We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Walterboro hotels

Quality Inn & Suites

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Quality Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
27%
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    12
    18
    27
See reviews for
22
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Traveling from Florida to Maryland found this hotel in the South Carolina hotel book and it was right around where we wanted to stop and couldn't beat the price, especially since we needed 2 rooms. Once in the room I realized why it wasn't expensive. I wouldn't take a shower because I couldn't bring myself to stand in that horribly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Recent Guest, I sincerely apologize for the terrible bug incident during your stay at our location. I understand how very upset you were and still are about the whole situation. I gave you a full refund for 1 room because that is the room the bug was found in. Your husband took the bug and let it loose in... More

Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel a lot and because of this I know the conditions I expect from different levels of hotels. We normally try to stay with Choice Hotels Network (http://www.choicehotels.com/), our favorites being La Quinta's and Comfort Inns (or Suites). We have just returned from a two-week road trip from Florida to several locations in Pennsylvania. A few places didn't have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear recent guest, I am greatly apologetic for the very terrible experience you endured during your stay with us. I clearly understand how upset you were under the conditions your room was in. It is sad to see that we have failed to exceed your expectations and lost your business. The entire team of our Quality Inn location has been... More

Easton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was fine for a one night stay while traveling on the I-95. The room was a little small, but it worked. There was not many dinning options near by though. The hotel pool was enjoyable. The morning breakfast was very crowded. Not sure if I would stay again, but the hotel wasn't that bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our Quality Inn team would like to thank you for your recent stay. Your review is very helpful. On behalf of our staff I thank you for the compliments as well as the constructive insight. Guest satisfaction is our top priority. All of our team members have been working well together to help every guests stay a good... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff r very nice & friendly. The breakfast wonderful. Very clean dining area. Our room could use a redo. Tub & couch needed attention. Sheets & bedspread very clean. Pool is clean & very lge. Plenty of sunning area. Might consider staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. Your business is greatly appreciated. I am glad to see your overall stay was good. Our location has been making many improvements. Installing new bathtubs and new tile in our guest bathrooms is our very next step in our improvement plans. We have redone 1 bathroom so far to... More

florida, usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time stopping in Walterboro, SC and it was about 10 pm so I was glad to find a room close to I-95 at a reasonable price. First appearance was a little off putting only that there were fans blowing in the lobby and the desk clerk told me their A/C was on the blink, but each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable experience during your stay at our Quality Inn & Suites location. The air conditioning in the lobby has been repaired and is in working order. I know there are many improvements that could be made for curb appeal and there are many plans in works for this... More

Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed here on a return trip from Fort Lauderdale. Located right off of 95. Not much of a choices of restaurants. The room is OK kind of seedy. Ice machine is on the back part of the building near woods. Little creepy. I would never stay here if I were traveling by myself. My parents were in handicap room. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I am extremely apologetic for the sleepless night you endured on behalf of the failure of our Quality Inn & Suites property. I seen how upset you were when I spoke to you the following morning. I know how horrified and discussed I would be for a bug to be in my bed. We do have a contract... More

Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is an older two story vintage 70's motel that has recently been converted to a "Quality Inn". There's very little quality at this inn. The building is sorely in need of paint and repair. The rooms have been redone. The bath rooms are small and the toilet bowl is very low. Watch out when you sit down. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, I sincerely apologize for any and all inconveniences you may have incurred during your recent stay at our property. We do have a contract with an exterminator. I have written a reminder note for him to pay special attention to the room your were assigned during your stay. We have begun and completed some renovations on the exterior... More

Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Do your self a favor - any other place ANY other will be preferable and safer, and cleaner. Staying here caused us stress beyond measure..take our word for it...the staff, the manager, and the owners DO NOT CARE !! We returned to our room, and our key did not work, we went to front desk....returned to our room, the next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for all the stress that you have incurred during your stay with us. I can not begin to put into words how discouraged I know you must feel. We have fully cooperated with the police investigation and there has not been any evidence that an employee of any position took your belongings. The dismissal off the managers... More

San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel just recently. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving me directions and assisting me with the questions that I had in regards to the area, places to eat, etc. The bed was extra comfortable and I had lots of pillows which I like. It was a very quiet, safe,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Our staff would like to thank you for your kind words. We all try to be as helpful as possible to all guests. We are glad to see you have enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to thank you for your business and we look forward to you staying with us again. Happy Travels More

Deerfield Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We got to the Walterboro area and just couldn't drive any more because of fatigue. We stopped at a few hotels prior to selecting this one. The other hotels had a damp musty smell, loiterers or were full to capacity. The night agent at this hotel was kind, friendly and pleasant to deal with. The room was fresh smelling and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AprilHiers, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. Our staff is proud to see you enjoyed your stay. We will be looking forward to you be our guest again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Walterboro
Quality Inn Walterboro
Walterboro Quality Inn

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay