We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Surfside Beach hotels

Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
61%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
liselv Myrtle Beach SC
  • Overview
  • Reviews (196)
  • Photos (111)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (73)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    64
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
74
64
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was the worst vacation I ever had by choosing to stay at this hotel. I sat for four days with sweat drippings from my hair during the last of august because the AC would only cool two feet in front of the unit. I didn't report it because from the attitude of the front desk person would only have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Worse stay ever! and we only stayed 30 minutes. The front desk person was "only the auditor" very unfriendly and not willing to help. Our room had a chlorine odor that caused burning of the eyes, lungs to hurt and a cough. When we asked to change rooms we were told you booked through Hotels.com and we don't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Myrtle Beach SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My only complaint is something no one can change except Holiday Inn itself. The balconies are wide open to each other so not much privacy. I'm very picky about my oceanfront views and so it did bother me to see my neighbors so close. Come on Holiday Inn, really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week. Very nice hotel staff! I feel that they could have gave me more information when I checked in such as pool hours, restaurant hours etc. Definitely glad we stayed here as opposed to in myrtle beach! It was sooo busy there! The short drive from this hotel was worth it and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister and I ended up here because she is under 21 and hotels in Myrtle require you to be all 21 or have a guardian. We had never been to Surfside, but were pleasantly surprised by the less crowded, beach house community surrounding the beach. In our opinion, much nicer than mainstream Myrtle. This hotel wasn't a five star,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Whitney, Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback regarding your recent stay experience. We are always looking for new guests to discover our hidden gem of a location. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. We are sorry to hear you got stung from the Jellyfish out on the... More

Martinsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must preface this review by saying that we always stay at a large 2br or 3br Condo in Surfside for our vacation. But those only rent from Saturday to Saturday and we often tack an extra couple days on our vacation, so we end up staying at a local hotel for those extra days. Holiday Inn Oceanfront is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Brad B, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very glad our hotel, staff and location fit the needs of your family. I look forward to sharing your kind comments with the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again soon! More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sunday they Wednesday visit to Surfside Beech near Myrtle Beech in South Carolina. 3 nights stay at Holiday Inn Oceanfront Surfside,SC. Polite & friendly front desk staff including Phillip, Sara & Jennifer were able to handle our request to change our first room 609 to 623. The bathroom bathtub had a bad hair dye stain in it which showed poorly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear hmalik, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent experience. We want to express our apologies again for any inconvenience you may have had. We are very glad our staff and location fit the needs of your family. We are happy to pass along your comments to the staff that you mentioned. We look forward to serving you again... More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is not clean in any area. The beds filled with hair & terribly stained sheets & towels. Bathroom has hair & dirt on floors,shower, just everywhere. We picked Holiday Inn because HIs are normally clean. This is a big deal,skip this hotel. Too many accommodation choices to settle on this. Worst chain hotel, I've stayed in. :(

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear 2012Happy2012, Although I am disappointed by your comments, I thank you for your candid feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit. Cleanliness is our number one goal. We strive for perfection, but realize we are not. Although Holiday Inn as a brand has been recognized for excellence in service by JD... More

Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was part of a Wedding Vow Renewal on the beach and this hotel was very accomodating and the staff was absolutely awesome. The 1 and only issue I had was that I had arrived early and they would not/could not permit me to early check-in. I just can't imagine why, when you have a specialty situation that someone couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Caderider86, I am pleased you enjoyed the Wedding Vow Renewal. I also appreciate your comments regarding the staff. Our hotel does everything possible to accomodate early check ins. Unfortunately, the hotel also has to accomodate late check outs as well and our staff needs to have time to service and refresh the room. Check in times can be affected... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When it comes to Surfside Beach There aren’t a lot of choices of hotels. So we stayed at a very overpriced Holiday Inn Surfside. What we liked about it was the location and the beautiful beach. That's about the end of the list. This hotel charges over $200 for a room that would be $89 anywhere else. To begin with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMHIOceanfront, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Dennis M, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location. Surfside Beach is a great family destination. I am sorry you feel the hotel is "overpriced" Our pricing is comparable to other hotels in the area. The public areas and pool deck are cleaned daily. The sand in the pool can... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Surfside Beach with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
133

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer