We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Deadwood hotels

BEST WESTERN Hickok House

137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hickok House to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hickok House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
69%
Ranked #17 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Vaughn M Sidney, Nebraska, United States
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    25
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
28
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

From check in to checkout this was a great place. Staff is very friendly and helpful with finding local hotspots. Clean, quite and comfortable. If you want a great place to stay at a realistic price then this is it. Breakfast is amazing at the in-house restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Most of all, Thank you for choosing us, we appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Deadwood. More

Nampa, Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay in deadwood. The room was clean and very quiet. The restaurant attached to the hotel served a great breakfast and Dinner. There is also a gaming area with slot machines. There is a trolley that comes by every 15 minutes which takes you downtown. Again we would stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value our guests' opinions and encourage the feedback. We are glad you found your stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. Our restaurant is a favorite with the local people as well. Our staff tries to deliver the best customer care whether it is in the restaurant the casino or... More

Custer, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was cozy and very clean. Staff at the front desk were friendly and polite. We ate breakfast at the restaurant, very good food. This will be my choice next time I stay in Deadwood. Overall one of the best places I have stayed in Deadwood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by thanking you for choosing to stay at the BEST WESTERN Hickok House while you were in Deadwood. We know you have several choices in Deadwood and we value you as our guest and look forward to your next visit. I am delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. The best compliment you can... More

Vernal, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a great value!! Home away from home! Staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. Big hot tub is in a really nice quiet wooden planked room. Rooms smelled like clean log cabin furniture. Shower head was great. Flat screen tv and wi-Fi was high quality. Restaurant, slot machines and bar on-site. Our favorite was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am glad to hear our staff was able to accomodate you completely. We strive to make your stay with us an enjoyable and memorable expierence. I appreciate your description of our property. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next stay. We hope to... More

Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The staff were very kind and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Was very uncrowded on a weekday in the middle of the winter. Nice location in Deadwood with trolly cars stopping right outside the door. No Complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by saying thank you for choosing to stay with us at the BEST WESTERN HIckok House. We appreciate you taking a moment to let us and other know how we are doing. We do pride ourselves on great customer service and CLEAN rooms. We agree our location is nice, even though it is not on... More

Lead, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was snowed out of my house in the blizzard. I stayed at the best western because it was cheap and close to work. The room was clean and cozy. The room did not have a fridge but the staff was very kind and kept my things in their fridge. I was able to finish some work in the evenings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It means alot to us when local people stay with us and recommend us to their families. We want our guests to be comfortable and feel like that our part of our " family". We are glad we were able to accommodate you at what must have been a frustrating time. We look forward to... More

Fairmont, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Spent 3 nights just after Christmas at the Hickok. The room was very nice, clean and large with a very comfortable bed. The staff was courteous and genuine. Front desk staff were nice and accommodating to our needs. The Casino staff were helpful and attentive, but not over-bearing in any way. Our stay was very good. We would recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your nice review of our hotel. We appreciate it when our guests take the time to let us know how we are doing. All of our staff want to our guests to feel at home and comfortable while with us. We hope you enjoyed your visit with family while you were here and... More

Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was given a room at the end of the hotel in the dungeon ! No kidding. It was a large dark room and felt like you were in the basement. Will never stay again - cost almost twice as much as Super 8 - They have a 3 day advance notice requirement to cancel. Worst stay ever !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

I would like to start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. Our guest satisfaction is our number one priority. I wish I would have been given the opportunity to rectify any issues you encountered. The room you were in was a King room and is one of our more requested rooms because it is away from the parking lot... More

Dell Rapids, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been making the trip to Deadwood for Kool Deadwood Nites and a few other events for the past 12 yrs. We happened upon the Best Western Hickok House on one of our first trips and never looked for another place to stay after that. The staff is wonderful and very accommodating. We look forward each year to seeing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and your loyalty to Best Western Hickok House. I am glad you are able to get your much needed rest while you are here and your husband can enjoy himself as well. We do try to meet the needs of your guests and provide outstanding service to each as well. We think of you as part... More

Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed at the hotels during the 2013 Black Hills blizzard. The hotel was very hospitable and comfortable during the blizzard. The staff was friendly and professional even though the snow was pilling up. The beds were extremely comfortable and I got very sound sleep every night! The room was clean and the service was outstanding. The restaurant was reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynda D, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hickok House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay at a not so wonderful time. I am glad you found your stay and our staff to be very pleasant. I will be sure to pass on you comments to everyone. We have an awesome Housekeeping department that does an excellent job. Our restaurant is the place the local people like... More

Been to BEST WESTERN Hickok House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hickok House

Also Known As:
Best Western Hickok House Hotel Deadwood
Best Western Hickok House Hotel
Best Western Deadwood
Deadwood Best Western
Address: 137 Charles Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#12 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hickok House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hickok House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.