We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Sumter hotels

Econo Lodge Sumter

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   226 North Washington Street, Building A, Sumter, SC 29150 (Formerly Sumter Palmetto Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Sumter to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sumter
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
40%
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Sumter
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was traveling back to South FL and had a unexpected delay. We found the Econo Lodge by chance as it was close the hospital I needed to be near. We stayed Sept 10-12 last week. The staff was awesome. Everyone from Front desk, Kitchen, morning restaurant servers and ground were exceptionally nice and made our stay feel like home.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keys S, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge Sumter, responded to this review

Dear Tammie, thank you so much for the kind comments regarding your stay at the Econo Lodge in Sumter. It is always our pleasure to assist you with lodging and certainly hope that you will come back to see us one day soon. Please feel free to contact myself or the hotel in the future if you need accommodations or... More

Virginia, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at Econolodge for 7 days in early May to attend my daughter's college graduation. I let Priceline choose the motel and was a little concerned when I read the reviews. To save some money, we chose a motel that served breakfast as of of the package. Although we ate there every morning, the menu never varies and gets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parkhill, Ont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had been to this motel last year, and decided to come back. We were pleasantly surprised to see the difference one year made. The place was definitely in better shape. Although it wasn't too bad the year before, this year we felt the big effort had been made to make it cleaner. In fact the window in our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The price was good if you don't mind a few roaches. The heater/air conditioner was old and antiquated and took forever to heat up. My mother's room had an incredibly old TV that didn't work well. Other than all that it was ok. I recommend staying there as a last resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Parkhill, Ont
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel was somewhat like stepping back in time. Although it was old and a little worn, it was mostly clean and inviting. What it lacked in looks was made up for by the friendliness of the staff. We enjoyed sitting out by the pool even though it was slightly raining. There were not many people around so the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Goldsboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Good stay My wife and I stayed for a couple of days for a graduation. Hotel showed signs of recent work but, we were pleasantly pleased. Our stay was enjoyable. Made prior arrangements because of respiratory problems and cannot stay in or be around any cigarette smoke. Room did not have a hint of smoke. Staff was very friendly, desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I know that sumter palmetto inn is now known as econolodge. And i know this place for a long time. it has went down from previous owners. But as i know of them now. are great happy people. yes the hotel is not the prettiest but also isnt the Hilton. but the customer service is amazing. I heard things from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The pool is never open. They say that they just put chemicals in it and it has to sit for a while before anyone goes in, but an employee told me that it hasn't been open for months. Watch out for shady characters. Definitely don't bring kids here./

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keys S, Manager at Econo Lodge Sumter, responded to this review

At the time of your stay, we had just purchased the hotel and were just getting started on the improvements. The pool had been closed for 3 summers and we were trying desperately to get it operational. We are so sorry for your inconvenience, and if you ever are in the Sumter area again, please give us a try. I... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

The rooms were dirty. In fact I left everything in the car. I felt unsafe. The rooms are outside in unattached buildings. At 3am a man started pounding on the door and was staring at me through the window. As soon as it was daylight we checked out and moved to a different hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keys S, Manager at Econo Lodge Sumter, responded to this review

On behalf of the staff and management of the new Econo Lodge of Sumter, I would like to apologize for any problems you had during your stay. The hotel had only been under the current owner and management for about 2 weeks during your stay. Since then we have made great improvements and are constantly working on offering upgrades to... More

Kingsport, TN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

I'm an RN travel nurse who accepted a 13-week contract with Tuomey Regional Medical Center in Sumter, SC in August 2007. This was a "fast-start" position (I was needed immediately), so my apartment that my travel agency was preparing for me was not ready yet. My husband and I were told we'd have to stay in a hotel overnight. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keys S, Manager at Econo Lodge Sumter, responded to this review

This hotel was purchased by a new owner and LLC the latter part of 2011. We had nothing to do with the condition of this hotel prior to that date. It is now an Econo Lodge by Choice Hotels and very much improved, with constant upgrades. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sumter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Econo Lodge Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sumter

Address: 226 North Washington Street, Building A, Sumter, SC 29150 (Formerly Sumter Palmetto Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sumter 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumter Ramada
Ramada Sumter

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sumter with
any amenities