We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Walterboro hotels

Rice Planters Inn

Save Saved
You added Rice Planters Inn to your Saves list
97 Ladson Street, Walterboro, SC 29488
Hotel amenities
Rice Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walterboro
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
9
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sc
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst room I have ever stayed in. Full of flying nats dead bugs on floor and dresser pretty sure a roach went under the air conditioner. My husband had been driving for 10 hours and couldnt go any further. I sat up in a leather chair. Room was very very musty smelling. I wanted to cry so b tired. Aweful!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
south hill
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is no way a three star hotel. It was filthy, The staff were friendly but the place was nasty. We had to leave. Their advertisiments were very misleading. Their hot breakfast was just coffee and tea. The pool was closed. Carpet was wet mildew smell. We were very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A Mom & Pop category winner! Why pay 2-3 times the amount at the chains when these folks provide the same if not even better. Not sure that all rooms are upgraded but, #101 sure worked for us for 5 nights as we explored Charleston (50 mins) and surroundings. Large rooms, very quiet off the road, super clean, good mattress/pillows,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well I've written 3 reviews about this place so far and this site has either deleted them or some other excuse. Maybe they'll show up. I'm thinking any negative reviews about this sites revenue producers gets the axe! Since I have no desire or time to write a detailed review I'll keep it simple. I was overrun by ticks at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was driving north on I-95, and decided to pull over for the night. I didn't have a reservation, but I knew I was looking for something cheap. I found it. I pulled in about 10:45pm, and walked into the office. A woman, whose name I failed to get, welcomed me. I needed a single room, I told her, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stopped on our way to Savannah. We left after work on a Friday for our trip down and hated to spend a lot of money on a hotel we would not even arrive in until 12:00 so we stopped at the Rice Planters. The rooms were old but clean and the clerk was very friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLemacks, General Manager at Rice Planters Inn, responded to this review

Becaouse our rooms are dated, we do try to provide our guests with a clean, affordable room. Thank you for the your review. Please let us know who you are when you visit again, so that we can thank you personally. More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were travelling back from Florida and we were desperate for a room as every hotel along the way was full. We managed to snag a room at this hotel but changed our mind the second after stepping in. The room stank of cigarette smoke. The smell had seeped into every surface making it hard to breathe. Blankets looked old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLemacks, General Manager at Rice Planters Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your inconvenience. It is a non-smolkiing room. I hope that our desk clerk offered you the opportunity to check out one of our other 75 rooms. We are a dated motel, but we do strive to provide a clean room at an affordable rate. Unfortunately, we did not do our job well in this case.... More

Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I called to book the room by cell phone while driving north on I 95. I spoke with Gail and she confirmed that she would hold a room for me. When I arrived at about 10 PM she greeted me by name, Nice Lady. I had stayed at the Rice Planters Inn back in the 90s and really enjoyed my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The room was dated, but clean and comfortable. Blankets were worn, but the sheets were of good quality and the pillows were perfect! For $48.78, the value can't be beat. It even included breakfast at the Waffle House!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Destin, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Traveling at Christmas holiday time [high traffic] called all coupon motels before this one and they all refused coupon price and had raised prices double and triple. Did not call Rice Planters Inn as it was too cheap so figured it to be a dive. Boy was I wrong it was very clean, our bed was comfortable and we paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Rice Planters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Rice Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rice Planters Inn

Address: 97 Ladson Street, Walterboro, SC 29488
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Also Known As:
Rice Planters Hotel Walterboro

3 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Walterboro with
any amenities