,from checking out the many shop to visiting le grave site of Bill Hickok & Annie Oakley to playing at the Hickok House Casino to having a great cowboy breakfast that morning,It was a good day during the early start of our vacation.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit to Deadwood. We are glad you allowed us to be part of your Deadwood experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Deadwood. We hope you to see you again some day. More

Fox Creek, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in Hickok House July 2 - 4th. Great motel, staff is superb and room is clean and comfortable. Restaurant was fabulous for breakfast. Trolley stops every 30 minutes and will stop at various places downtown for $1 per person. Thanks for the great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review! We are glad you had a wonderful time here. The trolley does make it much easier to get around Deadwood without worrying about parking. We look forward to having you stay again. More

Hurst, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Too much to pay for a tiny little room with one bed, no free breakfast, no fridge, no microwave. Everything was clean. Employees very nice. There are plenty of other places to stay in the area at the same price with alot more amenities

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay. We do offer rooms that are larger then the room you stayed in. We do offer larger rooms for our guests who would like more spacious accommodations. We have never offered a complimentary breakfast nor have we had microwaves or fridges in our room. I always recommend if there... More

United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very tight parking in parking lot. Was told at time of making reservation that there was breakfast when there wasn't. When arriving in our room this July night the room was very hot. Turned on air which did not cool down room until sometime during the night. Everything about the room just looked plain old. Not planning on ever staying... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. When am agent at another hotel makes your reservation for you they may from time to time give you some misinformation. We have never had a complimentary breakfast, we have a full service restaurant that offers breakfast. Our parking spaces are large enough... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

pat and angie are the nicest hosts you could ever hope to meet.clean rooms and great food espescially their steak tips for breakfast...we always go back and highly recommend this property to all our friends who visit the black hills

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to thank your for your return business. We appreciate that very much. We are glad that you find everything to your satisfaction when you are here. You are absolutely right about Pat and Annie being the nicest hosts. They value every guest they have and do their best to make sure every guest they come in contact... More

Inverness, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean rooms, helpful staff but parking is very tight. My husband will not go back because of the tight spaces. It was 4th of July weekend and the motel was full. No frig or microwave. Expensive for the value received.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our establishment clean and the staff friendly. I am sorry you were not satisfied with what we offer with our accommodations. We do provide one free parking space per room for our guests. Being in an area where a lot of people drive large four wheel drive vehicle our parking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hickok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
Number of rooms
45

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer