We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Walterboro hotels

Quality Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    14
    19
    29
See reviews for
22
33
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Mold and mildew everywhere. Gross and dirty bathroom. Rooms smell of smoke and mildew. Telephone does not even work to call the front desk to complain. Not responsive to customer complaint. If you stay here you are a fool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations in every aspect imaginable. We are right at this moment in the process of remodeling the entire bathroom in our guest rooms. The guest room will also be painted and have new carpeting laid. I know none of this was helpful to you during your stay but we are... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in a double room November 13, 2014 enroute from SC to NoVA. I noted a sandy feel on the sheets but dismissed it! WRONG!!! I was eaten up by bed bugs...my torso-back and front, neck, legs, arms. I went to show the hotel staff at the desk and they simply said, "we are sorry" and they would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I sincerely apologize for the horrible experience you had during your stay at our Quality Inn & Suites property. Until reading this review I was not made aware of what occurred during your stay. After reading this I went and checked every room that is vacant and not taken apart for renovations and I have did not uncover... More

Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice suite with 2 tv's, a nice king bed, fridge and microwave, had a decent breakfast. it was quiet, the staff was friendly. the one downside was, there were no restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am very glad you see that we the staff here at the Quality Inn & Suites in Walterboro was able to fulfill your expectations during your stay with us. We will continue to strive toward creating an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. We all thank you for your kind words. There are a few... More

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rarely do I stay in a hotel that I would never go back to EVER, but this is one. The staff was nice enough. But the room was grungy and outdated. It made me feel like I wanted ten more deadbolts on the door. No noise issues, bed was not good. Just a general dislike. Wish we would have pushed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologize on behalf of our entire staff for failing to meet your expectations. I know there is a lot of work to be done and we have began on many projects for upgrading. We have new bath tubs in and new carpeting awaiting installation. We also have new furnishings in the works and interior painting. Then we... More

Ashtabula, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just stopped on our way to FL. Convenient location to 77. rooms were average bathroom needs updating old tub sure they cant get it any cleaner. Water went from warm to VERY hot when I was in the shower. Beds were comfortable and clean, mini fridge microwave and TV all worked well. What made the stay perfect was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Lateesha is the newest member of our staff and we were all very happy to see that she is living up to our standard of guest services. Lateesha especially was ecstatic when I told her of your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. More good news for the staff and... More

Accokeek, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is ok for a one night lay over if you have a long drive. It seems to be a very old hotel and needs upgrading! The front desk staff was EXCEPTIONAL! From check in to check out - every person was very friendly and passionate about great customer service. I stayed in a king room, upstairs. When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I love the use of the words exceptional customer service. This is a great morale booster for the guest service agents. Not only have they come a long way to learning these skills, they really enjoy it. The front desk staff is always telling me stories about how they like their jobs and its all thanks to the... More

Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since this was our second round-trip from FL to NC in less than a week (due to an illness then death in the family), I really wanted to try a different place to stay in our half-way point of Walterboro. The people were friendly and the room was clean although you could tell that there were a few minor worn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, I am really sorry to hear that you were not feeling well during your stay with us. I hope you are now feeling well. I am glad to see that you did notice our efforts on improving our property. I know something's are a eye sore right now but like they say," you have to start somewhere... More

Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to choose a hotel for business travel, and most of my team members stayed here so I did too. The rooms are bug-free and have outside doors. The fridge and micro work, and the plumbing is fine. The beds are comfortable, the tv works, and the wi-fi works. Lots of construction workers stay there. The breakfast has eggs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words and your honesty. It really does mean a lot when someone takes the time to say kind words about our staff. It is a very trying time right now with so much going on with renovations, but I know it will all be worth it once it is all complete. I... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traveling from Florida to Maryland found this hotel in the South Carolina hotel book and it was right around where we wanted to stop and couldn't beat the price, especially since we needed 2 rooms. Once in the room I realized why it wasn't expensive. I wouldn't take a shower because I couldn't bring myself to stand in that horribly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, I sincerely apologize for the terrible bug incident during your stay at our location. I understand how very upset you were and still are about the whole situation. I gave you a full refund for 1 room because that is the room the bug was found in. Your husband took the bug and let it loose in... More

Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I travel a lot and because of this I know the conditions I expect from different levels of hotels. We normally try to stay with Choice Hotels Network (http://www.choicehotels.com/), our favorites being La Quinta's and Comfort Inns (or Suites). We have just returned from a two-week road trip from Florida to several locations in Pennsylvania. A few places didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear recent guest, I am greatly apologetic for the very terrible experience you endured during your stay with us. I clearly understand how upset you were under the conditions your room was in. It is sad to see that we have failed to exceed your expectations and lost your business. The entire team of our Quality Inn location has been... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Walterboro
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Walterboro
Walterboro Quality Inn

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay