We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Walterboro hotels

Rice Planters Inn

Save
You added Rice Planters Inn to your Saves list
97 Ladson Street, Walterboro, SC 29488
Hotel amenities
Rice Planters Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Walterboro
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
11
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Skippack, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Right off 95, with gas stations nearby. Just the basics ....comfy bed with hot powerful shower, and friendly staff. Pet fee was only $5....can't beat it! They don't have any type of breakfast (just coffee and hot chocolate), but we only needed a place to rest between PA and FL.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoy this establishment as simply that -- a rest stop, not a destination. Our room has always been comfortable and convenient for a very reasonable price. The Inn is also located some distance from any road noise, which is a blessing for all of us who must use I-95 regularly. Judging from other reviews, its possible to encounter some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Delray Beach, FL
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I was very impressed. I've had rooms at twice the price that weren't any where near as good. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were soft and each one came with THREE pillows. I'm a tub person and I'm often disappointed with motels that either offer only a shower or have a tiny bathtub. This one was generously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sc
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Worst room I have ever stayed in. Full of flying nats dead bugs on floor and dresser pretty sure a roach went under the air conditioner. My husband had been driving for 10 hours and couldnt go any further. I sat up in a leather chair. Room was very very musty smelling. I wanted to cry so b tired. Aweful!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
south hill
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is no way a three star hotel. It was filthy, The staff were friendly but the place was nasty. We had to leave. Their advertisiments were very misleading. Their hot breakfast was just coffee and tea. The pool was closed. Carpet was wet mildew smell. We were very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aspen, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
91 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

A Mom & Pop category winner! Why pay 2-3 times the amount at the chains when these folks provide the same if not even better. Not sure that all rooms are upgraded but, #101 sure worked for us for 5 nights as we explored Charleston (50 mins) and surroundings. Large rooms, very quiet off the road, super clean, good mattress/pillows,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well I've written 3 reviews about this place so far and this site has either deleted them or some other excuse. Maybe they'll show up. I'm thinking any negative reviews about this sites revenue producers gets the axe! Since I have no desire or time to write a detailed review I'll keep it simple. I was overrun by ticks at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was driving north on I-95, and decided to pull over for the night. I didn't have a reservation, but I knew I was looking for something cheap. I found it. I pulled in about 10:45pm, and walked into the office. A woman, whose name I failed to get, welcomed me. I needed a single room, I told her, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stopped on our way to Savannah. We left after work on a Friday for our trip down and hated to spend a lot of money on a hotel we would not even arrive in until 12:00 so we stopped at the Rice Planters. The rooms were old but clean and the clerk was very friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DLemacks, General Manager at Rice Planters Inn, responded to this review

Becaouse our rooms are dated, we do try to provide our guests with a clean, affordable room. Thank you for the your review. Please let us know who you are when you visit again, so that we can thank you personally. More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were travelling back from Florida and we were desperate for a room as every hotel along the way was full. We managed to snag a room at this hotel but changed our mind the second after stepping in. The room stank of cigarette smoke. The smell had seeped into every surface making it hard to breathe. Blankets looked old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DLemacks, General Manager at Rice Planters Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry for your inconvenience. It is a non-smolkiing room. I hope that our desk clerk offered you the opportunity to check out one of our other 75 rooms. We are a dated motel, but we do strive to provide a clean room at an affordable rate. Unfortunately, we did not do our job well in this case.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rice Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rice Planters Inn

Address: 97 Ladson Street, Walterboro, SC 29488
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Rice Planters Hotel Walterboro

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay