We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Foxtrot-BandB Gatlinburg, TN
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    74
    50
    21
    25
See reviews for
81
84
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (237)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
64 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This is a great location, beach front, for a low rate. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is an on-sight restaurant and cafe. There is a pool and hot tub. The beach is well maintained and has chairs and umbrellas available. It is also close to Murrel's inlet where a number of good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Foxtrot-BandB, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you had a great time and our staff and location fit the needs of your family. We look forward to serving you again the next time you come to Surfside-Myrtle Beach.. More 

Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had stayed at this Holiday in in October. While the rooms were dated, it's on the ocean and the staff was amazing. We decided to spend a few days this May. We were on our honeymoon and were excited to be back. The staff this time not so great. we had breakfast in the dining room all week. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tonicast, Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us feedback. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent visit, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the service provided. We regret that these aspects... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great place to stay. Right on the beach. Good staff. In a residential area that is more private than the Myrtle Beach Resort hotels. This is the 4th year that my wife and I are hear and it is always an great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thank you for your great review! It is extremely appreciated when our loyal guests such as yourself take a minute to give us some great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Surfside-Myrtle Beach! More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was very helpful. Tikki bar waitress was awesome refilled water and soft drinks quickly. Food was good. Less people on the beach hear than farther North. Building was new and up to date. Rooms were clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear andrhold, We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We look forward to sharing your kind comments to the rest of our staff especially our Tiki Bar waitress. We hope to see you again soon! More 

St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were so pleased with this property. Having moved to Charlotte last month we were very excited about being close to the ocean. This little hotel is reasonably priced & sits right on the beach. Our dog accompanied us & we spent most of our time enjoying the beach. There's great food 5-minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear SilverfoxStLouis, Thank you so much for your review! It is so wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit! More 

Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading some comments we were a bit scared at first. Once we arrived we were given a warm greeting by Cody, the guest services manager. Throughout our stay Cody was always there with a warm smile and helpful ideas. The person that commented earlier must have been extremely rude to make him rude back. The hotel was not as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jack R, Thank you for choosing our property, We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience.We look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of our staff and especially Cody. We hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future. More 

Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For a recent visit to Myrtle Beach, we ended up at this hotel. We actually thought we would be staying at the new Holiday Inn Resort, so this was a surprise. The hotel is clean, but very dated. The rooms are small. We were given a room on the 6th floor that overlooked the parking lot, not the beach. With... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mike B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you may have experienced during your stay. We're very happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We stayed here for four days. It isn't he most modern place, but the bathroom in our room was clearly upgraded very recently. The staff have been very warm and friendly every time we have interacted with them and house keeping does a great job. Mini fridge with freezer and microwave are provided, which was has been because I'm 8... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Meg B, Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad our staff and location fit the needs of your family. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, we have taken note of your comments regarding the hot tub and we will certainly look into this. We hope you enjoy the rest... More 

Lowell, Arkansas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I book hotel rooms for our associates and have never had issues like I had with this hotel. The front desk clerk Cody was unhelpful and extremely rude to me over the phone and to my associate who showed up at the hotel. Shame on you Cody. You are in a Customer Service position. Your lack of professionalism and respect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Wachter R, We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We always strive to provide great service to all of our guests, however, on this occasion, we sincerely apologize the lack of customer service received from one of our staff. Please know that this is not reflective of our daily high standards.... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We had a standard double room, ocean front. The room is very basic with minimal space for two double beds, a round table with two small chairs, a mini-fridge, microwave on top, and a 4-cup coffee pot. There is a large flat screen TV with remote. HBO is included, as is WiFi. The room has a slight musty smell, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lauren S, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (435)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
City View Double Room (48)
Viewed
Ocean View Double Room (61)
Viewed
Ocean View King Room (54)
Viewed
Ocean View Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (36)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (52)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay