We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2491 Broad Street, Sumter, SC 29150
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Sumter
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014
Giovanni C Ocala, Florida
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
31
6
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
There are newer reviews for Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC
See the most recent reviews
SE Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

First...have stayed in this property before so knew what to expect before arriving, but this experience was bad from the start! Arrived to be told my reservation was for the previous evening and that I was charged as a no-show. When I produced my printout of the reservation that clearly showed my reservation was for the correct day, the manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarlsonRezidor, Specialist, Online Customer Support at Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care. More 

Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

First, we booked a few months in advance a pay upon arrival type room with 7 of us we were not sure which form of payment we were going to use. 2 rooms, 2 nights, I held with my Visa Debit card. For a Friday arrival, we were charged the entire stay for both rooms on our debit card on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Casey U, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC, responded to this review

We take a approval (approval is not charge, we charge upon check out) based on your expected stay. It is the cardholder's Bank debits the account and holds the money. Still I am sorry about everything please give me a call to settle this anytime. Alice Champagne 803-469-6666 More 

Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed at this establishment recently and everything was wonderful as far as the room. The only gripe that we had was the limited parking situation. Once again i was forced to park in the dirt lot with the terrible waterhole at the entrance. within the last few years off and on I've dealt with the same hole. For such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Cumberland, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really don't understand the bad reviews, we had a great stay. Breakfast was great. Staff friendly. We stayed in a suite at a good price and the room was very clean and quiet. We stayed for 5 nights here and enjoyed it. It wasn't very busy at this time of year, (after Christmas and 1st part of January). I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The worst hotel experience I have ever had. I had to wait over 2 hours for a clean towel because every single towel in the hotel was being washed. The staff was unprofessional and extremely rude. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Country Inns and Suites, Columbia, SC. I am so sorry about the towel situation as we had a problem with our washers but it has since fixed. The rude person has been reprimanded and retrained. Please give me a call to settle this complaint 24/7 at 803-469-6666. With Regards KC Udani More 

ROCK HILL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our accommodations were really nice. We had a two-room suite with the separate bedroom and sitting area. Two nice flat screens in each room. The room was clean but I did see one bug (roach) crawling down the wall but I think he may have been there a while because when I went to kill him he wasn't moving very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location. Average hotel. Needs an update. Bedding was faded and carpet stained. Looks nice from outside. Breakfast was the same as other hotels of this type. Staff was friendly. 24 hour coffee is a great feature and something I enjoy at a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here as it was a half point between Disney and Richmond, Va. Also becasue we has a free night voucher!!! We choose this location as no other Country Inn and Suites along the I-95 cooridor (Half way between our starting and stopping points) had an indoor pool for the kids. Staff was friendly, facilities were clean, cookies at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephens City, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice hotel in it's presentation, but this hides lack of maintenance and upkeep issues. The room had many minor maintenance issues: cracks in the molding around the doors, shower head was only attached by the pipe out of the wall, well worn furniture and another Hotel Widescreen TV that was not set up correctly making the picture look 4x3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casey U, Manager at Country Inn and Suites Sumter SC, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and I see where we came up short and all of those items will be corrected immediately. We always strive every day/every minute to make sure all of our guest are happy and satisfied. I am so sorry about some of those maintanence items. Yes Indeed we have good location and staff to... More 

Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our stay at the Country Inn and Suites was exactly what we expected. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. This is a fairly new hotel located in a newer section of Sumter. There were plenty of restaurants within a couple of miles and some within walking distance. The only problems we had were a slow draining tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question