We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Deadwood Dick's

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
51 Sherman Street, Deadwood, SD 57732
Offers & Announcements
BEST RATES DOWNTOWN
Deadwood Dick's
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
DianeSt-Louis St. Louis, Missouri USA
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    44
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
29
91
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
St. Louis, Missouri USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It just doesn't get any better than this. We stayed one week at Deadwood Dick's again this year and enjoyed our stay very much. Mary and David Larson are such conscientious and caring owners of this hotel - they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable - and it definitely was all that and more. We loved their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review! We appreciate you noticing the concern that Mary has for her guests' comfort. She can be an inspiration for the entire staff! Sounds like you covered all the bases with your comments on our old but "quiet" elevator, friendliness and concern for guests, ample parking, outdoor rooftop area, easy wireless access and our restaurant,... More 

Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Exactly what I expected for Deadwood. We had a 3 BR suite, not overly large, but well appointed. Clean, comfortable, with a great view of the town. Good location, close to everything in town. Enjoyed a stroll through town and watched Sioux Indian dancers. Good bed. Bath a little small. Took a while to get hot water up through 4... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary L, Manager at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review! We appreciate you noticing the concern that Mary has for her guests' comfort. She can be an inspiration for the entire staff! Sounds like you covered all the bases with your comments on our old but "quiet" elevator, friendliness and concern for guests, ample parking, outdoor rooftop area, easy wireless access and our restaurant,... More 

quad cities, IA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. Our room was comfortable and we had an enjoyable stay. The elevator was an interesting ride but we were glad it was there and it worked. Our breakfast the next morning at the cafe was Delicious!! Within a few blocks of downtown and close to the fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
402 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived we were greeted promptly by Mona. She is so nice and friendly. She showed us to the room that we booked which was a two bedroom suite it was very nice, clean and decorated very nicely. We asked if there was a sitting room and there was not so she decided to upgrade us to a four... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DFW
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beware! Dirty & creepy...& that was before i saw the room! Run down & neglected. Junk store occupies the ground floor. No front desk or security after 7pm. Outside entrance with no security lock or lights. Anyone can wander in off the street. Dark, dirty carpet, windows, & curtains. "Tricky" to operate elevator. As a woman staying alone, i was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary L, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

Our restored old gated elevator is one of the reasons that folks love our hotel.Unfortunately, you did not even look at the room or try the old gated elevator. I hope the readers will read other reviews to get a better picture of just what we offer here in the old West. We try to give our customers a step... More 

Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to stay somewhere special and unique in historic Deadwood and Deadwood Dick's fit the bill! The room was quiet and clean with a lovely blend of historical decor and modern convenience. My husband found the bed too soft but I was very comfortable. When I booked the room I thought that the hotel had a restaurant but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I could spend at least an hour looking at the many showcases filled with interesting artifacts and antiques. The room had a fridge, coffeemaker and a microwave, the bed was super comfy! Because we were hotel guests, we were offered any breakfast on the menu for $5. We had Dick's Breakfast: 2 eggs, choice of meat, hashbrowns, toast and coffee.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary L, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We appreciate the wonderful review that you gave us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your breakfasts and the comfy bed! Our restaurant is now open 7 days a week for the summer months. You can order breakfast from 7am until 11am. Lunch begins at 11am and we serve food until 7pm. We have been fortunate to find some... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

If you want an authentic old wild west building, this is it! Rooms and beds are very clean and comfortable! Hotel management is great! Location is awesome! Close to other attractions and restaurants and casino's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary L, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We value your review of us on Tripadvisor! We are proud to give our guests an "authentic old wild west feeling" during their entire stay! With our location, in Deadwood's Historic Business District, we are only 2 blocks from Main Street and The Adams Musuem is right across the street! The trolley stops right out front, as well, which can... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

You need to add this to the restaurant section of Trip Advisor. We stopped because of the flashing FOOD sign. Shane was AMAZING!! The food was WELL worth the wait and this will now be our go to breakfast spot. Thank you for the hospitality and we appreciate the honey feeling. We didnt just leave with full bellies but a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary L, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest review of our restaurant and yes, Shane is doing what heck of a great job! We also were fortunate to get Jerome as a waiter again this year! They both are working hard to ensure our guests leave happy and no longer hungry! It is going to be a busy summer, but, as you noticed, they... More 

alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Friendly staff great old hotel but wifi dosent work in room bar closes at 6 pm and no food till summer if I knew all this I would stayed somewhere else for the same price great historic town but not much going on at the end of March nothing is open

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary L, Owner at Deadwood Dick's, responded to this review

We appreciate your time in sending in your review of our property. Deadwood and The Black Hills Region is a very seasonal destination. Our friendly staff is great at informing our guests of the "happenings" in the area, year-round, when asked. We have posted our hours of operations on our website and when receiving your confirmation letter, we again, let... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay