We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Deadwood hotels

Black Hills Inn & Suites

206 Mountain Shadow Lane, Highway 385 South, Deadwood, SD 57732
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Black Hills Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Black Hills Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
49%
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Mary P Casper, Wyoming
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    8
    9
    19
See reviews for
18
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Room was clean and staff was friendly. Not a high dollar motel, but worth what we paid. The pool and hot tub are a nice bonus. Would stay again. Breakfast was not worth going down for, except for the coffee. Beds are a little hard also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed there now on three occassions when visiting from Australia for Sturgis. Joe and his staff are great and only too willing to help. As others have said, not five star, but comfortable and friendly. Good transport into Deadwood. Will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gibbon, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have stayed many times at the Black Hills Inn. The place is quiet, has a large parking lot. Joe (the owner/manager) is a very nice person, so is his wife. Joe will help out in any way he can. Everything in the rooms always works well. I do not mind that the place is not a 5 star motel,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The owner/management needs to find a more isolated day job far far away from all people because he knows nothing about treating or keeping customers. I paid for a weekly rental and due to a winter storm we lost power for 5 of the 7 paid days. When I went in to discuss staying another week (because I wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This young lady signed an agreement, in exchange for a greatly reduced rental rate off the daily rate. In addition, for staying the proscribed time set by the state and local governments, she would not have to pay lodging tax. All utilities would be furnished and she would have access to the Deadwood Trolley and the pool and hot tub... More

Vermillion
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I really think that the bad reviews for this place are uncalled for. I have kept coming back to this place for two years now and for many reasons. First I will say if you are looking for a 5 star Hilton then just leave the Black Hills. If you are looking for a good deal, quiet place to sleep,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worland, Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had stayed here before in the suites, which were awesome. I decided to stay in the hotel part this time as the rooms were slightly more reasonable. Check in was simple and the counter person was friendly and speedy. We then went to our room which was in another building/mobile type structure. The room overall was clean, small and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Booked hotel so grandson could play in pool and hot tub. It looked like someone had puked in the hot tub. Did not notice it til we were in it. Very gross feeling. Tried to talk to manager about it. He yelled at me and said the guy we told looked at it. It wasn't even a guy we talked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

This reviewer is merely out to slam the hotel. The hot tub is cleaned daily with samples submitted to a qualified laboratory on a weekly basis. The only issue with the hot tub is that some foam pieces from a pool toy were floating in the hot tub. This reviewer promptly started in by calling me a very bad name... More

wrongedguest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked our room over the phone for our trip to Deadwood and Mt. Rushmore. The Black Hills Inn is an older hotel, if you are looking for the Ritz this is not the hotel for you. If you are looking for hospitality, clean rooms, great service, free continental breakfast, and indoor pool and hot tub and access to Deadwood... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillsboro, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is an older property. The pictures posted dont accurately represent the place. The rooms are very small with no frills. The advertised wi-fi didn't work. The linens were shabby. The continental breakfast was a loaf of bread by a toaster. I can't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Your opinion is that you did not care for the room but being untruthful is another. Our wi-fi works and our breakfast consists of more than a piece of toast. We do not try to pass the property off as new or the rooms as anything but what they are. If you walk into a room and take advantage of... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

stay somewhere else. room was small breakfast lousey not clean. glad we were there only one night or we would have moved. just not our kind of place. go on into deadwood for a nicer hotel going back to deadwood but definitely not staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BHIS-Manager, Manager at Black Hills Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We acknowledge that our rooms are small. The comments relating to the breakfast being dirty and lousey are inappropriate. We offer a continental breakfast with multiple kinds of cereal, milk, oj, bagels, white and wheat toast and 100% Columbian coffee. If you expect steak and eggs for a free breakfast then I guess you will have to go pay someplace... More

Been to Black Hills Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hills Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Black Hills Inn And Suites
Black Hills Hotel Deadwood
Black Hills Hotel
Address: 206 Mountain Shadow Lane, Highway 385 South, Deadwood, SD 57732
Location: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 hotels in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Hills Inn & Suites is a motel located in Deadwood, SD. For easy access to Downtown Deadwood, Casinos, Fine Dining and Historical Sites, the Deadwood Trolley offers service. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers a Free Continental Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi with Internet access, a heated Indoor Swimming Pool and Hot Tub and a computer for Guest use. The Black Hills Inn & Suites offers clean, quiet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Black Hills Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.