We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iron Horse Inn

Hotel website
27 Deadwood Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Offers & Announcements
Rooms Starting at $48
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Iron Horse Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband I booked this last minute. We didn't realize it was Mardi Gras in Deadwood, however that would explain why hotel rates were high. We chose this because it was the best value and closest to downtown. The room was small, which we were expecting. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean with the exception of all... More 

Helpful?
Thank BikerDeluxe
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. Many guests like our downtown location, yet the short block to Main Street provides for a peacefully quiet nights sleep. We try to keep our room rates affordable for all, including our special event rates. I look for good values myself when I travel. I will get housekeeping to... More 

Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Iron Horse Inn In Deadwood South Dakota 57732. Has Nice Rooms In It All The Time.They used to have a place for food. The owners Mike and Cynthia are very nice to everybody. The address for the hotel is 27 Deadwood STREET IN Deadwood South Dakota.

Helpful?
Thank tylcove
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. With but 19 rooms in our historic hotel, it is fairly easy to get to know many of our guests. My wife and I enjoy that part of the business, and is is easy for us, along with our staff, to cordially welcome everyone and try to make them... More 

Faith, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

I have stayed at the Iron Horse multiple times now and have no desire to stay anywhere else in Deadwood. The owners, Mike and Cynthia, are some of the most amazing people you will ever meet, and the staff there are like family. I have always been treated extremely well and hear the same from many of the other guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank friendfromfaith
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. We always enjoy hosting repeat guests like you! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

What a cool hotel! Great checkin with friendly staffer Jen! Old time ambience with great value. The rooms are very small especially if two of you have big bags as we did. The location is perfect to be in the heart and feel of Deadwood. First time here and looking forward to exploring all the great places in this area!

Helpful?
1 Thank Meesha56
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest, and for your kind words. While we offer clean, comfortable rooms in our downtown location for a reasonable price, our greatest asset is our friendly staff. We work hard to try to make our guests feel at home. With but 19 rooms we can get to personally know many of our guests. I will... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

This place is horrible the heater was broken we reserved a room with two beds ended up with one bed and a cot the heater never got fixed after repeated requests. The parking was horrible there were seven parking spaces for a hotel of 19 rooms. This is an historic building and some of it is charming but most of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shana M
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest. You booked on-line the least expensive room in our 19 room hotel, a room with one double (full size) bed. This room type is smaller in our historic hotel, designed for a small party or young people on a tight budget. With our liberal discounts, you paid $59/night for the room. When it became... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Stayed here a few weeks after Rally this year. Chose this again based on staying here a few years ago. It's a great property with great character which is why we choose it. Small casino on the first floor, and free coffee located in two spots available throughout the day. We had a queen room, which by modern standards, was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property, and for your kind words. Because of our historic nature, our rooms do vary in size. I am glad that you found yours, while contained, comfortable! Built in 1896 the walls are very thick, and, combined with our location one block removed from Main Street, a peaceful sleep is the norm. We try to... More 

Neenah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 via mobile

We love going to this hotel. We feel like we're coming home every time we visit. The staff and owners are always friendly. We like the fact that it's not a Holiday inn and that you feel like you're surrounded by history. Kudos to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Dave K
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our repeat guest. With but 19 rooms we often get to meet our guests on a personal level. That is the best thing about this business. Like you, most guests enjoy on our central location and historic nature. I am glad you had another nice stay, and hope to see you... More 

Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015 via mobile

We were very disappointed by the hotel, the room and the ambience. The whole of the ground floor is a casino with poor lighting and rows of slot machines. A more depressing welcome is hard to imagine. The room was small and tired with the bed shoved into an alcove. Although billed as a non smoking room it smelt as... More 

Helpful?
Thank gundee
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest, I am saddened that you were disappointed. Wow, where to begin. We do provide freshly ground free coffee in the lobby each day, and I am sorry that you missed it. We have not allowed smoking in guest rooms in over 4 years. You are the first to say something about being bothered by... More 

Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

This hotel is has the most wonderful husband and wife team that makes your visit very pleasant. You are family to them. I have stayed at this hotel at 4 different times throughout the year. I mainly stay during the Sturgis Rally because of the location of the hotel. It is almost in the middle of all the action and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. The very best part about owning our historic hotel is the people that you meet and friends that you make. We always "pickup where we left off" with our repeat guests like you. A family reunion of sorts! Our hotel was constructed in 1896, and adapted to its present... More 

San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

So happy with our stay at the Iron Horse Inn! Very friendly desk staff. Our room was amazing. I felt like we were stepping back in time when we walked through the door. It was a huge corner room with a terrific bed and a corner table. Within a block of main street as well, so we could walk everywhere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney K
Michael T, Owner at Iron Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, and for being our guest. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our historic boutique hotel. The corner room that you stayed is also one of my favorites because of the great views to the west and south. Our location is central so that our guests can easily walk to most... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
0:40
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
Hickok's Hotel & Gaming
#9 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cadillac Jacks Gaming Resort
0.1 mi away
Bullock Hotel
Bullock Hotel
#17 of 24 in Deadwood
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Celebrity Hotel
Celebrity Hotel
#1 of 24 in Deadwood
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay